Switch Theme:

Infiltrating and line of sight.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

I'm away camping at the moment and an idea has got stuck in my head, and I have no books around to see if it is legal.

These three questions will all make sense as to what I am thinking by the end.

1. Can you only ever draw line of sight from the weapon on a vehicle?

2. When determining the distance that you can deploy, depending on line of sight, is it judge from the units the infiltrating players model can see, or is it from what the opposing models can see.

3. Can scouts take any form of Malta weapon.


So based on the above answers, can you infiltrate a unit of scouts directly behind a vehicle?

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Eldercaveman wrote:
1. Can you only ever draw line of sight from the weapon on a vehicle?

Yes. There is no mechanism in the rules for drawing LOS from anywhere else on a (non-open-topped, non-transport) vehicle.


2. When determining the distance that you can deploy, depending on line of sight, is it judge from the units the infiltrating players model can see, or is it from what the opposing models can see.

It's whether the enemy can se the infiltrators.


3. Can scouts take any form of Malta weapon.

CHeck the scout entry from the relevant codex.

 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

 insaniak wrote:
Eldercaveman wrote:
1. Can you only ever draw line of sight from the weapon on a vehicle?

Yes. There is no mechanism in the rules for drawing LOS from anywhere else on a (non-open-topped, non-transport) vehicle.


2. When determining the distance that you can deploy, depending on line of sight, is it judge from the units the infiltrating players model can see, or is it from what the opposing models can see.

It's whether the enemy can se the infiltrators.


3. Can scouts take any form of Malta weapon.

CHeck the scout entry from the relevant codex.


Thanks man, im bookless at the minute, and figured id be pushing a bit for the last question. But on what you've said as long as the vehicle blocks the scouts from line of sight I could infiltrate them behind one.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




That depends on what you mean by "behind." Normal infiltrators that are completely out of LoS from the opponents models can deploy no closer than 12" away. So it's not like you could line up right next to a tank and take advantage of its bulk to hide you from other models in the opponents army, because you would have to be way closer than 12" to do that.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Eldercaveman wrote:
3. Can scouts take any form of Malta weapon.


Depends on 2 things:
1. Does the codex entry allow it?
2. Is Terra producing weapons in Malta in the M.41?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Eldercaveman wrote:
3. Can scouts take any form of Malta weapon.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malta

{Edit} I'd guess if you're away camping then you're probably posting on a phone or something, so Malta is probably what auto-correct thinks you were trying type instead of Melta. However, always worth embiggening knowledge of the world...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/18 07:38:11


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





United Kingdom

Damn autocorrect.

And yes I'd still need to be 12'' away.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: