Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 00:37:46
Subject: Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm intending to run a Land Raider with a techpriest with a pfg, and 5x DWKs. Does the techpriest need to charge when the DWKs do, or can I choose to leave him in there?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 00:41:44
Subject: Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You are not compelled to disembark ICs with the unit they are embarked with.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 00:52:37
Subject: Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Transportations can only carry a single unit at a time, so for the techpriest to ride along with the DeathWing Knights he will have to be part of that unit. Page 39 states that the only time an Independent Character can chose to leave a unit is during the movement phase, going on to even state he can't simply duck out of a charge as one of the situations where he would be forbidden from leaving the unit. Even if this charge is being declared from an assault vehicle, you do not have permission to ignore this restriction preventing the Independent Character from departing ways with his unit simply because they are going to charge into battle while the character wants to remain safe and sound on the transport.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/04 00:53:59
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 00:53:21
Subject: Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
That PFG isn't of any use stuck inside a Landraider.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 00:56:44
Subject: Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
I assume you mean a techmarine? Why wouldn't you want him to charge with the knights? he'd be well protected and he's a beast in combat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 00:58:18
Subject: Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
JinxDragon wrote:Transportations can only carry a single unit at a time, so for the techpriest to ride along with the DeathWing Knights he will have to be part of that unit. Page 39 states that the only time an Independent Character can chose to leave a unit is during the movement phase, going on to even state he can't simply duck out of a charge as one of the situations where he would be forbidden from leaving the unit. Even if this charge is being declared from an assault vehicle, you do not have permission to ignore this restriction preventing the Independent Character from departing ways with his unit simply because they are going to charge into battle while the character wants to remain safe and sound on the transport.
"Independant Characters & Transports" page 79
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 01:01:44
Subject: Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
JinxDragon wrote:Transportations can only carry a single unit at a time, so for the techpriest to ride along with the DeathWing Knights he will have to be part of that unit. Page 39 states that the only time an Independent Character can chose to leave a unit is during the movement phase, going on to even state he can't simply duck out of a charge as one of the situations where he would be forbidden from leaving the unit. Even if this charge is being declared from an assault vehicle, you do not have permission to ignore this restriction preventing the Independent Character from departing ways with his unit simply because they are going to charge into battle while the character wants to remain safe and sound on the transport. You might want to re-read the bottom-right of page 79. Edit: Ninja'd.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/04 01:02:06
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 01:06:51
Subject: Re:Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I don't want to give the enemy the 4+ invul save, but I do want the 4+ on my land raider. Ideally I'd like to just sit him in the LR.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 01:13:18
Subject: Re:Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Sidguard wrote:I don't want to give the enemy the 4+ invul save, but I do want the 4+ on my land raider. Ideally I'd like to just sit him in the LR.
The Landraider doesn't get a 4+ from a PFG.
Check your latest FAQ.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 01:24:15
Subject: Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
After reviewing the situation I can see now what he meant by 'leave him in there.' I originally thought he meant he was declaring the charge from inside of the vehicle, as in carrying out the disembarking and charge at the same time during the assault phase. I do not know why I had this little lapse of common sense as the order of event is to disembark during the movement phase and then carry out the charge during the following assault phase. While there could be some unique rule somewhere in one of the codex's that change the order of events, to give permission to disembark and charge during the assault phase, I don't know of it. So now I am puzzling why I thought that was the standard procedure for these things... oh well, I take responsibility for this little error. As long as the opening poster follows the right order of events they are perfectly fine leaving the Techmarine cowering in the metal box.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/04 01:29:36
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/04 16:59:06
Subject: Re:Charging out of a Land Raider.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You disembark in the movement phase, you can't (afaik) declare a charge directly from within a vehicle during the assault phase. You have to disembark and then charge (assault/open topped only).
|
|
 |
 |
|