Switch Theme:

Psychic powers. do they stack?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

As a reminder, Hammerhand does not have permission to be cumulative with multiple casting in 6th edition. The only time Hammerhand did have permission to stack was at the end of 5th, due to a BRB FAQ that allowed all powers with modifiers to stack. That specific permission did not carry over to 6th as of the very first 6th edition FAQ, which did not include similar verbiage. In essence, the argument is caused by a hold over from 5th that is not adequately defined nor adequately restricted in 6th.

6th has a theme of modifiers from different abilities being cumulative, as seen in the Special Rules section and the Psychic Powers section. What is glaringly lacking is specific verbiage stating modifiers from multiple uses of the same ability from different sources yet used on the same target being cumulative. Given the nature of a permissive rule set, one side of the argument believes that unless specific permission is given, powers are not cumulative with each casting regardless of source. The other side of the argument believes sufficient permission is given via permission to resolve and the rules for applying multiple modifiers.

This would be thread #3 covering the same argument. My recommendation is that barring an FAQ or errata from GW addressing this specific issue, we each need to discuss it with our opponent in a friendly game or follow the ruling of a Tournament Organizer if in a tournament setting.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






p68 BRB "the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative".

If you're casting Hammerhand twice, you're casting the same psychic power twice. It doesn't say that the effects of identical powers are cumulative, so no, it doesn't stack.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 FlingitNow wrote:
Permission to cast twice is not permission to resolve cumulatively. Give that permission. Rather than relying on the assumption that the power is cumulative to prove the power is cumulative. How can you not see that is a logical fallacy?

It really is,

Permission to cast is permission to resolve the casted power on the target.

if you have two instances of Hammerhand you are told to apply +1 to the Str from two things.

Page 2 kicks in and we get 4+1+1=6.

But your side will never understand this.

 Tonberry7 wrote:
p68 BRB "the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative".

If you're casting Hammerhand twice, you're casting the same psychic power twice. It doesn't say that the effects of identical powers are cumulative, so no, it doesn't stack.

Classic mistake.

"Unless otherwise stated, the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative." (68) does not mean the effects of multiple of the same psychic power is not cumulative.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Tonberry7 wrote:
p68 BRB "the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative".

If you're casting Hammerhand twice, you're casting the same psychic power twice. It doesn't say that the effects of identical powers are cumulative, so no, it doesn't stack.

Classic logical fallacy called excluded middle. Try looking it up.
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

I'd say it's more denying the antecedant.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in fi
Courageous Space Marine Captain






Maybe it is an exception that proves the rule?

   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





It really is,

Permission to cast is permission to resolve the casted power on the target.

if you have two instances of Hammerhand you are told to apply +1 to the Str from two things.


it really isn't. You have two castings but you only have a single +1 modifier as the two castings aren't cumulative.

Do you not see that your argument is circular? You assume Psychic Powers are cumulative and use that to prove that psychic powers are cumulative...

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 FlingitNow wrote:
It really is,

Permission to cast is permission to resolve the casted power on the target.

if you have two instances of Hammerhand you are told to apply +1 to the Str from two things.


it really isn't. You have two castings but you only have a single +1 modifier as the two castings aren't cumulative.
Citation needed.

See now that is not true at all, you have two +1 modifiers, one from each casting of hammerhand.

What says they are not cumulative? since we have permission to cast twice and then have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each Hammerhand casting...

Do you not see that your argument is circular? You assume Psychic Powers are cumulative and use that to prove that psychic powers are cumulative...

Not circular at all. I am saying that we have permission to cast and resolve a single power on a single unit (This is backed by the rules on page 67/68). There needs to be a restriction which your side has not yet found.

We have permission to cast the psychic power (And following the rules for psychic powers that involves resolving each psychic power)

"The Psyker must now pass a Psychic test to see if he can control the power he's calling upon. A Psychic test is a Leadership test...If the test is passed, the psychic power is manifested successfully and can be resolved"(67)

We have permission to resolve each psychic power. resolving involves math, specifically a +1 Str, and since we are permitted to resolve both powers, two +1 Str's, we look at page 2 for how to handle this.

Asd your side has not found any restrictions we must assume that it does not exist and powers such as hammerhand will stack. Thank you and good day.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Citation needed.

See now that is not true at all, you have two +1 modifiers, one from each casting of hammerhand.

What says they are not cumulative? Since we have permission to cast twice and then have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each Hammerhand casting...


Permissive ruleset. You need the citation. What says I can't smash your models up with a hammer? We do not have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each casting. If we had permission for the same power to resolve cumulatively there would be no argument.

Not circular at all. I am saying that we have permission to cast and resolve a single power on a single unit (This is backed by the rules on page 67/68). There needs to be a restriction which your side has not yet found.

We have permission to cast the psychic power (And following the rules for psychic powers that involves resolving each psychic power)

"The Psyker must now pass a Psychic test to see if he can control the power he's calling upon. A Psychic test is a Leadership test...If the test is passed, the psychic power is manifested successfully and can be resolved"(67)

We have permission to resolve each psychic power. resolving involves math, specifically a +1 Str, and since we are permitted to resolve both powers, two +1 Str's, we look at page 2 for how to handle this.

Asd your side has not found any restrictions we must assume that it does not exist and powers such as hammerhand will stack. Thank you and good day.


Resolving does not in math (because that is not a thing but let's assume you actually meant Maths which is a thing) resolve involves putting the power into effect. Resolving the powers effects. Now are powers cumulative eith themselves if you have any actual rules saying they are then we have multiple modifiers name page 2 becomes relevant. Please provide permission for the same power to resolve cumulatively with itself.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 FlingitNow wrote:
Citation needed.

See now that is not true at all, you have two +1 modifiers, one from each casting of hammerhand.

What says they are not cumulative? Since we have permission to cast twice and then have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each Hammerhand casting...


Permissive ruleset. You need the citation. What says I can't smash your models up with a hammer? We do not have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each casting. If we had permission for the same power to resolve cumulatively there would be no argument.


This response is fallacious, Permissions to do the thing are cited within the quoted post; your response is "where are your permissions?" Permissions are shown and you are not supplying Specific denials to that argument.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Citation needed.

See now that is not true at all, you have two +1 modifiers, one from each casting of hammerhand.

What says they are not cumulative? Since we have permission to cast twice and then have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each Hammerhand casting...


Permissive ruleset. You need the citation. What says I can't smash your models up with a hammer? We do not have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each casting. If we had permission for the same power to resolve cumulatively there would be no argument.


This response is fallacious, Permissions to do the thing are cited within the quoted post; your response is "where are your permissions?" Permissions are shown and you are not supplying Specific denials to that argument.

Exactly what Kel said.

I have shown permission, I have cited where we are grantet permission. Permissive ruleset is on my side in this one, not yours Fling.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/23 21:42:30


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





This response is fallacious, Permissions to do the thing are cited within the quoted post; your response is "where are your permissions?" Permissions are shown and you are not supplying Specific denials to that argument.


In which case I apologise please point to the citation for the sane power to resolve cumulatively because I missed it. Page and para would be enough.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 FlingitNow wrote:
This response is fallacious, Permissions to do the thing are cited within the quoted post; your response is "where are your permissions?" Permissions are shown and you are not supplying Specific denials to that argument.


In which case I apologise please point to the citation for the sane power to resolve cumulatively because I missed it. Page and para would be enough.


You need to show a rule that restricts this, or all of these rules apply.

We have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each casting on page 67 "If the test is passed, the psychic power is manifested successfully and can be resolved"

So we know we can target a unit, take a psychic test, and if passed resolve its effects. We are also permitted to cast hammerhand again on the same target...

Right there is the citation.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





We have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each casting on page 67 "If the test is passed, the psychic power is manifested successfully and can be resolved"


Sorry I've read page 67 over and over but can't find the line that states when resolving the same psychic power more than once on a unit it is resolved cumulatively.

The power is resolved we agree. If you have multiple modifiers then you can use page 2 to prove they stack. However I'm still not seeing permission to resolve multiple instances of the samepower cumulatively. So please post that rule or concede that your circular argument doesn't hold as it is circular.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

 DeathReaper wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
This response is fallacious, Permissions to do the thing are cited within the quoted post; your response is "where are your permissions?" Permissions are shown and you are not supplying Specific denials to that argument.


In which case I apologise please point to the citation for the sane power to resolve cumulatively because I missed it. Page and para would be enough.


You need to show a rule that restricts this, or all of these rules apply.

We have permission to apply the +1 modifier from each casting on page 67 "If the test is passed, the psychic power is manifested successfully and can be resolved"

So we know we can target a unit, take a psychic test, and if passed resolve its effects. We are also permitted to cast hammerhand again on the same target...

Right there is the citation.


No, you have shown permission to apply their effects. Unless those effects are cumulative it will only apply the modifier one time.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




And modifiers are cumulative, unless told otherwise. We are told the effect is a modifier, no further pernmission is needed.

However, nothing will change in this thread to the last one, as the permission is shown over and over and over, yet this mysterious additional permission, written nowhere in any rules, and created out of thin air, is created to show that an additional step is needed.

4+1+1 = 6, as you ar told on page 2. Deny this permission, or concede.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Eternal Plague

What does everyone think the word "different" from page 68 means in a RAW context to their argument?

   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Guys, why are we arguing whether or not we have specific permission to resolve Enfeeble on an already Enfeeble'd unit when I can't even find specific permission to resolve it on a model with two arms and two legs?

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

nosferatu1001 wrote:And modifiers are cumulative, unless told otherwise. We are told the effect is a modifier, no further pernmission is needed.

However, nothing will change in this thread to the last one, as the permission is shown over and over and over, yet this mysterious additional permission, written nowhere in any rules, and created out of thin air, is created to show that an additional step is needed.

4+1+1 = 6, as you ar told on page 2. Deny this permission, or concede.


I again hesitate to speak directly about hammerhand as I lack the proper dex so if your going to continue asking me about that power in particular I'll need to know what it says exactly. The BRB does imply that some powers are permitted to stack. On that note, it may be better to discuss generalities about maledictions/blessing using a non-codex specific power with no special permissions.... like Enfeeble

Would that be an acceptable shift for you nos?

WarOne wrote:What does everyone think the word "different" from page 68 means in a RAW context to their argument?


This one took us a while but it can be pieced together from different parts of the book.

"A Psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once each turn" Pg 67, BRB- Manifesting Psychic Powers, second paragraph.
From this we can determine that different casting of the same power are the same.

"It should be noted that different Psykers in the same army can have the same psychic power(s)." Pg 418, BRB- right side, end of the second paragraph.
From this we can determine that powers of the same name possessed by different Psykers are the same.

This narrows down the options for powers to be 'different' down to powers with different names.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 PrinceRaven wrote:
Guys, why are we arguing whether or not we have specific permission to resolve Enfeeble on an already Enfeeble'd unit when I can't even find specific permission to resolve it on a model with two arms and two legs?


I just have lots of down time at my job and I'm board at work right now

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/24 03:55:06


-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

Nos you first need permission to accumulate powers before modifiers can be applied. In the case of Hammerhand the rule book tells us older codexes will have powers that are different to 6th ed powers, in this case we use thier rules. As Hammerhand has no express denial to be cumulative it may be cumulative just like it was in 5th.

As for Blessings/Maladictions they are not cumulative unless they have permission written into the powers individual rule.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 WarOne wrote:
What does everyone think the word "different" from page 68 means in a RAW context to their argument?

That, functionally, it operates purely as a reminder whenever a power ends up in a modifier , as we already have rules that state the accumulation - or the normal rules of maths, in essence - operates here.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/24 12:00:37


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





as we already have rules that state the accumulation


Citation nowhere does it state that the same power resolves cumulatively with itself.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 FlingitNow wrote:
as we already have rules that state the accumulation
Citation nowhere does it state that the same power resolves cumulatively with itself.
Maths. And the fact that the game uses it.
Stacking is just a word used to describe something that basic maths already does.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Maths. And the fact that the game uses it.


Only in certain circumstances when we have permission to use maths may we do so. Where is the permission to resolve powers cumulatively (resulting in multiple modifiers and thus making page 2 relevant).


Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu






nosferatu1001 wrote:
 Tonberry7 wrote:
p68 BRB "the effects of multiple different psychic powers are cumulative".

If you're casting Hammerhand twice, you're casting the same psychic power twice. It doesn't say that the effects of identical powers are cumulative, so no, it doesn't stack.

Classic logical fallacy called excluded middle. Try looking it up.


The only thing I need to look up are the actual rules. You should try that instead. Hammerhand is either a different power to Hammerhand, or it is not.

It isn't different, so two castings don't stack.
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 FlingitNow wrote:
Maths. And the fact that the game uses it.


Only in certain circumstances when we have permission to use maths may we do so. Where is the permission to resolve powers cumulatively (resulting in multiple modifiers and thus making page 2 relevant).

The very fact that there is a rule called "Multiple Modifiers" and not just "One Modifier".
There are rules covering the resolving of powers. There are rules for applying more than one modifier.
You're asking for permission for something that already has permission.
Will you then ask for permission for the permission? And permission for that?
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

I'm still trying to find permission to resolve maledictions on models with 4 limbs.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 PrinceRaven wrote:
I'm still trying to find permission to resolve maledictions on models with 4 limbs.
Apparently you need permission to even look for that permission.
And if you find it you then need permission to use that permission.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Tonberry7 wrote:
It isn't different, so two castings don't stack.

You're a fan of actual rules.
Cite this one.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Bausk wrote:
As for Blessings/Maladictions they are not cumulative unless they have permission written into the powers individual rule.

This is actually false.

There is no denial of permission anywhere, so if you cast a blessing or malediction twice you resolve twice and nothing says they are not cumulative, which would be needed since we already have permission.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: