Switch Theme:

Droppods, units that have taken them and reserve rules.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Member of the Malleus






Page 124 BRB under reserves: States that you can only reserve half of your army rounded up. It also States that transports and the unit that takes them are counted as one entity for this purpose.

"players can choose not to deploy up to half of their units (rounding up) keeping them as reserves to later. Units that must start the game in reserve are ignored for the purposed of working out how many other units may do so. A unit and its dedicated transport are counted as a single unit for these purposes. Independent characters are also counted as a single unit regardless of whether they have joined another unit or not. "

Page 36 BRB under deep-striking: States that units that must start in reserves (drop-pods, fliers etc.) are not counted towards the reserve calculations listed on page 124.

The question.
Lets Assume I am running a list with 6 drop-pods, 6 units and 1 HQ.

Can I start with them all in reserves as they are in drop-pods, and the drop-pods are not counted towards reserves (furthermore does this rule extend to the units that took them b/c they are dedicated transports?)? Or do I follow rule on page 36 first, and only calculate the units and HQ as they have the option to be on the table, thus placing at least 3 units on the table at game start?


****
My view.
While the units and the drop-pods are calculated as one unit regularly, the rule also states we must ignore units that must start in reserves. The drop-pod has to, while the units that take them have no rules extending to them saying they have to. ex You can deploy a drop-pod empty, and deploy the unit at the start of the game that purchased it without breaking any rules. With that in mind you still calculate the troops (6 units + 1 IC) for reserve limitation and as such deploy at least 3 at the start of the game.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/10 14:51:57


Task Force Rath : 5000
Deathwatch: 4000
6000+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Do the Drop Pods have to start in reserve?

If so they and their contents are not counted in the calculation and you can start with everything embarked in Drop Pods.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






 DeathReaper wrote:
Do the Drop Pods have to start in reserve?

If so they and their contents are not counted in the calculation and you can start with everything embarked in Drop Pods.


This, as I stated in the Previous thread.

A Droppod, and any occupants including ICs are ignored for Reserve Calculations making a fully Drop Pod army viable.

Also, in contention in the previous thread, the stipulation is the end of Game turn, meaning that you do not autolose if your opponent goes first against your full reserves army.

40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in ca
Member of the Malleus






My main concern is that nowhere does it state that the units in the droppods have to start in reserves. That rule only extends to the droppod itself.

The dropoods has to start in reserves, its in its own rule set.

Nowhere does it state that units that buy a drop-pod as a transport have to also start in reserves. If that was the case you would not be allowed to start the units on the table, but you are. Which ties back into the original statement that the units that buy drop-pods are not exempt from reserve calculations.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/08/10 15:50:31


Task Force Rath : 5000
Deathwatch: 4000
6000+ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The contents of a transport that must start in reserves are not counted.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




can you tell me where it says IC are exempt from the 50% start on the table rule? I run a drop wolves army and i usually compensated for this by starting one of my drop units in cover on table so my IC can go in a drop pod
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





brb faq wrote:Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.

So if the IC is in a drop pod he isn't counted.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Pg 36 under the Deep Strike rules specifically mentions Drop Pods and their contents as being ignored from the reserve calculation.

"When working out how many units can be placed into reserve, units that must be deployed by Deep Strike(along with any models embarked upon them) are ignored. In addition, a unit that must arrive by Deep Strike(Such as a Drop Pod) must do so...."


This has also been FAQed, Official Update Version 1.4 pg 10. Bottom Left.

"Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves?(p124)
A: No."

There you have it, notice the vague inclusive language and "units". The language is meant to clarify the restriction put on pg124 which could force ICs etc to be placed on the board instead of in an available drop pod.

If an IC or unit is in a drop pod you do not count them towards your reserves calculation.


40k is 100% Skill +/- 50% Luck

Zagman's 40k Balance Errata 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You didnt count them anyway.

All the FAQ does is to add in vehicles such as Flyers to the exemption enjoyed by DS units.
   
Made in au
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





along with any models embarked upon them


If any model is IN a drop pod it does not count towards the reserve limit. So you can have your entire army in drop pods, including IC's.

If it is kept in reserve any other way, via deep strike (not in pod), outflank or normal walk on reserve it counts towards the limit.

Why do people crack it about pure drop lists?


~ Krieg 6k
~ Necrons 2.5k
~ Space Wolves 5K
~ :Khorne CSM 2k
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

DOOMONYOU wrote:
Why do people crack it about pure drop lists?



Because "OMG THEY IZ BROKN!!!1!!"

In all seriousness, I've no idea. A buddy of mine played a full DP army. I stole initiative, and the few DPs that didn't mishap (scattered off the table) and their occupants were overwhelmed with fire. Game ended after Game Turn 1.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I do know a few tricks with them which are really below the belt, but over all I have no problem with a pure drop pod list in general. I won't go into detail over them because it would lead to gripes about 'over powered' abilities that are not on topic. Just because these abilities can be drop delivered from a pod isn't an issue about the rules themselves, it is just one of a long list of gimmicks that Warhammer 40k allows. Talking about those would be something more akin talking about tactics then actual rules.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in ca
Member of the Malleus






Glad to see that was FAQ'd.

Task Force Rath : 5000
Deathwatch: 4000
6000+ 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

The FAQ didn't change anything.
I think it was quite a useless FAQ that should have been used on actual problems in the rulebook.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Kangodo wrote:
The FAQ didn't change anything.
I think it was quite a useless FAQ that should have been used on actual problems in the rulebook.

Except it wasnt useless, as it extended the DS allowance to ignore embarked models to ALL embarked models in a vehicle that must start off the table, ie flyers.
This was explained further up...
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

Aah yes, I see it now.
My mind automatically read it as "models that must come from reserve".
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: