| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 17:25:09
Subject: do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Scouting Gnoblar Trapper
Baltimore, MD
|
Hey all, seen a lot of back and forth about this. just looking for a defintive answer. Im running a Hawk Lords list with tiggy, ven dread, three tac squads, two scout squads in storms, three talons, and three ravens. I was planning on transporting the tacs, tiggy, and the dread in the ravens (leaving the scouts in their speeders on the table). Now my question is since the transports they'll be deployed in are flyers ( and thereofre not subject to the unit count for reserves as they MUST start in reserve), do the units embarked in them count against it? General concensus so far is no since they start in units that must start in reserves ( like pods). Comments, ideas? Thanks
|
Man is not punished by his sins, but by his conscious- Anon
Rynns Revenge~3500pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 17:28:46
Subject: do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
|
Yes. Automatically Appended Next Post: There is no requirement to put them in the fliers therefore its not mandatory for them to start in reserve. They do count against your reserves count. Also I do believe that fliers do count towards your reserve limitations.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/12 17:30:33
RoperPG wrote:Blimey, it's very salty in here...
Any more vegans want to put forth their opinions on bacon? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 17:32:19
Subject: Re:do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
If the flyers are dedicated I don't believe the unit inside counts, just like with drop pods.
|
Do you play 30k? It'd be a lot cooler if you did. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 17:36:32
Subject: Re:do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Implacable Skitarii
|
From the FAQ:
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example , must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves?
(p124)
A: No.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 17:41:17
Subject: Re:do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Whumbachumba wrote:From the FAQ:
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example , must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves?
(p124)
A: No.
I don't think any of the units in the OP have to actually start in reserves though, so the all count.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 17:47:40
Subject: do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
namiel wrote: There is no requirement to put them in the fliers therefore its not mandatory for them to start in reserve. They do count against your reserves count. Also I do believe that fliers do count towards your reserve limitations. This is terribly wrong. They do NOT count. Read your FAQ, people. The FAQ says, "Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count...?" It doesn't mention DTs, so this applies to all vehicles, whether dedicated or not. Are the Tac Squads and Dread being transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve? Flyers must start in reserve, so the answer to that is yes. Therefore, the Tac Squads, the IC, and the Dread all do NOT COUNT toward reserve limits. In the OP's posted list, the things that will be tallied for 50% reserves are: two scout squads. Everything else is either a Flyer (so doesn't count), or starting the game in a Flyer (so also doesn't count.) Now, it might be bad strategy to start the game with one measly Scout squad on the table...but it's legal.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/10/12 17:56:54
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 17:55:10
Subject: do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, I completely brain farted on the flyers.
One of your scout squads must start on the table.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 18:11:37
Subject: Re:do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Scouting Gnoblar Trapper
Baltimore, MD
|
Thanks everyone for the help
|
Man is not punished by his sins, but by his conscious- Anon
Rynns Revenge~3500pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/12 19:27:45
Subject: do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
I would also like to point out that the question even used the Valkyrie as an example, so it is very clear that it covers units starting in flyers. To my knowledge I do not know of a faction that is allowed to take a Valkyrie as a dedicated transport. This would cement the fact the FAQ is not limited to just units with dedicated transports, but to all transports and units that begin within them. Personally; I think the question was loaded because of this fact and find the 'no' is far to lazy an answer to cover all transports that but that view doesn't stop it from being a fact. Now I could be mistaken but that would be a very flyer heavy faction if they where dedicated transports as well....
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/12 19:29:09
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/13 00:01:50
Subject: do units in flyers count against reserve?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
JinxDragon wrote:.To my knowledge I do not know of a faction that is allowed to take a Valkyrie as a dedicated transport.
Elysian Drop troops.
New version of IA3 has a 6th edition list.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|