| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/04 18:29:06
Subject: Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So, in the Eldar codex, the mantle gives the user a bunch of perks but also states that said individual loses the IC special rule.
Would it be legal for a separate IC to join with a model with the Mantle?
Example: Autarch on a jetbike has the Mantle and is therefore no longer and IC (essentially like Mephiston or Crowe from how I interpret this). Farseer on a jetbike, with no unit, just the far seer attaches to the autarch which would make a squad of 2 models.
My reasoning is that in the example above, while the autarch cannot join other units anymore, the farseer can and therefore joins the autarch. I view this as being similar to a buff commander joining a Riptide.
Is this correct or is my reasoning completely wrong?
|
2012 Atlanta Tournament Circuit - 1st |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/04 18:34:08
Subject: Re:Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Is the model with the Mantle a unit that can compose of more than 1 model? If not, no, the Farseer may not join the Autarch. A Tau Commander may join a Riptide because it is a unit that CAN be more than one model. Lucarikx
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/04 18:35:03
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/04 18:38:05
Subject: Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Page 39, read it, love it. The autarch is ALWAYS A unit that consists of a single model.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/04 18:38:53
Subject: Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok, I found the reference to the autarch.
So lets change the scenario and assume its a farseer with the mantle and a second farseer is attempting to make the unit. Would this be legal?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/04 18:42:11
2012 Atlanta Tournament Circuit - 1st |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/04 18:41:49
Subject: Re:Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Its the fact that when you use points to purchase a Autarch, it says his unit composition is 1. You can't add any more members to the Autarch "unit", so he/she is always a unit that composes of 1 model. For a Riptide, you can add the Drones, so it is not always a unit that composes of a single model. Lucarikx
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/04 18:42:24
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/04 18:48:46
Subject: Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok, I understand the autarch part now. But what about the legality of a Farseer and the Mantle being joined by a second farseer or an allied IC?
|
2012 Atlanta Tournament Circuit - 1st |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/04 18:50:07
Subject: Re:Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Sadistic Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
Same problem.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/04 18:51:53
Subject: Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Starless Night wrote:Ok, I understand the autarch part now. But what about the legality of a Farseer and the Mantle being joined by a second farseer or an allied IC?
How many farseers are there in a unit, normally? 1. So how many models can a unit of 1 non- IC farseer ever be? 1
It is the EXACT same reason it doesnt work with the autarch.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/04 18:53:40
Subject: Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok, thanks for the help!
|
2012 Atlanta Tournament Circuit - 1st |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/05 15:42:57
Subject: Re:Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
Andover
|
Lucarikx wrote:Its the fact that when you use points to purchase a Autarch, it says his unit composition is 1. You can't add any more members to the Autarch "unit", so he/she is always a unit that composes of 1 model.
For a Riptide, you can add the Drones, so it is not always a unit that composes of a single model.
Lucarikx
I'm not sure I follow that particular line of reasoning. Doesn't a Space Marine Tactical Squad say it is composed of 5-10 models? Are you saying if I wanted to join an IC to it, I would only be able to have 9 models in the unit as I can't exceed the 5-10 ruling?
Not being argumentative, just genuinely don't understand the viewpoint here.
|
"Every man thinks meanly of himself for not having been a soldier."
(Samual Johnson, in a letter to James Boswell, 1789)
DQ:70S++G++MB++I+PW40K95#+D++A+++/sWD201R+T(D)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/05 15:50:50
Subject: Re:Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor
|
Henrythesecond wrote: Lucarikx wrote:Its the fact that when you use points to purchase a Autarch, it says his unit composition is 1. You can't add any more members to the Autarch "unit", so he/she is always a unit that composes of 1 model.
For a Riptide, you can add the Drones, so it is not always a unit that composes of a single model.
Lucarikx
I'm not sure I follow that particular line of reasoning. Doesn't a Space Marine Tactical Squad say it is composed of 5-10 models? Are you saying if I wanted to join an IC to it, I would only be able to have 9 models in the unit as I can't exceed the 5-10 ruling?
Not being argumentative, just genuinely don't understand the viewpoint here.
Not really no, The limit is that you may not join a squad that may only ever consist of a single model. In taking the mantle the Autarch/Seer becomes such a squad and therefore cannot be join. Since a Tactical starts out asa 5 man squad it is never a squad that can only contain a single model.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/05 17:09:20
Subject: Re:Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Henrythesecond wrote: Lucarikx wrote:Its the fact that when you use points to purchase a Autarch, it says his unit composition is 1. You can't add any more members to the Autarch "unit", so he/she is always a unit that composes of 1 model.
For a Riptide, you can add the Drones, so it is not always a unit that composes of a single model.
Lucarikx
I'm not sure I follow that particular line of reasoning. Doesn't a Space Marine Tactical Squad say it is composed of 5-10 models? Are you saying if I wanted to join an IC to it, I would only be able to have 9 models in the unit as I can't exceed the 5-10 ruling?
Not being argumentative, just genuinely don't understand the viewpoint here.
Have you read page 39 yet? It states you cannot join a unit with an IC, if the unit you are joining ONLY ever consists of a single model. An autarch / farseer has a unnit of 1, and loses the IC rule so cannot be joined.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/06 16:15:12
Subject: Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
What about Spirit Seer from the expansion book. Not 100% sure on the exact wording.
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/06 16:19:59
Subject: Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The special rule allows you to take 5 Spiritseers as a single FOC slot, not as a unit.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/06 16:55:26
Subject: Mantle of the Laughing god question
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Happyjew wrote:The special rule allows you to take 5 Spiritseers as a single FOC slot, not as a unit.
Alright, well that stops that
|
On Dakka he was Eldanar. In our area, he was Lee. R.I.P., Lee Guthrie. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|