Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:31:52
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
There are myths going on here at the local gaming store, or so I believe that says:
You cannot charge on the first turn?
As far as I can see there is nothing in the rulebook that says I can't. Only the distance separating both units are the real issue here right?
For exemple: Marine Bob VS Tyranid Joe are deployed in front of each other with only a no mans land on 24" in between.
Marine Bob goes first turn and for some reason he moves 12" with his assault squad right the nids line!
Tyranid Joe then on his first turn move 12" with is raveners right at the assault marines. Well in range of an assault he is allowed to do so right?
When the rules refer to the first turn they really mean the first turn of the player goin first right?
Otherwise like in the reserve rule they will say YOUR second turn for exemple.
Am I correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:33:44
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Infiltrate and scout both have prohibitions for the first player turn as well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:35:54
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
The only thing that cannot assault (Unless otherwise limited, like deep strikers) the first PLAYER turn is units that have infiltrated or made a scout move. If you went second, and your opponent moved up to your infiltrated genestealers, you are more than able to assault them.
By the same token, if you infiltrate some Genestealers and your opponent has turn 1, he is allowed to assault them with anything that can reach (Anything with more than 6" of movement").
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/04 18:36:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:36:50
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
pretre wrote:Infiltrate and scout both have prohibitions for the first player turn as well.
That I knew because it is written black on white in rulebook.
I am really referring to any other unit that as no specific rule preventing it to assault on first turn!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:37:20
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
You cannot charge on the first PLAYER turn because of the distance which means you will be more than 12" (and thus unable to complete a charge) from your opponent even if you have moved forward.
And, as stated, infiltrate and scout outright prohibit it on the first player turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:39:05
Subject: Re:Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
As you've spotted, there is no rule stopping you from charging on the first turn at all (either game or player). However, the rules have clearly been designed with that intent in mind.
Scout and Infiltrate, as mentioned, specifically prohibit you (first *player* turn, mind).
No assaulting from a vehicle if it moved over 6" (this also stops Orky RPJ shenanigans and most if not all instances of sideways deployment with pivot in first move).
No assaulting from reserve unless specifically allowed (the two units that can - Vanguard Veterans and Ymgarl Genestealers - have no way to use this ability arriving on turn 1).
Hence, the only way it's possible is in the first *game* turn, by having the second *player* turn and by having Scouts, Infiltrators or an eager opponent. The idea seems to be - with reserves involved too and the addition of Interceptor - that it shouldn't be possible to attack in such a way that your opponent doesn't get at least one chance to do something about it.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:43:41
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
Rorschach9 wrote:You cannot charge on the first PLAYER turn because of the distance which means you will be more than 12" (and thus unable to complete a charge) from your opponent even if you have moved forward.
what about beasts (raveners, horses) that are 24" from an enemy unit?
They can move 12" in move phase and can (technicaly) move 12" in assault if they roll 12 with 2D6. That would made 24" right?
Please i'm not talking about probability here, i'm realy asking about the RULES.. Am I allowed to charge on 1st turn or not?
Thank you!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:48:55
Subject: Re:Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Roarin' Runtherd
|
Super Ready wrote:As you've spotted, there is no rule stopping you from charging on the first turn at all (either game or player). However, the rules have clearly been designed with that intent in mind.
Scout and Infiltrate, as mentioned, specifically prohibit you (first *player* turn, mind).
No assaulting from a vehicle if it moved over 6" (this also stops Orky RPJ shenanigans and most if not all instances of sideways deployment with pivot in first move).
No assaulting from reserve unless specifically allowed (the two units that can - Vanguard Veterans and Ymgarl Genestealers - have no way to use this ability arriving on turn 1).
Hence, the only way it's possible is in the first *game* turn, by having the second *player* turn and by having Scouts, Infiltrators or an eager opponent. The idea seems to be - with reserves involved too and the addition of Interceptor - that it shouldn't be possible to attack in such a way that your opponent doesn't get at least one chance to do something about it.
Don't forget Zagstruk's storm boyz
|
3000 points. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:52:02
Subject: Re:Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
Super Ready wrote:As you've spotted, there is no rule stopping you from charging on the first turn at all (either game or player). However, the rules have clearly been designed with that intent in mind.
Scout and Infiltrate, as mentioned, specifically prohibit you (first *player* turn, mind).
No assaulting from a vehicle if it moved over 6" (this also stops Orky RPJ shenanigans and most if not all instances of sideways deployment with pivot in first move).
No assaulting from reserve unless specifically allowed (the two units that can - Vanguard Veterans and Ymgarl Genestealers - have no way to use this ability arriving on turn 1).
Hence, the only way it's possible is in the first *game* turn, by having the second *player* turn and by having Scouts, Infiltrators or an eager opponent. The idea seems to be - with reserves involved too and the addition of Interceptor - that it shouldn't be possible to attack in such a way that your opponent doesn't get at least one chance to do something about it.
This.... there are no rules stopping a charge on the 1st turn. Having said that I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to see it happen and work.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 18:52:46
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe
|
or an ork truck moving 7 inches, the boys get out and move six, then assault 11-12 inches if they roll well enough... its totally possible, but only select armies can do it
|
"I ayn't so eezy ta kill... heheheh..."
BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!!!! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE!!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:00:32
Subject: Re:Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
Murrieta, CA
|
Nothing outright prevents first turn charges. Typically though, first turn charges only tend to happen if your opponent lets it happen. Deploying all the way forward vs Nobs Bikers, Thunderwolf Calv, Manz missiles and many other fast assault units is a bit of a bonehead move.
I've had a few games where my opponent didn't exactly understand how fast/killy thunderwolf cavalry are and they pushed their units 6 inches straight towards me. Allowing me some turn 1 assaulty goodness.
|
Space Marines (Anything but BA or GK): 6k
Tau: 3k
-Thaylen |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:02:11
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
WarlordRob117 wrote:or an ork truck moving 7 inches, the boys get out and move six, then assault 11-12 inches if they roll well enough... its totally possible, but only select armies can do it
Okay so the ork codex states that the red paint adds +1 to movement to the model but the model counts as moving only 6" for ALL game purposes. I have looked through the FAQ and found nothing to deny this ruling. The latest FAQ for orks came out in april so its fairly new.
By this I would say yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:02:53
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Lord_Tyrant wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:You cannot charge on the first PLAYER turn because of the distance which means you will be more than 12" (and thus unable to complete a charge) from your opponent even if you have moved forward.
what about beasts (raveners, horses) that are 24" from an enemy unit?
They can move 12" in move phase and can (technicaly) move 12" in assault if they roll 12 with 2D6. That would made 24" right?
Please i'm not talking about probability here, i'm realy asking about the RULES.. Am I allowed to charge on 1st turn or not?
Thank you!
You have to deploy at least 24" apart. I.e. 24.000001.
Beasts can only charge 24". So they would be .000001 short of a charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:03:26
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Lord_Tyrant wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:You cannot charge on the first PLAYER turn because of the distance which means you will be more than 12" (and thus unable to complete a charge) from your opponent even if you have moved forward.
what about beasts (raveners, horses) that are 24" from an enemy unit?
They can move 12" in move phase and can (technicaly) move 12" in assault if they roll 12 with 2D6. That would made 24" right?
Please i'm not talking about probability here, i'm realy asking about the RULES.. Am I allowed to charge on 1st turn or not?
Thank you!
You're correct about the move distance of beasts and cav...but you've forgotten the wording of deployment. You must start MORE THAN 12" away from the center line. So that means that the distance between you and your opponent will be AT LEAST 24.00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001", which is farther than 24"
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:05:40
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Lord_Tyrant wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:You cannot charge on the first PLAYER turn because of the distance which means you will be more than 12" (and thus unable to complete a charge) from your opponent even if you have moved forward.
what about beasts (raveners, horses) that are 24" from an enemy unit?
They can move 12" in move phase and can (technicaly) move 12" in assault if they roll 12 with 2D6. That would made 24" right?
Please i'm not talking about probability here, i'm realy asking about the RULES.. Am I allowed to charge on 1st turn or not?
Thank you!
BRB page 121 "a player'sdeployment zone is defined as anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line"
Note it says 'more than' 12" from the central line. This means even if you move the full 12" in your movement phase (first player turn) you are still going to be more than 12" from your enemy (who also deployed more than 12" from the central line), even if that is 1/10000000th of an inch it is still, technically, impossible to charge first player turn as you would then have to charge more than 12 inches to make it to your opponents line..
*ninja'd twice!*
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/04 19:06:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:08:28
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
Rorschach9 wrote:Lord_Tyrant wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:You cannot charge on the first PLAYER turn because of the distance which means you will be more than 12" (and thus unable to complete a charge) from your opponent even if you have moved forward.
what about beasts (raveners, horses) that are 24" from an enemy unit?
They can move 12" in move phase and can (technicaly) move 12" in assault if they roll 12 with 2D6. That would made 24" right?
Please i'm not talking about probability here, i'm realy asking about the RULES.. Am I allowed to charge on 1st turn or not?
Thank you!
BRB page 121 "a player'sdeployment zone is defined as anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line"
Note it says 'more than' 12" from the central line. This means even if you move the full 12" in your movement phase (first player turn) you are still going to be more than 12" from your enemy (who also deployed more than 12" from the central line), even if that is 1/10000000th of an inch it is still, technically, impossible to charge first player turn as you would then have to charge more than 12 inches to make it to your opponents line..
*ninja'd twice!*
Hence my orks can charge 13" or are you guys just referring to every other race?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:21:49
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
osirisx69 wrote:Hence my orks can charge 13" or are you guys just referring to every other race?
How are you rolling 13 on 2d6?
There are a couple ways to charge more than 12, but they are rare (warlord traits, etc.)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:24:55
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
pretre wrote:osirisx69 wrote:Hence my orks can charge 13" or are you guys just referring to every other race?
How are you rolling 13 on 2d6?
There are a couple ways to charge more than 12, but they are rare (warlord traits, etc.)
Oh please read my above post about orks and red paint M8.
I am sure you just missed that....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:27:22
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine
|
Also ork stormboyz can move 12+d6 with their jump pack move, so they'll on average only need about 8-9 more inches to charge, less if they roll well on that d6
|
Dark Angels 1st, 2nd, 5th, 10th Companies,
~14,000 points
36-21-4
~ 4500 points of Tau
5-5-1
~2500 points of Admech 40k
~6500 points of Tyranids: Hive Fleet Niadra
1-2-0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:28:36
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
osirisx69 wrote: pretre wrote:osirisx69 wrote:Hence my orks can charge 13" or are you guys just referring to every other race?
How are you rolling 13 on 2d6? There are a couple ways to charge more than 12, but they are rare (warlord traits, etc.) Oh please read my above post about orks and red paint M8. I am sure you just missed that....
No, I got it. You're not assaulting 13. You're moving + RPJ then assaulting 2D6.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/04 19:29:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:29:29
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
osirisx69 wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:Lord_Tyrant wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:You cannot charge on the first PLAYER turn because of the distance which means you will be more than 12" (and thus unable to complete a charge) from your opponent even if you have moved forward.
what about beasts (raveners, horses) that are 24" from an enemy unit?
They can move 12" in move phase and can (technicaly) move 12" in assault if they roll 12 with 2D6. That would made 24" right?
Please i'm not talking about probability here, i'm realy asking about the RULES.. Am I allowed to charge on 1st turn or not?
Thank you!
BRB page 121 "a player'sdeployment zone is defined as anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line"
Note it says 'more than' 12" from the central line. This means even if you move the full 12" in your movement phase (first player turn) you are still going to be more than 12" from your enemy (who also deployed more than 12" from the central line), even if that is 1/10000000th of an inch it is still, technically, impossible to charge first player turn as you would then have to charge more than 12 inches to make it to your opponents line..
*ninja'd twice!*
Hence my orks can charge 13" or are you guys just referring to every other race?
Assuming RPJ on an Ork transport (and assuming you mean move 13", not assault as your Orks jumping out of that transport aren't going to get the +1 for their assault distance) that they can then assault out of after moving 12" (13 with RPJ) then I guess Orks would be the only ones that ( afaik) could potentially assault Player Turn 1.
** EDIT : Can you assault after your transport has moved 12" (+1 for RPJ)? You cannot disembark from a vehicle that has moved more than 6" (+1 for RPJ), so if you cannot disembark, you cannot assault, correct? In which case you're still not moving the 24.0000000000x" in T1 and assaulting .. right?[
** Re-EDIT : Nevermind. Disembark after moving 7" (with RJP), move wholy within 6" of the vehicles disembarkation point, you've now moved just shy of 13" and can potentially get a 12" assault distance bringing you to 24.9999 inches from starting point. I concede, Orks with an assault vehicle that has RPJ can do this.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/09/04 19:53:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:31:02
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Sideways landraider.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:31:15
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
Rorschach9 wrote:osirisx69 wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:Lord_Tyrant wrote:Rorschach9 wrote:You cannot charge on the first PLAYER turn because of the distance which means you will be more than 12" (and thus unable to complete a charge) from your opponent even if you have moved forward.
what about beasts (raveners, horses) that are 24" from an enemy unit?
They can move 12" in move phase and can (technicaly) move 12" in assault if they roll 12 with 2D6. That would made 24" right?
Please i'm not talking about probability here, i'm realy asking about the RULES.. Am I allowed to charge on 1st turn or not?
Thank you!
BRB page 121 "a player'sdeployment zone is defined as anywhere in their own table half that is more than 12" from the central line"
Note it says 'more than' 12" from the central line. This means even if you move the full 12" in your movement phase (first player turn) you are still going to be more than 12" from your enemy (who also deployed more than 12" from the central line), even if that is 1/10000000th of an inch it is still, technically, impossible to charge first player turn as you would then have to charge more than 12 inches to make it to your opponents line..
*ninja'd twice!*
Hence my orks can charge 13" or are you guys just referring to every other race?
Assuming RPJ on an Ork transport (and assuming you mean move 13", not assault as your Orks jumping out of that transport aren't going to get the +1 for their assault distance) that they can then assault out of after moving 12" (13 with RPJ) then I guess Orks would be the only ones that ( afaik) could potentially assault Player Turn 1.
pretre this............
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:32:18
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
That's a lot different than "my orks can charge 13" "
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:34:05
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
pretre wrote:
That's a lot different than "my orks can charge 13" "

How is it? I spelled it out in my post a few posts up...... Are you sure you read all my post on this page? Or are you just being a picker and found a nit on the usage of the word "charge"?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/04 19:36:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:42:53
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Pivoting vehicles is also a way to gain that additional distance to charge on the first turn. Orks have it easiest, but other armies could as well, DE transports are notorious for gaining ground with sideways deployment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:49:52
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
Fragile wrote:Pivoting vehicles is also a way to gain that additional distance to charge on the first turn. Orks have it easiest, but other armies could as well, DE transports are notorious for gaining ground with sideways deployment.
Wait, wait, lol. Are you saying that an assault tank or transport can deploy sideways and be 12.000000000000000000000000000000000001 inches away and then during 1st turn change facing so it gets some extra inches on its movement? I am sorry if this is off topic....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:52:41
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
osirisx69 wrote:Fragile wrote:Pivoting vehicles is also a way to gain that additional distance to charge on the first turn. Orks have it easiest, but other armies could as well, DE transports are notorious for gaining ground with sideways deployment.
Wait, wait, lol. Are you saying that an assault tank or transport can deploy sideways and be 12.000000000000000000000000000000000001 inches away and then during 1st turn change facing so it gets some extra inches on its movement? I am sorry if this is off topic....
It has been that way forever. Depending on the person you are playing against it ranges from perfectly okay to the height of cheatery.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:53:24
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
pretre wrote:osirisx69 wrote:Fragile wrote:Pivoting vehicles is also a way to gain that additional distance to charge on the first turn. Orks have it easiest, but other armies could as well, DE transports are notorious for gaining ground with sideways deployment.
Wait, wait, lol. Are you saying that an assault tank or transport can deploy sideways and be 12.000000000000000000000000000000000001 inches away and then during 1st turn change facing so it gets some extra inches on its movement? I am sorry if this is off topic....
It has been that way forever. Depending on the person you are playing against it ranges from perfectly okay to the height of cheatery.
Is there a ymtc topic on it? if that's the case then the ork trukk ,which is over 4.5 inches in length so you would get half that, is clearly in range on turn 1 with rpj .
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/04 19:54:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/04 19:56:00
Subject: Myths around THE first turn?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
osirisx69 wrote: pretre wrote:osirisx69 wrote:Fragile wrote:Pivoting vehicles is also a way to gain that additional distance to charge on the first turn. Orks have it easiest, but other armies could as well, DE transports are notorious for gaining ground with sideways deployment.
Wait, wait, lol. Are you saying that an assault tank or transport can deploy sideways and be 12.000000000000000000000000000000000001 inches away and then during 1st turn change facing so it gets some extra inches on its movement? I am sorry if this is off topic....
It has been that way forever. Depending on the person you are playing against it ranges from perfectly okay to the height of cheatery.
Is there a ymtc topic on it?
There probably is. The tactic is cheesy at best and you're unlikely to ever play that opponent again (or any who watch you do it).
|
|
 |
 |
|