Switch Theme:

Question about Pedro Kantor and Sternguard veterans  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Raging Ravener





Sweden -kham

Let's just get right to ze questions:

First off, does the sternguards lose Hold the line if Kantor dies?

secondly, can Sternguard shoot their special ammo with storm bolters?

Oh and before I forget, For the Emperor!

edit: just read the rules on their special ammo and I think it's quite clear

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/07 13:22:54


youtube.com/user/SwedishWookie

 
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

The way I read it, they remain scoring units.

It says: "If your army includes.."
I'm assuming he is still in your army, even though he is dead.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






BRB FAQ, page 9 http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3440036a_40K_RULEBOOK_v1.5_September_13.pdf
Q: Some units have rules that mean their selection permits other units from that detachment to be selected as if they belonged to different parts of their Codex army list (Heavy Support choices chosen as Troops for example). If such a permissive unit is killed, do these rules immediately cease to apply (e.g. units chosen as Troops that were not Troops originally cease to count as such and so cannot be Scoring units, or worse become illegal units due to excess choices from one or more sections of the army list)? (p109)
A: No.


Blood Angels FAQ (Since they've removed the Space Marine one, depends if they've changed the wording for the new SM Codex)
Q: Can Sternguard Veterans equipped with storm bolters use their Special Issue Ammunition with these weapons? (p27)
A: No.
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

I notice as well that special ammunition now refers to bolt*GUNS*. This is a very specific definition in the rulebook, and a storm bolter is no more a boltgun than a plasma pistol is a plasmagun. It's just the fluff that can make it confusing.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in nl
Loyal Necron Lychguard



Netherlands

@Quanar:
He doesn't make them troops, that would have been an easy question.
He makes them scoring.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Super Ready wrote:
I notice as well that special ammunition now refers to bolt*GUNS*. This is a very specific definition in the rulebook, and a storm bolter is no more a boltgun than a plasma pistol is a plasmagun. It's just the fluff that can make it confusing.

Page 56 of the BRB does define the storm bolter as a type of boltgun.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

Disregarding the Blood Angels FAQ, I argue that the term Boltgun is defined as polt pistol, boltgun, storm bolter, heavy bolter, and Vulcan mega-bolter as shown on BRB pg. 56. Since this does not list a combi-weapon in this section it had to be defined to work specifically with the Special Issue Ammo in the codex in order to work with those weapons. Please remember though, special ammo lists its own weapon profile and so a heavy bolter doesn't get 3 shots with special ammo, nor does it get Assault 2 with a storm bolter.

Yes, we can all argue that BA FAQ says no, but their Sternguard are not the same as C:SM. And I'm sure everyone remembers the Harlaquin being different in Eldar and DE lists because of FAQ when 6th hit.

My answer is RAW you can until FAQed, which it probably will be.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/09 04:10:53


"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

You've never been able to use special ammunition in storm bolters, and the new rules haven't changed that.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

 Jimsolo wrote:
You've never been able to use special ammunition in storm bolters, and the new rules haven't changed that.


The new rules, due to a lack of FAQ, do allow it depending on interpretation. However, the question is that when it says Boltguns in special issue ammo does it mean Boltgun the type of weapon as defined on BRB pg. 56, or Boltgun the actual weapon listed within the Boltgun type.

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Kangodo wrote:
@Quanar:
He doesn't make them troops, that would have been an easy question.
He makes them scoring.
I don't have the new SM Codex, but isn't the wording "If your army includes... becomes Scoring..."? So I linked a FAQ for a "If your army includes... becomes Troops..."

Yes, it's not a direct answer, but if this came up in a game I'd show my opponent the FAQ as a precedent.
   
Made in us
Member of the Malleus




SLC, UT

I think that FAQ is still a good example. The reason is because of the "if your army includes" section of it. This is an army wide rule. It is not dependant on the IC being on the table, only being in the list.

"Huddle close to your Emperor if he makes you feel safe. He cannot save you, for only Chaos is eternal."

Cross: Noun. A thing you nail people to.

Iron Warriors 3k Yme-Loc 6k
Grey Knights 2k <3 Harlequin WIP
Vampire Counts 3K Dwarfs 2k
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: