Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 04:18:11
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
So I had an interesting experience today wanted to confirm that I played this right.
So I blow up a Stompa thanks to warscythes, however since we attacked at the same time he killed me with his stomp attack and big sword. So since I died before the explosion occurred I still get my ever-living correct?
I know that his chain sword is a D-weapon, but there were only 2 wounds and I had 4 IC's.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 05:01:00
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
You make not make Ever Living "saves" (or whatever they're called) against D weapons. This is because the D weapon rules calls out things "such as Feel No Pain and Reanimation Protocols." Since Everliving is like RP, then you can't do it.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 05:27:12
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker
|
No saving throws of any kind are allowed against
damage from a Destroyer weapon, including special rolls such as Feel No Pain or Necron Reanimation Protocols.
So no any special rules that can save the model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 06:29:47
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Darog wrote:No saving throws of any kind are allowed against
damage from a Destroyer weapon, including special rolls such as Feel No Pain or Necron Reanimation Protocols.
So no any special rules that can save the model.
That is the thing, I died before the D-weapon explosion, not from it.
I know there are no saves allowed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 07:05:21
Subject: Re:Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Aren't the Stompa's close combat attacks Strength D?
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 07:11:22
Subject: Re:Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
With the big chain arm thing yes, but not the 3 stomp attacks that it gets
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 07:16:00
Subject: Re:Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
ICME wrote:
With the big chain arm thing yes, but not the 3 stomp attacks that it gets
Then if the model died to the stomp attacks you'd still be able to make the Everliving roll.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/21 07:26:02
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
you need to keep the D attacks and the STOMP attacks separate as you would a force weapon or different AP's
models that only suffer the stomp thing get/or dont get whatever saves or rules allowed by the stomp attacks,
and the D stuff will just go poof in another wound pool
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/26 03:17:52
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
If the explosion killed you with the "D" portion of the blast, then no.
If he rolled a "6" for his stomp attack, then no (the models are removed from the board without any kind of saves applied).
If he hit you with his D stick, then no.
All other results (the other strengths from the explosion, a normal stomp attack at S6) would allow it.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/28 18:19:21
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Each D- hit that wounds is a minimum of d3+3 wounds.... i dont know how stomp and his reg hits didnt just wipe all them off before the explosion
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/28 18:48:59
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
D hits might do no wounds at all - rolling a 1 means nothing happens.
2-5 do d3+1, not +3. So 3-wound characters can live through it.
The stomp attacks do S6 hits that are only AP4, so they can easily survive that.
For stomps only a 6 removes them from play entirely.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/28 19:10:20
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
Spellbound wrote:If he rolled a "6" for his stomp attack, then no (the models are removed from the board without any kind of saves applied).
This is incorrect as per the FAQ for reanimation; you do get RP from remove from play weapons - Str D is the only exception as it explicitly denies it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 01:08:10
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Jaws of the world wolf, too, allows you to come back? Must be in the FAQ as a rules change, raw it doesn't allow it because the last wound is never removed and the model isn't there to lay on its side.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 01:13:51
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Spellbound wrote:Jaws of the world wolf, too, allows you to come back? Must be in the FAQ as a rules change, raw it doesn't allow it because the last wound is never removed and the model isn't there to lay on its side.
Last wound? Are you using a really old version of the rule?
It doesn't mention wounds, nor laying anything on it's side.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 06:58:15
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Spellbound wrote:Jaws of the world wolf, too, allows you to come back? Must be in the FAQ as a rules change, raw it doesn't allow it because the last wound is never removed and the model isn't there to lay on its side.
Main rule book FAQ pg4:
Q: If a model is ‘removed from play’ due to such effects as failing
their Initiative test against ‘Jaws of the World Wolf’, does this
count as being removed as a casualty? (p15)
A: Yes.
...and as mentioned, wounds don't play into triggering RP at all.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 16:11:54
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You hit him as he hit you, and he exploded. Therefor you died at the exact same time the explosion occurred. Any other way would mean he killed you before you hit him and caused him to explode.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 17:06:00
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Wagguy80 wrote:You hit him as he hit you, and he exploded. Therefor you died at the exact same time the explosion occurred. Any other way would mean he killed you before you hit him and caused him to explode.
This is correct so long as the attacks are all made at the same initiative step(the only way the described situation can occur); where we are told the whole attacks process is simultaneous.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/30 01:42:18
Subject: Everliving and D weapons
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Think of it this way. A hit from any weapon with a D strength and you are so utterly obliterated there is nothing left to reanimate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|