Switch Theme:

Lizard lore attribute  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




Chicago, Il

When casting, successfully casting lets you forget the spell.

Is successful cast independent of dispel attempt? (Ie, if an opponent dispels the spell, does the attribute ability to forget the spell get canceled too?)

Sargent! Bring me my brown pants!  
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

A spell is not successfully cast if it is dispelled.

Nite 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




Chicago, Il

Is the spell then technically failed? (Aka breaks concentration)

Sargent! Bring me my brown pants!  
   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

A spellcasting is failed if you don't reach the casting value
A spellcasting is fully successful (thus triggering the attribute) if it's cast and not dispelled
I guess a spell is in a middle grey zone of nothing if it's cast and dispelled

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Castitas wrote:
Is the spell then technically failed? (Aka breaks concentration)

No, that specifically states you havent met the casting value, which you have done in this case
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

When you cast a spell, three things can happen.

1) It was cast successfully. This means you met the casting value and it was not dispelled.

2) It was unsuccessful. Which means you failed to meet the casting value. You cannot cast anymore.

3) Neither of the above.


The Lore Attribute requires number 1. Number 3 doesn't prevent you from casting again because you were not unsuccessful.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




Chicago, Il

Thanks for the quick replies. I have another question concerning the attribute.

Assuming a spell is cast and not dispelled. What I was doing with an opponent was:
Immediately forget the spell, then roll for all new spells at the end of the phase. Saves time. However a mod came over and corrected me. Rolls are made IMMEIiATELY after forgetting the spell. So in this way you roll one at a time rather than a bunch.

The mod also stated that because it is immediate, I had access to the new spell right away. So, if you use high lore master.. Cast hand of glory... Forget it then choose high again, only HoG is available, you relearn the spell. Can you cast it again?

It's cheese I know, but at least by the mods ruling it was valid. I thought I'd check with you guys on the appropriateness of this rule call. And the timing of rolling new spells, the availability of using those spells, and if it indeed provided a loop hole for the only casting the spell once per phase.

Thanks dakka

Sargent! Bring me my brown pants!  
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




The lore attribute says you forget and generate the new spells at the end of the magic phase. It is 100% crystal clear.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in gb
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight



Edinburgh, Scotland

So poor call by the Mod. Thankfully - there are lots of spells that I would hate to see chain cast. Arcane Unforging for one...

Nite 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






There is also a limitation in the BRB that says you may only cast a spell once each turn.

This is ONLY superceded if your codex specifically says you may repeat cast somthing.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Niteware wrote:
So poor call by the Mod. Thankfully - there are lots of spells that I would hate^H^H^H^H love to see chain cast. Arcane Unforging for one...

Fixed that for you

Wait, youre not a Lizard player?
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: