Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/20 16:34:51
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
I was playing a game at my FLGS against another player he claimed that prescience allowed him to re-roll scatter dice(2d6 and scatter die) from a blast template. I argued that it states it allows you to re-roll failed to hit rolls, he claimed that a blast that scattered badly and hit nothing was a failed to hit roll. who was right?
Also can objectives be placed on levels other than the first of a ruins? If so can you score them from the floor above/below?
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/20 16:41:25
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
"Blast Weapons and Re-rolls" - page 33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/20 16:53:11
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
Ok, thanks that was what I was wondering about.
|
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 00:08:14
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
As to your second question, yes. Objectives are prohibited from being placed on the upper levels of buildings (because they might explode and become impassable, making the objective un-scorable), but a ruin isn't a building.
See how coherency is measured between models in ruins. That's the way to measure to objectives.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 11:46:12
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:As to your second question, yes. Objectives are prohibited from being placed on the upper levels of buildings (because they might explode and become impassable, making the objective un-scorable), but a ruin isn't a building.
See how coherency is measured between models in ruins. That's the way to measure to objectives.
I dont have my book in front of me but we ran into this same situation (can you place objectives in upper levels in ruins) and did the research and found out that you in fact could place them in upper levels. Maybe someone with a book can confirm?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 12:05:34
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
What if the blast scattered but still hit something that was not the original target, can it be re-rolled?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/21 12:06:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/21 12:26:24
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Polecat wrote:What if the blast scattered but still hit something that was not the original target, can it be re-rolled?
It's not the same as rolls to hit, you don't re-roll the misses. It allows for a re-roll.
You can choose to re-roll even if you roll a HIT on the scatter dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 01:47:39
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Moridan wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:As to your second question, yes. Objectives are prohibited from being placed on the upper levels of buildings (because they might explode and become impassable, making the objective un-scorable), but a ruin isn't a building.
See how coherency is measured between models in ruins. That's the way to measure to objectives.
I dont have my book in front of me but we ran into this same situation (can you place objectives in upper levels in ruins) and did the research and found out that you in fact could place them in upper levels. Maybe someone with a book can confirm?
Read the "Place Objective Markers" on BRB 121. It has some very specific restrictions on the permission to place the markers anywhere. None of those restrictions are on ruins, and one of them is on buildings.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 06:19:03
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
grendel083 wrote:Polecat wrote:What if the blast scattered but still hit something that was not the original target, can it be re-rolled?
It's not the same as rolls to hit, you don't re-roll the misses. It allows for a re-roll.
You can choose to re-roll even if you roll a HIT on the scatter dice.
Could you point out why it is so?
The rules on pg. 33 are confusing me. It says that "If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit...". I usually only have the ability to re-roll failed rolls to hit. Is it the same thing, and how so, if the blast still hit something, anything?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 12:23:31
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Moridan wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:As to your second question, yes. Objectives are prohibited from being placed on the upper levels of buildings (because they might explode and become impassable, making the objective un-scorable), but a ruin isn't a building.
See how coherency is measured between models in ruins. That's the way to measure to objectives.
I dont have my book in front of me but we ran into this same situation (can you place objectives in upper levels in ruins) and did the research and found out that you in fact could place them in upper levels. Maybe someone with a book can confirm?
Read the "Place Objective Markers" on BRB 121. It has some very specific restrictions on the permission to place the markers anywhere. None of those restrictions are on ruins, and one of them is on buildings.
Ok, thats what we found. I misread buildings and ruins. They CAN be put in upper floors of ruins, but not at the top of buildings. Check. Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/22 20:44:32
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
your ability to re-roll a fail to hit is a re-roll to hit as per that rule on p33
therby satisfying the critera needed for the reroll of the dice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/23 07:50:52
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
nutty_nutter wrote:your ability to re-roll a fail to hit is a re-roll to hit as per that rule on p33
therby satisfying the critera needed for the reroll of the dice.
But if I dont fail to hit (something that is not the original target) how do I have the ability to re-roll to hit rolls?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/23 08:03:43
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Polecat wrote:[But if I dont fail to hit (something that is not the original target) how do I have the ability to re-roll to hit rolls?
Because giving a re-roll on the scatter dice has nothing to do with the results of the shot. If you have a re-roll to hit (and prescience gives you one) the blast weapon rules state that you may re-roll the scatter dice. As soon as the model gains "may re-roll to hit" it also gains "may re-roll scatter dice", and that happens as soon as you successfully cast prescience (or successfully grant a re-roll with some other ability).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/23 08:05:26
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/23 08:11:20
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Polecat wrote: nutty_nutter wrote:your ability to re-roll a fail to hit is a re-roll to hit as per that rule on p33
therby satisfying the critera needed for the reroll of the dice.
But if I dont fail to hit (something that is not the original target) how do I have the ability to re-roll to hit rolls?
Yep, same as if you have PE, you gain a reroll to hit even though you can never roll a 1.
The requirement is "have a reroll to hit"
Having "reroll to hit (failed to hit)" is a subset of all "reroll to hit", and is therefore covered. Ditto PE.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/23 08:16:59
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So if a BS6 model fires a blast weapon, he can always re-roll the scatter?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/23 08:47:05
Subject: Can you re-roll scatter dice with prescience
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, as he always has an ability to reroll his to-hit
|
|
 |
 |
|