| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 08:42:41
Subject: Runic items
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The rulebook states that a Dwarf Lord "May choose runic items...with a maximum total value of 125 points."
I was interpreting this as 'a maximum combined total value of 125 points', but it occurs to me that as written in the english language, it could also mean that each separate item could be up to 125 points.
That would make the Dwarf Lord ridiculously good of course and I assume it doesn't work that way. Am I correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 09:36:38
Subject: Runic items
|
 |
Sinister Shapeshifter
The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.
|
No. A combined total is the total cost of each items combined.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 10:05:15
Subject: Runic items
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
That's my point, the wording doesn't say 'combined'. Though it's pretty clear the limit isn't meant to apply per magic item.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 13:32:36
Subject: Re:Runic items
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
That pesky word "total" messes with your nefarious schemes.
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 15:38:23
Subject: Runic items
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You dont generally "total" single items
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 21:26:59
Subject: Runic items
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I agree, not generally. You could definitely 'total' a runic item though, since it is made up of 1-3 components with their own cost.
FWIW I know the RAI is 'you have 125 points to spend on runic items'. RAW is not quite as clear cut.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/16 21:27:23
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 22:08:26
Subject: Runic items
|
 |
Sinister Shapeshifter
The Lair of Vengeance....Poole.
|
Throwback wrote: I agree, not generally. You could definitely 'total' a runic item though, since it is made up of 1-3 components with their own cost. FWIW I know the RAI is 'you have 125 points to spend on runic items'. RAW is not quite as clear cut. Plus a total is the sum of x number of items. Not x number of items which may be up to value y.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/16 22:08:40
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 22:28:08
Subject: Runic items
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Chaos Knight
Edinburgh, Scotland
|
No space in RAW for anything - the total belongs to the Lord, since he is choosing it. You would need an extra word to give ownership of "total" to the runic items; each totalling 125 for example.
|
Nite |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/17 01:22:04
Subject: Runic items
|
 |
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte
Just outside the gates of hell
|
Um....Wow...
|
Dissent is not disloyalty.
Everyone is a genius, but if you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree it will spend its whole life thinking it is stupid.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/17 11:34:41
Subject: Runic items
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
thedarkavenger wrote:
Plus a total is the sum of x number of items. Not x number of items which may be up to value y.
Did you meant to word your sentence as 'total is the sum of x number of magic items'? Because if you did you are making stuff up. Where does it say that?
Or, were you referring to 'items' as in any ambiguous thing which you choose to call an item? Because in that case I could argue that a rune is an 'item'.
Again, I know how the rule works and I'm not trying to overturn it or anything. I'm well aware I am wasting my own time and everyone elses
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|