Switch Theme:

BRB page question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Not a rules dispute as im 100% sure this is in there..

But where in the BRB does it say that you must have half your army on the table in the first turn, or something like that? I cant remember where i read it in there, and i cant find it on page 121 under the deployment section..

Cheers!
   
Made in dk
Tail Gunner





Reserves p124
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Reserves - p124
"Preparing Reserves"
First sentence.
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Cheers guys, that helps

So you can keep half your army in reserves if you choose to do so, except those that must start in reserves dont count towards that half limit?

So drop pods dont count for the limit?

You'd think this is something I should know since ive played 6th since it came out, but eh

Edit to make it simple:

Grey hunters squad without drop pod MAY be placed into reserves, along with anything that usually starts on the table, upto half the army.
Grey hunters in drop pod dont count towards the half that may be kept in reserves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/24 22:31:15


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Dragonzord wrote:
Grey hunters squad without drop pod MAY be placed into reserves, along with anything that usually starts on the table, upto half the army.
Grey hunters in drop pod dont count towards the half that may be kept in reserves.
Correct on both.
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




 grendel083 wrote:
Dragonzord wrote:
Grey hunters squad without drop pod MAY be placed into reserves, along with anything that usually starts on the table, upto half the army.
Grey hunters in drop pod dont count towards the half that may be kept in reserves.
Correct on both.


huh, very useful.

And this half, is done by units, and not points? Coz i was always told it was done by 'half your army points must be on the table', but reading the BRB, it mentions units, and nothing about points..

This could be very useful!
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

No, it's for the units.

You always pick your army, set aside everything that must stay in reserve (and units embarked upon those) and then split the remaining in half.
   
Made in us
Brainy Zoanthrope





It's units. Kangodo is absolutely right.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

A couple of things worth mentioning in case it's not clear or hasn't occurred to you yet:

1) ICs count as separate units for this count-up, even if they're attached to a unit before arriving. Page 124 explicitly tells us this.
2) Drop pods *MUST* start in Reserve, true. The other usual example is Flyers.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) Unless they are attached to a unit that must DS, or must start in reserves, when they again dont count
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: