| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 14:57:14
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Sorry can't make the title any more descriptive than that.
Struggling with some rules despite reading Dakka and Google searches every day. I'm new back to this for the past 9 months but was away for 3 of those. Last time i played was third. GW certainly not make this easy for us.
1. FMC when swooping. Can it be grounded by a unit who cannot hurt it due to Str4 weaponry on a Toughness 8 Iron Armed Flyrant?
I know grounded test comes once per unit fire, before rolling to wound has been made.
2. A unit falling back, can it regroup if a Synapse model moves within range, before the fleeing unit moves back?
Odd wording in the books.
3. How does the Swarmlord, TG & Prime combo work? I keep reading Iron Arm will be the majority toughness yet there would be two T6 models in the unit.
4. Do i get to choose what Psychic powers i want after i've seen an enemy's list? And can i choose Biomancy until i roll what i want then switch to Telepathy once i get Iron Arm with the Swarmlord for example?
I've been doing this but wanted to make sure this is not rule abuse and i didn't need to list Psychic on my army list that i show my opponent.
5. Implant Attack and Toxin Sacs do not work against Walkers, correct?
6. I've also read confusing stuff about Biomancy. Endurance cannot be cast on the caster, correct?
7. Broodlord. FAQ says he can't re-roll on Psychic powers if he gets Life Leech for example which he can't use. That's still correct yes?
If so, laaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmme.
Thank-you in advance!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 15:01:37
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
eskimo wrote:1. FMC when swooping. Can it be grounded by a unit who cannot hurt it due to Str4 weaponry on a Toughness 8 Iron Armed Flyrant?
I know grounded test comes once per unit fire, before rolling to wound has been made.
Yes - hits cause grounding tests with no need to wound.
2. A unit falling back, can it regroup if a Synapse model moves within range, before the fleeing unit moves back?
Odd wording in the books.
Yes, it automatically regroups because it becomes fearless.
3. How does the Swarmlord, TG & Prime combo work? I keep reading Iron Arm will be the majority toughness yet there would be two T6 models in the unit.
The Prime is T5 not T6.
4. Do i get to choose what Psychic powers i want after i've seen an enemy's list? And can i choose Biomancy until i roll what i want then switch to Telepathy once i get Iron Arm with the Swarmlord for example?
I've been doing this but wanted to make sure this is not rule abuse and i didn't need to list Psychic on my army list that i show my opponent.
You can choose to use codex or rulebook powers prior to deployment (which is usually after you see on an opponents list).
And yes - you can switch disciplines with every roll.
5. Implant Attack and Toxin Sacs do not work against Walkers, correct?
Correct.
6. I've also read confusing stuff about Biomancy. Endurance cannot be cast on the caster, correct?
Incorrect - you can cast it on any unit in range. You're in range of yourself so...
7. Broodlord. FAQ says he can't re-roll on Psychic powers if he gets Life Leech for example which he can't use. That's still correct yes?
If so, laaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmme.
Correct. And yes, it is.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 15:04:59
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
1. Yes, markerlights can ground it.
2. Yes.
3. Iron Arm makes the SL T7-9, making 3 unique toughnesses... so you use the highest for being wounded.
4. You generate powers at the start of the match, you pick a table and roll on it. You then take that power or swap for Primaris. Then repeat. Once you get Iron Arm you can go for Telepathy for Psychic Shriek for example.
5. Walkers are vehicles and require you to Penetrate armor and not wound.
6. It can be cast on any unit in range, including caster.
7. Yes. Lame. Automatically Appended Next Post: LOL, ninja'd
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/18 15:05:31
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 15:55:08
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Thanks guys.
So a Swarmlord/ TG/ Prime could essentially have toughness 9 and regain a wound back each turn and a 5++ save?!
Can FNP from Endurance work against a crash when the Flyrant crashes and suffers the str9 hit? Obviously crashing to the floor but not suffering a wound.
I think i'm going to give the Swarmy another run now
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 15:59:25
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Well, only the Swarmlord would be able to regain a wound back
FNP works against ANY non-ID causing wound.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 15:59:30
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
eskimo wrote:So a Swarmlord/ TG/ Prime could essentially have toughness 9 and regain a wound back each turn and a 5++ save?!
Where are you getting the 5++ save? And do you mean a Prime with Regen or ... ? Can FNP from Endurance work against a crash when the Flyrant crashes and suffers the str9 hit? Obviously crashing to the floor but not suffering a wound.
You can use FNP to avoid the wound, but you still will have crashed to the ground.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/18 15:59:54
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 16:17:11
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
rigeld2 wrote:eskimo wrote:So a Swarmlord/ TG/ Prime could essentially have toughness 9 and regain a wound back each turn and a 5++ save?!
Where are you getting the 5++ save? And do you mean a Prime with Regen or ... ?
Can FNP from Endurance work against a crash when the Flyrant crashes and suffers the str9 hit? Obviously crashing to the floor but not suffering a wound.
You can use FNP to avoid the wound, but you still will have crashed to the ground.
The 5++ would come from FNP from Endurance being cast from the Swarmlord onto the Swarmlord unit. And Endurance would also give It Will Not Die, so 5+ regains a would each Tyranid turn.
The Flyrant thing, yeah understood. Still a bonus since if i have Endurance but no Iron Arm on him.
Could i bestow Preferred Enemy from the Swarmlord onto the Swarmlord himself then, as above "friendly unit" includes oneself. Giving re-rolls to wound of 1.
Thanks to all those that have helped. I feel i have cheated myself out of some tricks now
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 16:18:36
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
Kelne
|
You could give the swarmlord re-rolls of 1 on both To hit and To Wound rolls,yeah
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 16:23:18
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
eskimo wrote:The 5++ would come from FNP from Endurance being cast from the Swarmlord onto the Swarmlord unit. And Endurance would also give It Will Not Die, so 5+ regains a would each Tyranid turn.
5++ is normally the denotation for an invul save, hence my confusion. And you never mentioned Endurance on them :-) but yes, it makes for a fun unit. Put the Prime in front with Regen so he has 2 chances to regain wounds.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/18 16:23:29
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 16:28:12
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
rigeld2 wrote:eskimo wrote:The 5++ would come from FNP from Endurance being cast from the Swarmlord onto the Swarmlord unit. And Endurance would also give It Will Not Die, so 5+ regains a would each Tyranid turn.
5++ is normally the denotation for an invul save, hence my confusion.
And you never mentioned Endurance on them :-) but yes, it makes for a fun unit. Put the Prime in front with Regen so he has 2 chances to regain wounds.
Ah, okay. Got it! Sorry didn't know. I just presumed ++ and FNP were interchangeable.
Double Regen out front sounds cool
I'll try it!
[edit]
With lashwhip of course
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/18 16:29:11
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 16:32:46
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
3+ armor save
4++ invul or cover save
5+++ FNP or Reanimation Protocols
This is "usually" on this board. Make sure and Look Out Sir! any STR10 wounds off to the Tyrant Guard or The Swarmlord so the Prime doesn't get IDed. Also, a Guard without a whip is a sad guard.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 16:38:31
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
rigeld2 wrote:
This is "usually" on this board. Make sure and Look Out Sir! any STR10 wounds off to the Tyrant Guard or The Swarmlord so the Prime doesn't get IDed. Also, a Guard without a whip is a sad guard.
I will have to disagree. Usually I lose my guard well before I make it to combat so I find the points are spent poorly.
I have to correct most responses on #2.
Instinctive Behavior happens before any movement. Therefore it is impossible to move a synapse node into range of a falling back unit.
However, if a falling back unit falls back into range of a synapse node, it immediately regroups at the edge of synapse and becomes fearless.
Everything else is correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/18 16:40:11
Subject: 7 (newb) Tyranid Rule Questions
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
roxor08 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
This is "usually" on this board. Make sure and Look Out Sir! any STR10 wounds off to the Tyrant Guard or The Swarmlord so the Prime doesn't get IDed. Also, a Guard without a whip is a sad guard.
I will have to disagree. Usually I lose my guard well before I make it to combat so I find the points are spent poorly.
It's 5 points for a lash whip - well worth it on this sort of deathstar.
I have to correct most responses on #2.
Instinctive Behavior happens before any movement. Therefore it is impossible to move a synapse node into range of a falling back unit.
However, if a falling back unit falls back into range of a synapse node, it immediately regroups at the edge of synapse and becomes fearless.
Everything else is correct.
Falling Back and Instinctive Behavior are completely different things. You absolutely can move a Synapse creature before a falling back unit has to move.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|