Switch Theme:

using psychic powers after arriving by deep strike?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





Except the FAQ proves that they are at the same time.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Yes, because page 124 says after the units have arrived from reserve and moved onto the table, "... the player can then proceed to move his other units as normal." So please support your clams that units that move on from reserve are not moving at the start of the turn/Movement phase when the rules clearly state that they do so before 'normal' movement which is all that the rules for the Movement phase covers.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




it says the player can then proceed to move the other units as normal, all it is saying is that the reserves move first before normal units. reserve rolls and reserves coming in are not happening at the same time, however reserve rolls and psychic tests are.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
how does a unit coming in from reserve happen at the same time as it is being rolled for.



Automatically Appended Next Post:
it also doesn't say that the unit immediately moves onto the board as soon as you finish the reserve roll.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/12/23 07:20:49


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Outflank rolls (the roll to determine sides) is done when moving models on.
Rolling for reserves is simultaneous with the outflank rolls.
Casting psychic powers is simultaneous with rolling for reserves.

The FAQ spells that out.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
Outflank rolls (the roll to determine sides) is done when moving models on.
Rolling for reserves is simultaneous with the outflank rolls.
Casting psychic powers is simultaneous with rolling for reserves.

The FAQ spells that out.


you guys are all saying this mumbo jump but just twisting it, for outflanking is it says they move on the board as other reserves. so it is the same process as in reserve rolls/psychic powers then movements
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wrong. The rules state you roll for which side outflanking units turn up on as they move on. You roll, move unit A on, then roll and move unit B on

If your claim that moving on is after the start were true, then the roll for unit B would also not be at the start of the movement phase, which directly contradicts the FAQ. Your argument is disproven

Do a search on this, it has been explained many times before
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Ub3rb3n wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Outflank rolls (the roll to determine sides) is done when moving models on.
Rolling for reserves is simultaneous with the outflank rolls.
Casting psychic powers is simultaneous with rolling for reserves.

The FAQ spells that out.


you guys are all saying this mumbo jump but just twisting it, for outflanking is it says they move on the board as other reserves. so it is the same process as in reserve rolls/psychic powers then movements

p40 wrote:When an Outflanking unit arrives from Reserves, but not Ongoing Reserve,

You make the Outflank roll when a unit arrives from Reserve. When does a unit arrive from Reserve?
p124 wrote: If the roll is a 3 or more, that unit arrives this turn.

We know that these rolls are simultaneous.
What happens when a unit arrives?
p124 wrote:When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one ofthe units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below.

So a unit deploys when it arrives. And an outflank roll is made when the unit arrives. And we know that reserve rolls are simultaneous with outflank rolls. Therefore deploying the unit (done when Reserves arrive) is simultaneous with the reserve and outflank roll, and also simultaneous with Psychic powers.

No mumbo jumbo or twisting anything - just actual rules.
Please cite rules support for your stance.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Just because the book states a sequence the events are handled in, does not mean they are not simultaneous. Like a unit firing bolters, a flamer and a blast weapon. All those need to be handled in some order but are considered to occur at the same time. Likewise rolling for reserves, rolling for outflank, moving onto the board and arriving from reserves via Deep Strike all happen at the same time.

Sequential in reality but simultaneous for rules purposes.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: