Switch Theme:

Can a battlesuit fire a Quad gun in addition to one of his weapons?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Fragile wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Nothing in the quad gun rule prohibits the multitracker or MC rules from applying.
Nothing in the quad gun rule allows it either.
It's a poorly written rule.
No allowance is needed for the Quad Gun rule. I fire the quad gun instead of my weapon, now I fire an additional weapon. Show me the conflict.
I never said there was a conflict.
The rules are written for a model with a single weapon, not multiples.
It simply doesn't cover how they should work together. Buy RAI they probably should.
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

How does the quad gun work with a monstrous creature? Is there any precedent there?

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 AndrewC wrote:
How does the quad gun work with a monstrous creature? Is there any precedent there?

Cheers

Andrew


None known.



The only thing GW made a ruling on in regards to models that can fire multiple weapons and Gun Emplacements, is no vehicles.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot




San Diego Ca

***The only thing GW made a ruling on in regards to models that can fire multiple weapons and Gun Emplacements, is no vehicles.***
Well, walkers...but they have a Weapoins Skill. So the topic could also ask if a dreadnought can fire a quad-gun in place of one of its weapons, ie: dreadnought shoots his Assault cannon and the quad gun instead of the storm-bolter/flamer on his CCW arm.

Life isn't fair. But wouldn't it be worse if Life were fair, and all of the really terrible things that happen to us were because we deserved them?
M. Cole.
 
   
Made in fk
Longtime Dakkanaut





Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun

Unfortunately a Dreadnaught can't shoot a quadgun as the rules stand. The rule for the definition of a vehicle, basically, is if it has an AV instead of T. If it does then its a vehicle. WS is not a defining feature.

Cheers

Andrew

I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!

Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

dkellyj wrote:
***The only thing GW made a ruling on in regards to models that can fire multiple weapons and Gun Emplacements, is no vehicles.***
Well, walkers...but they have a Weapoins Skill. So the topic could also ask if a dreadnought can fire a quad-gun in place of one of its weapons, ie: dreadnought shoots his Assault cannon and the quad gun instead of the storm-bolter/flamer on his CCW arm.
You do know a dreadnought is a vehicle, right?
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




An issue with shooting a 2nd weapon is that this still breaks the quad gun rule in this specific way:

Is the SMS 'the model's weapon'? Yes.

Is the Plasma Rifle also 'the model's weapon? Yes.

While it's true a Battlesuit (or MC) can fire 2 weapons per BRB and Codex specific rules, both of the individual weapons belong to the model, and thus shooting either one technically breaks the Quad Gun rule.

It is unfortunate wording, and does need a FAQ to address.
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Alternatively there are 2 of "the model's weapon" and you may fire the Quad Gun instead of one or the other. Both are valid interpretations of the rules, but one of them is a more logical conclusion.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Ferocious Blood Claw




Just for clarification, I know this thread is specific to Tau suits, but would this also apply to SM Centurions?
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Idaho

CanisLupus518 wrote:
Just for clarification, I know this thread is specific to Tau suits, but would this also apply to SM Centurions?


Yay or nay, this would apply to anything that is a non vehicle that can fire more than one weapon.

2200
4500
3500 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: