Switch Theme:

Re-rolls and The Swarmlord  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator




Massachusetts

Reroll (RR). The swarmlord dictates that he makes you RR successful invulnerable saves. Certain abilities and psychic powers dictate you RR failed invulnerable saves. Which takes precedence?

1) SL causes 3 wounds, you save 2, RR those, they fail. Now you have 3 failed saves. RR failed saves per your ability, save 2. Net 1 wound.

2) SL causes 3 wounds, save 2. RR those 2 saves, both fail. 3 Wounds caused. Net, 3 wounds.

3) SL causes 3 wounds, you fail 2. RR those two per your ability, they get saved. Net, 0 wounds.

All three seem wonky. My best guess is that you decide who's ability takes precedence on the corresponding players turn.

Overwhelm the enemy with an unrelenting onslaught of the hive mind.  
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Neither. You roll your saves. Because of the Swarmlord, you reroll the ones you passed. Because of your special abilities, you reroll the ones you failed. Net result, you re-roll all the dice. Essentially they cancel, as the first roll means nothing as you'll be re-rolling them all.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




You never re roll a re roll.

If you want to make it easy just have them cancel each other out.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Neither takes precedence. Basically you roll the dice, pick them all up and roll again. You don't wait to see if a roll is a failure/success since you can not reroll a dice more than once anyway.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator




Massachusetts

So, essentially, cause three wounds. Roll saves, ignore all results. Roll saves again, accept secondary results.

Overwhelm the enemy with an unrelenting onslaught of the hive mind.  
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Mike94656 wrote:
So, essentially, cause three wounds. Roll saves, ignore all results. Roll saves again, accept secondary results.


Exactly.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Mike94656 wrote:
So, essentially, cause three wounds. Roll saves, ignore all results. Roll saves again, accept secondary results.


The RAW says exactly this.

To save time most people discuss it with their opponents beforehand and come to the agreement that the first roll is the re-roll as the first roll will all have to be re-rolled anyway. Net effect roll once accept results.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle



where i want to be

I was wondering how this would interact with Fateweavers staff of Tomorrow. The staff lets him re-roll once dice per turn and if it is used to re-roll a single dice from a batch the other dice in the batch can't be re-rolled.
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





deviant cadaver wrote:
I was wondering how this would interact with Fateweavers staff of Tomorrow. The staff lets him re-roll once dice per turn and if it is used to re-roll a single dice from a batch the other dice in the batch can't be re-rolled.


The Staff of Tomorrow makes it so all the other dice can't be re-rolled? Can you double check that?
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

The Staff of tomorrow prevents you from rerolling the other dice in a something like a 3d6 roll, it doesn't stop you from rerolling other wounds, because they are a group of individual d6s, not an xd6 roll.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal






Halifax, NS

I thought if 2 rules would trigger simultaneously the player whose turn it is gets to choose the order they're resolved in.

So if you're Tyranid SL inflicts 3 Wounds, roll 2 Saves, enemy Model Rule triggers, Re-Roll 1 missed save. 3 Saves, now SL rule triggers, Re-roll 3 Saves

If you're not the Tyranid and its your turn SL inflicts 3 Wounds, SL model rule triggers, re-roll 2 Successful Saves, Non-Tyranid model rule triggers Re-Roll missed saves.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

disdamn wrote:
I thought if 2 rules would trigger simultaneously the player whose turn it is gets to choose the order they're resolved in.


You thought wrong. Re-read page 9.

So if you're Tyranid SL inflicts 3 Wounds, roll 2 Saves, enemy Model Rule triggers, Re-Roll 1 missed save. 3 Saves, now SL rule triggers, Re-roll 3 Saves

You can not re-roll a re-roll so you end up with this situation if the turn order thing were true. (It is not but for example...)

So if you're Tyranid SL inflicts 3 Wounds, roll 2 Saves on failed save.

Enemy Model Rule triggers, Re-Roll 1 missed save. Then re-roll the 2 made saves because of the SL rule as you can not re-roll a re-roll.

If you're not the Tyranid and its your turn SL inflicts 3 Wounds, SL model rule triggers, re-roll 2 Successful Saves, Non-Tyranid model rule triggers Re-Roll missed saves.


Same as above, but the numbers are a little different.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/14 11:39:13


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except for each roll, only one thing is happening: if it is failed, you reroll, and if you pass, you reroll.

You are then bound to the no rerolling a reroll rule.
   
Made in us
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle



where i want to be

 PrinceRaven wrote:
The Staff of tomorrow prevents you from rerolling the other dice in a something like a 3d6 roll, it doesn't stop you from rerolling other wounds, because they are a group of individual d6s, not an xd6 roll.


OK, I see the difference thanks for clearing that up.
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Chrysis wrote:
Neither. You roll your saves. Because of the Swarmlord, you reroll the ones you passed. Because of your special abilities, you reroll the ones you failed. Net result, you re-roll all the dice. Essentially they cancel, as the first roll means nothing as you'll be re-rolling them all.


What he said is spot on.

You cannot reroll a reroll, period. Rules give no exceptions for this even in an unusual situation like this. You would simply roll all your invuls, grab them all whether they passed o failed, and roll them again and theres the result. Since they all rerolled once already, both abilities are canceled out now.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: