| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/25 19:51:23
Subject: Eldar: Veil of Tears Clarification
|
 |
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!
|
Hi all,
Wondering how this worked in terms of "targeting".
The rule itself says "any unit wishing to target the Shadowseer or their unit must roll 2d6x2. If the unit is not within this distance in inches, the enemy unit may not fire this turn".
Question 1: Are the Harlequins considered to be "targeted" if a blast marker were to be placed INITIALLY partially over part of the unit. IE - If a unit of Dire Avengers were to be targeted by a Demolisher Cannon, and part of the blast marker is placed over a Harlequin, after the center of the blast marker has been placed over a Dire Avenger?
Question 2: If the answer to Q1 is "yes", does the enemy unit need to roll for Veil of Tears?
I'm aware that if the blast marker was not initially targeting the Harlequin troupe at all, and happen up scatter over them, that they'd be susceptible to being hit. I was just curious about the above situation.
Thanks Dakka!
|
"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/25 19:57:15
Subject: Eldar: Veil of Tears Clarification
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Before any rolls to hit, including placing and scattering a blast marker, the 2d6x2 must be tested for. If it fails, then no hits can be generated against the Harlies.
However, if a blast marker scatters from a different target and touches the Harlies, then they would take hits as normal.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/25 20:11:58
Subject: Eldar: Veil of Tears Clarification
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
You only roll "Spotting Distance" if you are targeting the Harlies. Since the Demolisher is targeting the DA, then there is no roll, even though the Harlies are being hit.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/25 22:46:57
Subject: Eldar: Veil of Tears Clarification
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:Before any rolls to hit, including placing and scattering a blast marker, the 2d6x2 must be tested for. If it fails, then no hits can be generated against the Harlies.
However, if a blast marker scatters from a different target and touches the Harlies, then they would take hits as normal.
That isnt the rule though. The rule states if you *target* the harlie unit - and *target* has a specific meaning in 40k.
Dont run harlies near other units, basically
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 01:37:55
Subject: Eldar: Veil of Tears Clarification
|
 |
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!
|
Thanks for the clarification!
|
"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 01:39:47
Subject: Re:Eldar: Veil of Tears Clarification
|
 |
Adolescent Youth with Potential
1050 Florin Rd Sacramento, CA 95831
|
Where does everyone game? I found a great shop but I am looking for more friends to play. I am getting a large group of girlfriends to play there but I wasn't sure where everyone plays?
|
Stephanie Mearse |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/10/26 02:13:20
Subject: Re:Eldar: Veil of Tears Clarification
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
zoegirl27 wrote:Where does everyone game? I found a great shop but I am looking for more friends to play. I am getting a large group of girlfriends to play there but I wasn't sure where everyone plays? This is the wrong forum for getting together gaming groups. If you'd like to find some folks for games, then I'd suggest the forum appropriately titled Find A Game
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/26 02:13:38
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|