Switch Theme:

Psychic Shriek question / confusion  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

In the Telepathy Psyker table the Primaris Power states.

Psychic Shriek is a witchfire power with a range of 12". Roll 3D6 and subtract the target's Leadership - the target unit suffers a number of Wounds equal to the Result. Armor and cover saves cannot be taken against Wounds caused by Psychic Shriek.

The confusion, stems from wondering if this is a simply Leadership Test on 3D6. If so and lets say you have a leadership of 8. You reoll 12 on 3D6, do you fail and thereby take 4 Wounds?

Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in no
Stealthy Grot Snipa





Yep. That's what it says.

"The Emporer is a rouge trader."
- Charlie Chaplain. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Well no it is not a " Leadership Test on 3D6"

It does exactly what it says...
"Roll 3D6 and subtract the target's Leadership - the target unit suffers a number of Wounds equal to the Result."

Ergo Roll 3d6, get a 15, units LD is 8 so 15 - 8 = 7

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle



where i want to be

While we are on the topic, Do you have to roll to hit with psychic shriek, because it is a witchfire?
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

I have been rolling to hit as normal.. I would assume so as it is a Witchfire, which is why I have been rolling to hit all this time

Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

deviant cadaver wrote:
While we are on the topic, Do you have to roll to hit with psychic shriek, because it is a witchfire?

Well it requires a roll to hit but it does not have a profile to tell us how many dice to roll to hit.

"Manifesting a Witchfire counts as firing an Assault weapon" (69)

The primary effect of rolling to hit with an assault weapon is the possibility of generating wounds off of a successful hit, as per the Shooting section.

The 3D6 test is not tied to the roll to hit at all.

Ergo you do not need to roll to hit with Psychic shriek.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/13 17:48:36


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

Well then... That's always nice to hear lol

Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

deviant cadaver wrote:
While we are on the topic, Do you have to roll to hit with psychic shriek, because it is a witchfire?


Yes, but we don't know how many dice we have to roll or what happens when you miss.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






There's a long thread on the same issues already, safe to say not everyone agrees that the lack of a profile stops your from having to roll to hit.

Ergo, discuss it in your group rather than the internet.

EDIT:
Found it -> http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/555787.page

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/12/11 10:56:10


Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not everyone agrees, but only one side was able to show that the rules are functionally broken, and that therefore a suitable compromise is to not to roll to hit, as nothing within the rules for the power state what happens if you miss - technically even if you assume a single dice is used, if you "miss" you still resolve the power, as only to-wound rolls require a to-hit, using the actual written rules.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Not everyone agrees, but only one side was able to show that the rules are functionally broken, and that therefore a suitable compromise is to not to roll to hit, as nothing within the rules for the power state what happens if you miss - technically even if you assume a single dice is used, if you "miss" you still resolve the power, as only to-wound rolls require a to-hit, using the actual written rules.

And that is an assumption, not a conclusion, as the previous thread shows. Nothing was proven by either side despite multiple logic chains linking specific rules. End the end, talk to your opponent or follow the TO's ruling.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




J - no, it was a conclusion. The only rules stating a requirement on to-hit are to-wound. Unless you are assuming that the 3D6-Ld is a roll to-wound - which is a poor assumption, as the roll to-wound is very well defined - then there is simply no requirement to actually hit, EVEN IF you decide to roll only a single dice, instead of the "undefined" number of dice you should roll

This was proven in the previous thread, beyond reasonable argument.
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

This is YMDC, arguments don't have to be reasonable.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Oh indeed they dont have to be reasonable - the point was that the broken nature of the rules (you are *required* to have a profile to know the number of shots, and no profile is given = game halts) was proven to all but those who chose to pretend that the most specific rules dont apply - "because". There was never a good, rules based reason, jutst "because".
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Just stating something was proven in no way actually proves anything, which was well documented in the linked thread. Baring an FAQ or errata from GW, which I doubt will occur since GW "discovered" ePublications, the issue in question will remain unresolved until 7th (if even then).

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




100% RAW the power doesn't work, we will never know how many dice to roll and we know we must roll.

Nos and everyone else are arguing RAI or HIWPI.

I've been playing roll 1 dice as it is one power.

I kinda thought about saying, well even if I "MISS" the power still effects you, then I had someone try and do it to me in a tournament earlier this month. 3D6 People, and this guy picks up his dice, rolls a 2 and said on "Dakka" the rules guys had decided that rolling to hit doesn't effect the outcome of me having to roll the 3D6.

I smile and rolled the 3D6, I rolled a 14 and then asked Jim what the leadership was on his unit which was closer then my unit to the one cast the actual power. He laughed and asked "What?" I said well Jimmy boy if you decided that the MISS you rolled was invalid to the result of the power then I wonder how you even target my models, is there not just as much as a chance that you've now randomly targeted something else on the board?

He got a little steamed so we called over the the TO.

The TO asked what he rolled on the required "TO HIT" roll, we told him a 2 with his BS of 4.

The TO explained to Jim that the BS table on the back shows that as a MISS, Jim explained that was only for wounds. The TO asked if he wanted to do something other then "wound" my models? Jim said no, but that isn't the point.

The TO shook his head.

The TO said he had missed, and walked away.

Personally I'd have been fine allowing him to use a power he RAW can't use as long as understood his roll "TO HIT" actually counted as if he was rolling "TO HIT".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/12/11 21:48:52


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Stormbreed wrote:
100% RAW the power doesn't work, we will never know how many dice to roll and we know we must roll.

Nos and everyone else are arguing RAI or HIWPI.

Not 100% true.

The RAW side is stating that the roll to hit is not tied to the 3d6-LD check as it circumvents the normal way of the 'To Hit - To Wound' mechanic.

So RAW we need to roll to hit but do not know how many dice to roll. Also RAW the effect is not dependent on a successful roll to hit so it can be ignored.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/11 21:05:30


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
Stormbreed wrote:
100% RAW the power doesn't work, we will never know how many dice to roll and we know we must roll.

Nos and everyone else are arguing RAI or HIWPI.

Not 100% true.

The RAW side is stating that the roll to hit is not tied to the 3d6-LD check as it circumvents the normal way of the 'To Hit - To Wound' mechanic.

So RAW we need to roll to hit but do not know how many dice to roll. Also RAW the effect is not dependent on a successful roll to hit so it can be ignored.


You can't make it to that point without first rolling to hit. So before anything else we have to roll to hit, we need to know how many dice, if we don't know, we can't roll, thus if we do, we're breaking RAW.

What happens afterwards doesn't matter as you can't use the power.

Although I do find your arguments in regards to the "HIt" or "MISS" not meaning anything interesting and will tell you that our local GW employee house ruled there was no need to roll to hit with this power.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/12/11 23:45:06


 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

^ My case in point.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






if the power wasnt a witch fire, you wouldnt have to roll to hit...

it is, so you do, when you hit, the effects of the power are applied, when you miss, they are not...

that is OBS RAI, and it is also RAW

pretending a mandatory to hit roll is meaningless, is a house rule... trying to add confusion where there is none regarding how many "shots" you have to define the power for is just that... adding confusion where there is none, you roll to hit, you roll to see how many wounds the power causes using the powers rules.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




In other words, go read that other thread that went 16 pages, before we do it again.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 easysauce wrote:
it is, so you do, when you hit, the effects of the power are applied, when you miss, they are not...

that is OBS RAI, and it is also RAW

pretending a mandatory to hit roll is meaningless, is a house rule... trying to add confusion where there is none regarding how many "shots" you have to define the power for is just that... adding confusion where there is none, you roll to hit, you roll to see how many wounds the power causes using the powers rules.

This is incorrect.

Nothing ties in a successful to hit roll with the effects of PS.

Similar to Murderous Hurricane, PS can effect a unit even if you miss the To Hit roll every witchfire is supposed to have (Not that we know how many dice to roll to hit, but it is irrelevant anyway as the 3d6-LD check is not dependent on a successful roll to hit).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
 easysauce wrote:
it is, so you do, when you hit, the effects of the power are applied, when you miss, they are not...

that is OBS RAI, and it is also RAW

pretending a mandatory to hit roll is meaningless, is a house rule... trying to add confusion where there is none regarding how many "shots" you have to define the power for is just that... adding confusion where there is none, you roll to hit, you roll to see how many wounds the power causes using the powers rules.

This is incorrect.

Nothing ties in a successful to hit roll with the effects of PS.

Similar to Murderous Hurricane, PS can effect a unit even if you miss the To Hit roll every witchfire is supposed to have (Not that we know how many dice to roll to hit, but it is irrelevant anyway as the 3d6-LD check is not dependent on a successful roll to hit).


As above: easy stop claiming RAW when there is no such rule stating such.

The ONLY time a to-hit roll must be successful, in the rules, is when you are then rolling to-wound. If you disagree - which you do - then follow the tenets and actually support yoru assertion with rules. Page, paragraph and EXACT citation. You cannot do this, as you failed to do so in the previous thread, I just want to make it clear to others that holes in your argument.

J - no, it was proven. RAW, you MUST have a profile in order to shoot an assault weapon - indisputable. IF you do not have a profile, you CANNOT fire that assault weapon, as you do not know the number of shots you must fire - again, indisputable.

PS does not have a profile. Game halts.

Your disagreement, which isnt based (again) on any actual rules - just "dont use the most specific rules just because", is irrelevant to this.

RAW PS is a broken power; however luckily the broken part - how many dice you roll - is entirely irrelevant to the rules stating you resolve the psychic power according to its entry, and as its entry isnt a to-wound roll of any form (it causes wounds; it isnt a to-wound roll. These are two different concepts) resolving the 3D6 effect has no dependency on the to-hit roll

Now you know all this, so your continual denial of the rules is disingenuous at best.
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 easysauce wrote:
it is, so you do, when you hit, the effects of the power are applied, when you miss, they are not...

that is OBS RAI, and it is also RAW

pretending a mandatory to hit roll is meaningless, is a house rule... trying to add confusion where there is none regarding how many "shots" you have to define the power for is just that... adding confusion where there is none, you roll to hit, you roll to see how many wounds the power causes using the powers rules.

This is incorrect.

Nothing ties in a successful to hit roll with the effects of PS.

Similar to Murderous Hurricane, PS can effect a unit even if you miss the To Hit roll every witchfire is supposed to have (Not that we know how many dice to roll to hit, but it is irrelevant anyway as the 3d6-LD check is not dependent on a successful roll to hit).


As above: easy stop claiming RAW when there is no such rule stating such.

The ONLY time a to-hit roll must be successful, in the rules, is when you are then rolling to-wound. If you disagree - which you do - then follow the tenets and actually support yoru assertion with rules. Page, paragraph and EXACT citation. You cannot do this, as you failed to do so in the previous thread, I just want to make it clear to others that holes in your argument.

J - no, it was proven. RAW, you MUST have a profile in order to shoot an assault weapon - indisputable. IF you do not have a profile, you CANNOT fire that assault weapon, as you do not know the number of shots you must fire - again, indisputable.

PS does not have a profile. Game halts.

Your disagreement, which isnt based (again) on any actual rules - just "dont use the most specific rules just because", is irrelevant to this.

RAW PS is a broken power; however luckily the broken part - how many dice you roll - is entirely irrelevant to the rules stating you resolve the psychic power according to its entry, and as its entry isnt a to-wound roll of any form (it causes wounds; it isnt a to-wound roll. These are two different concepts) resolving the 3D6 effect has no dependency on the to-hit roll

Now you know all this, so your continual denial of the rules is disingenuous at best.


Long paragraph, but it isn't disingenuous. You're trying to cause wounds to your target.

There won't be one TO or House Rule that enforces a roll to hit that doesnt matter.

It's either gonna be roll to hit or don't bother. It will never be roll to hit and disregard the roll.
   
Made in gb
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




Ahhhhhhh this again???????
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Stormbreed wrote:
Long paragraph, but it isn't disingenuous. You're trying to cause wounds to your target.

You're trying to equate a to wound roll with the PS leadership test?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Nos, you failed to support your claim in the previous thread. I cited and quoted the exact rules for how Psychic Shriek requires a single roll of 1d6 for To Hit in order for the Wounding effect to then take place. You on the other hand, as always, break the tenets by handwaving your opponent's argument as "wrong" without posting an actual counter argument. Your inability to post a rules supported counter argument is the main reason these threads go 16+ pages of circular bickering.

Your entire argument is that a single FAQ for the Space Wolf codex about a specific Space Wolf psychic power overrides the general rules in the BRB regarding any Witchfire power that lacks a shooting profile. You further state that Psychic Shriek requires a shooting profile in order to work, therefore you can "legally" ignore the required To Hit roll.

The argument you disagree with is that the BRB per RAW tells us we roll 1d6 per attack, we have 1 attack unless otherwise noted, following Assault Weapon rules allows the ability to be used after moving yet does not prevent charging, and Psychic Shriek in no way tells us to step any of those points. No profile is required, because all the information we need to use the ability is listed.

16+ pages of you stating your opposition is wrong without you proving it, per the tenets, with rules. 16+ pages of you claiming your opposition's RAW based argument, which causes no hiccups in the rules, is wrong because you think ignoring RAW is the "correct" way to play it.

Do we need 16 more pages of that nonsense?

Simple answer is: talk to your opponent or follow the TO's ruling. Rolling 1d6 to hit with a miss stopping the attack does not break the game; however, ignoring the to hit roll does break the game. If you agree in your game to skip the to hit roll, that is a house-rule, which is perfectly fine for your game.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
Stormbreed wrote:
Long paragraph, but it isn't disingenuous. You're trying to cause wounds to your target.

You're trying to equate a to wound roll with the PS leadership test?


Am not trying, the power reads the 3D6 leadership test can cause wounds with no armour or cover saves.

It's simple. Ask yourself are you trying to cause wounds. Like when you roll to hit. Which RAW you must do.

I'm not saying its a set in stone thing but I'm saying people linking the wounds to hitting will never have the ruling go that way.

It will always be. You don't need to roll. Or you do. Never you do need to roll but it doesn't matter.
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Stormbreed wrote:
It will always be. You don't need to roll. Or you do. Never you do need to roll but it doesn't matter.


A Fortuned Eldar and the Swarmlord walk into a bar combat...

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




 PrinceRaven wrote:
Stormbreed wrote:
It will always be. You don't need to roll. Or you do. Never you do need to roll but it doesn't matter.


A Fortuned Eldar and the Swarmlord walk into a bar combat...


Either talk before hand to just accept the rolls. Or. Re roll the fails and successful rolls as the rules require knowing you can't reroll a reroll.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: