Switch Theme:

Can Thunderfire cannons be transported?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Huge Hierodule






North Bay, CA

And if so, how much space does it take up? I see that it can be dropped in a pod, but couldn't find any other references about being able to be transported in something. Thanks.

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/280663.page

Moving to YMDC.

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Its unit type is Artillery. The only kind of unit allowed to embark is Infantry. Since Artillery != Infantry, no embarking. The Drop Pod has specific allowance.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Have they specified how many models it is considered to be when embarked on a drop pod? (Unlike the 5th ed book that did not specify how many spots it took up).

All I need is a Yes or no, not looking for specifics.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No, they haven't.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Assuming the exception to the normal transport rules are accurate, I do not play this army and would need to research the rule when I get home, the way to figure out how much space depends on the special rules for the unit itself. There is a special sub-set of rules known as Bulky which governs how many slots a unit takes up in a transport, though they can also simply state 'this unit takes up X slots in a transport' on the entry itself, but bulky was designed specifically to bring those sort . Simply look at the special rules on the thunder cannon itself and take a look in the book to see how many slots are taken.

If there is no special rule related to the bulk of the unit, then there is no rule forcing you to take more then one slot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/18 20:28:35


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Perhaps a bit off topic but don't Eldar have those weapon platforms that are considered artillery that can be transported? or is that something else?

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





JinxDragon wrote:
Assuming the exception is accurate, I do not play this army and would need to research the rule when I get home, the way to figure out how much space is simple. There is a special sub-set of rules known as Bulky which governs how many slots a unit takes up in a transport. Simply look at the special rules on the thunder cannon itself and take a look in the book to see how many slots are taken.

If there is no special rule related to the bulk of the unit, then there is no rule forcing you to take more then one slot.

Right - DR was asking if it was Bulky or anything. I answered that question.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/09/18 20:24:08


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

And I didn't see the replies from DeathReaper or yourself. This page was opened before you posted but I didn't get a chance to respond till after, the down side of doing this to keep myself bored while at work is that work interferes with posting here. Do find it curious they would have a model clearly larger then a man and forget to put down how much space it takes up in a transport it has specific permission to travel in. However the answer is simple: unless the rule is there then it clearly is not 'bulky.'

Addendum: Taking a look at the other thread, where the rule itself is posted, it is seems they have taken the size of the model into account and it pretty much takes up 9 slots!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/09/18 20:33:47


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






The Drop Pod's transport capacity rules clear this up: it has a capacity of ten models, or one Dreadnought, or one Thunderfire Cannon and Techmarine gunner.

You don't need to know how many "spaces" it takes up, because it (and the gunner) fill the whole pod.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Desubot wrote:
Perhaps a bit off topic but don't Eldar have those weapon platforms that are considered artillery that can be transported? or is that something else?


The weapons platform in a Guardian Defender Squad are not artilery and have their own rules regarding how they fit in transports.

The Heavy Weapons platforms for the Eldar that are artillery cannot fit into transports.
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Huge Hierodule






North Bay, CA

I think the answer is ... it's artillery. Artillery cannot be transported in a vehicle. Thanks.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Ifurita wrote:
I think the answer is ... it's artillery. Artillery cannot be transported in a vehicle. Thanks.


Except Drop Pods have specific permission to carry a single TFC with Gunner.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Huge Hierodule






North Bay, CA

Yes.

My ulterior motive was to see if I could transport a bunch of them inside a Stormlord for Apoc games.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Ifurita wrote:
Yes.

My ulterior motive was to see if I could transport a bunch of them inside a Stormlord for Apoc games.


You used to be able to. In the old Apocalypse rules Artillery (gun) was 5 models, Artillery (Crew) was 1. The SH Transport rules are something I definitely would have kept.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: