Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 22:22:36
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor
|
If a librarian arrives by ds, can he manifest powers that are cast at the start of his movement phase? I think he can though confirmation would be appreciated.
Cheers
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 22:58:44
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No he cannot. He can use Witchfires in the shooting phase though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 23:50:47
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
He can, however, have blessings cast on him after he has arrived, so long as the caster has not also arrived from reserves that turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/14 00:11:05
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Guarded Grey Knight Terminator
|
For the record, core rulebook, page 67, 1st column, 3 paragraph.
|
One unbreakable shield against the coming darkness, One last blade forged in defiance of fate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/14 05:03:48
Subject: Re:using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Is it time for this thread again already?
"On a turn that a psyker arrives from reserve (see page 124) he cannot attempt to manifest any psychic powers that must be manifested at the start of the Movement phase." - BRB, page 67.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/14 11:28:01
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor
|
Thanks all, much appreciated. I'd been going through the rule book all week and just couldn't find the damn thing lol.
@PrinceRaven, hope my asking a question didn't keep you up all night crying. Thanks for your help.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 00:24:00
Subject: Re:using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
The one exception I've found on this topic is GOI. This requires the unit to have either a mastery level 2 or greater psyker or more than one psyker so that the unit can use more than one power per turn. The unit starts the turn on the board and uses GOI to DS somewhere else on the battlefield. A second blessing or a malediction could then be used by that same unit.
The prohibition for using those powers is for psykers coming in from reserves, not for psykers that DS. Usually the two are hand in hand but as can be seen by GOI, that is not always the case.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 04:22:39
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
No. Deep striking is movement. You must cast before movement...
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 05:02:15
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
No, deep Striking is part of entering from reserves which is done at the start of the turn at the same time as psychic powers which means you get to choose which you do first and is verified by the BRB FAQ
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/15 05:03:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 05:07:37
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Oh? Well to resolve GOI you must DS. As GOI is a blessing and you can use blessings/maledictions in any order you choose it seems that statement is incorrect.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 05:20:07
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It's almost like you made a statement with no supporting evidence...
Oh. You did. An incorrect statement as the post you responded to included all the information you needed to verify it.
Oops.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 08:38:16
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor
|
Feeeel the internet rage, it's so palpable! I'm off to warhammer world today, will ask them and post the results back here later tonight.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 12:57:34
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
kitch102 wrote:Feeeel the internet rage, it's so palpable! I'm off to warhammer world today, will ask them and post the results back here later tonight.
Don't bother. Tenet 2.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 19:46:40
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor
|
Tenet 2?
Either way, the staff at WW say they can as arriving from reserve happens before movement. Casting in the movement phase does not constitute movement so he's not breaking any rules by doing so.
That's what they said anyway. As it happens the powers that I cast had no effect in game anyway, so whether it was right of wrong to do so, no one lost out by my using it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 19:56:39
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Read the sticky at the top.
Simply put, events staff have a fairly poor understanding of rules. Reserves is set the start of the movement phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/15 19:57:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 16:12:39
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Bojazz wrote:He can, however, have blessings cast on him after he has arrived, so long as the caster has not also arrived from reserves that turn.
Is this the accepted way most of us are playing this now? I was doing a small bit of research on this prior to reading this thread and it seemed to still be hotly debated (even after the BRB FAQ).
I personally agree with the above quote, btw.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 16:15:37
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Voidwraith wrote:Bojazz wrote:He can, however, have blessings cast on him after he has arrived, so long as the caster has not also arrived from reserves that turn.
Is this the accepted way most of us are playing this now? I was doing a small bit of research on this prior to reading this thread and it seemed to still be hotly debated (even after the BRB FAQ).
I personally agree with the above quote, btw.
What debate can there be? The rules are pretty explicit on this one.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 16:25:05
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
rigeld2 wrote: Voidwraith wrote:Bojazz wrote:He can, however, have blessings cast on him after he has arrived, so long as the caster has not also arrived from reserves that turn.
Is this the accepted way most of us are playing this now? I was doing a small bit of research on this prior to reading this thread and it seemed to still be hotly debated (even after the BRB FAQ).
I personally agree with the above quote, btw.
What debate can there be? The rules are pretty explicit on this one.
You're right. I asked this question because I DIDN'T find multiple threads arguing about this topic when I did a google search.
/sarcasm off
I spelled out how I felt, which is in agreement with the above poster, who I'm hoping speaks for most of the planet nowadays (the posts were more in time with the arrival of the FAQ regarding all of this). I was just looking for clarification of a rule on a forum that specifically talks about rules. Silly me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 16:29:04
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Voidwraith wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Voidwraith wrote:Bojazz wrote:He can, however, have blessings cast on him after he has arrived, so long as the caster has not also arrived from reserves that turn.
Is this the accepted way most of us are playing this now? I was doing a small bit of research on this prior to reading this thread and it seemed to still be hotly debated (even after the BRB FAQ).
I personally agree with the above quote, btw.
What debate can there be? The rules are pretty explicit on this one.
You're right. I asked this question because I DIDN'T find multiple threads arguing about this topic when I did a google search.
/sarcasm off
I spelled out how I felt, which is in agreement with the above poster, who I'm hoping speaks for most of the planet nowadays (the posts were more in time with the arrival of the FAQ regarding all of this). I was just looking for clarification of a rule on a forum that specifically talks about rules. Silly me.
Almost all of those threads are actually arguing what this thread was asking about and are misinterpreting the FAQ to think it was applying to that situation.
Their is no question about it. The FAQ is very clear about it. If people disagree it is only because they are stupid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 18:33:23
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor
|
There are other threads talking about this thread? God, have I created a monster?!
Anyway back ot, I spoke to my flgs manager today, not saying what I'd been told at WW, and was told the complete opposite; a librarian can not cast blessings or maledictions, if they are cast in the movement phase, on the turn that he arrives from reserves. In much the same way as a locator beacon cannot be used in the same turn that it arrives, both essentially need a turn to "activate" or power up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 23:59:28
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
kitch102 wrote:There are other threads talking about this thread? God, have I created a monster?!
Anyway back ot, I spoke to my flgs manager today, not saying what I'd been told at WW, and was told the complete opposite; a librarian can not cast blessings or maledictions, if they are cast in the movement phase, on the turn that he arrives from reserves. In much the same way as a locator beacon cannot be used in the same turn that it arrives, both essentially need a turn to "activate" or power up.
This is true, a psyker cannot use a blessing/malediction on the turn it arrives from reserve. That is not the question in the title though. The question is can a psyker use use powers the same turn it Deep Strikes?
Deep Striking does not always mean the unit is coming in from reserve and it itself does not prohibit the use of any powers.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/22 01:49:09
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Actually, that WAS the question. He asked if he could use powers in the turn the librarian ARRIVES by deep strike.
The GOI reference (the only deep strike NOT from reserves possible) was only brought up later to highlight an exception.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/22 02:37:24
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Bojazz wrote:Actually, that WAS the question. He asked if he could use powers in the turn the librarian ARRIVES by deep strike.
The GOI reference (the only deep strike NOT from reserves possible) was only brought up later to highlight an exception.
Arriving from reserves is a specific game mechanic found on page 124 of the BRB. Arriving by Deep Strike is part of the DS rules on page 36 of the BRB. You cannot DS without arriving by DS. While 'from reseves' could be assumed and was likely the intent I just wanted to be clear as it was not specified.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/22 02:37:46
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/22 07:46:58
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You cannot cast powers if you just arrived on the board, or if you just came in from reserve you cannot have powers cast on you. Via BRB pg 67 and FAQ.
It only says, reserve ROLLS and psychic powers happen at the same time, so you choose first if it is your turn, which it will be seeing as you're coming in from reserve.
They had to do that in the case of the grey knights psychic communion Automatically Appended Next Post: Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/22 07:49:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/22 07:49:46
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Ub3rb3n wrote:You cannot cast powers if you just arrived on the board, or if you just came in from reserve you cannot have powers cast on you. Via BRB pg 67 and FAQ.
It only says, reserve ROLLS and psychic powers happen at the same time, so you choose first if it is your turn, which it will be seeing as you're coming in from reserve.
They had to do that in the case of the grey knights psychic communion
Except moving on is simultaneous with reserve rolls. Via the FAQ. So yes, you can be buffed the turn you arrive on the board.
Edit: this is because the FAQ makes Outflank rolls (made when you move on) simultaneous with Reserve rolls and with casting powers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/22 07:50:40
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/22 07:54:28
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Ub3rb3n wrote:You cannot cast powers if you just arrived on the board, or if you just came in from reserve you cannot have powers cast on you. Via BRB pg 67 and FAQ.
It only says, reserve ROLLS and psychic powers happen at the same time, so you choose first if it is your turn, which it will be seeing as you're coming in from reserve.
They had to do that in the case of the grey knights psychic communion
Except moving on is simultaneous with reserve rolls. Via the FAQ. So yes, you can be buffed the turn you arrive on the board.
Edit: this is because the FAQ makes Outflank rolls (made when you move on) simultaneous with Reserve rolls and with casting powers.
can you link that they are simultaneous as reserve rolls because I don't think that is correct.
It goes:
Reserve rolls or powers
then movements
so coming in from reserve and regular movement
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/22 07:57:28
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Ub3rb3n wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Ub3rb3n wrote:You cannot cast powers if you just arrived on the board, or if you just came in from reserve you cannot have powers cast on you. Via BRB pg 67 and FAQ.
It only says, reserve ROLLS and psychic powers happen at the same time, so you choose first if it is your turn, which it will be seeing as you're coming in from reserve.
They had to do that in the case of the grey knights psychic communion
Except moving on is simultaneous with reserve rolls. Via the FAQ. So yes, you can be buffed the turn you arrive on the board.
Edit: this is because the FAQ makes Outflank rolls (made when you move on) simultaneous with Reserve rolls and with casting powers.
can you link that they are simultaneous as reserve rolls because I don't think that is correct.
It goes:
Reserve rolls or powers
then movements
so coming in from reserve and regular movement
You quoted it in that FAQ. It says that powers, reserve rolls, and outflank rolls are simultaneous.
We know that outflank rolls are made when a unit moves onto the board. P40.
Therefore you can choose to move models onto the board prior to casting powers.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/22 07:58:33
Subject: Re:using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Psychic powers are simultaneous with outflanking rolls, per the FAQ.
Outflanking rolls are made when the unit arrives on the board, per page 40 of the rulebook.
Following that logic, we may choose to have units arrive on the board before manifesting psychic powers, as they are all considered simultaneous.
EDIT:  Ninja'd
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/12/22 07:59:28
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/22 14:58:50
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Ub3rb3n wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Ub3rb3n wrote:You cannot cast powers if you just arrived on the board, or if you just came in from reserve you cannot have powers cast on you. Via BRB pg 67 and FAQ.
It only says, reserve ROLLS and psychic powers happen at the same time, so you choose first if it is your turn, which it will be seeing as you're coming in from reserve.
They had to do that in the case of the grey knights psychic communion
Except moving on is simultaneous with reserve rolls. Via the FAQ. So yes, you can be buffed the turn you arrive on the board.
Edit: this is because the FAQ makes Outflank rolls (made when you move on) simultaneous with Reserve rolls and with casting powers.
can you link that they are simultaneous as reserve rolls because I don't think that is correct.
It goes:
Reserve rolls or powers
then movements
so coming in from reserve and regular movement
Everything that occurs before 'regular movement' would be considered as happening at the start of the turn/Movement phase. Since the rulebook clearly states that units arriving from reserve make their moves before other units on the board may move normally it is clear that this movement occurs at the start of the turn/Movement phase.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/23 05:50:25
Subject: using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ghaz wrote:Ub3rb3n wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Ub3rb3n wrote:You cannot cast powers if you just arrived on the board, or if you just came in from reserve you cannot have powers cast on you. Via BRB pg 67 and FAQ.
It only says, reserve ROLLS and psychic powers happen at the same time, so you choose first if it is your turn, which it will be seeing as you're coming in from reserve.
They had to do that in the case of the grey knights psychic communion
Except moving on is simultaneous with reserve rolls. Via the FAQ. So yes, you can be buffed the turn you arrive on the board.
Edit: this is because the FAQ makes Outflank rolls (made when you move on) simultaneous with Reserve rolls and with casting powers.
can you link that they are simultaneous as reserve rolls because I don't think that is correct.
It goes:
Reserve rolls or powers
then movements
so coming in from reserve and regular movement
Everything that occurs before 'regular movement' would be considered as happening at the start of the turn/Movement phase. Since the rulebook clearly states that units arriving from reserve make their moves before other units on the board may move normally it is clear that this movement occurs at the start of the turn/Movement phase.
well no, because it says to do ALL your reserve rolls first, then start moving them on the table one by one, and then move your units that were already on the board. So reserve rolls and movement of reserves onto the table are not at the same time. page 120 BRB "At the start of turn 2, you must roll a D6 for each unit being held in reserves..." then it says "when reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table below..."
|
|
 |
 |
|