Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 01:55:35
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Hi all,
Just a quick question that's still bothering me, searched around still haven't found the answer:
Can a Buffmander join a Riptide That does not have drones at all?
I played a game today where my opponent called me out on this. And since this list is deemed to be OP he had morale support from other people
I lost but I think it's a good opportunity to learn the rules right.
Thanks in advance!
|
1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 01:59:55
Subject: Re:Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Your opponent is wrong. An IC is only banned from joining units that are never composed of more than one model. The Riptide is a unit that can be composed of more than one model, so it is legal to attach an IC.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 02:01:16
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
A commander can join any model capable of being a unit. I don't have the rules in from of me but a commander can definitely join a riptide. Read your rules and translate in plain English. I think your buddy was pulling one over on you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 03:15:47
Subject: Re:Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Moral support notwithstanding: your opponent and everyone who agreed with him was wrong about that particular interaction. You 'can' join an IC to a riptide that you haven't purchased any drones for. (the unit only needs the 'potential' to consist of more than one model, regardless of how many models are currently in it) That said, they were probably correct about the combination being OP, for what it's worth.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/12/29 03:20:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 04:06:57
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Thanks guys for clearing this up.
I was scared for a moment that the O'Vesa star was all just a lie that costed me 3 riptides! The problem was that I couldn't make a solid enough argument to say counter his "the unit composition consists of 1 riptide, therefore that is not a unit that can always take more members, drones are wargears"
|
1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 04:11:04
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
This doesn't matter. The fact that they're purchased as wargear doesn't change the fact that they're still models on the table with stat lines, the ability to take wounds/shoot weapons/etc, and everything else that defines a model. Your opponent would only have a case if drones worked like some of the ork upgrades which are represented for WYSIWYG purposes by a grot but the grot is completely ignored for gameplay purposes and moved/taken off the table/whatever if it ever gets in the way.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 04:20:25
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Peregrine wrote:
This doesn't matter. The fact that they're purchased as wargear doesn't change the fact that they're still models on the table with stat lines, the ability to take wounds/shoot weapons/etc, and everything else that defines a model. Your opponent would only have a case if drones worked like some of the ork upgrades which are represented for WYSIWYG purposes by a grot but the grot is completely ignored for gameplay purposes and moved/taken off the table/whatever if it ever gets in the way.
I agree with everything Peregrine has said here, but hold out hope that a FAQ in the future will outlaw ICs from joining Riptides. Drones being models or no, it just FEELS wrong.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 04:26:41
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Why? There's absolutely nothing in the rules that even suggests that joining an IC to a Riptide is wrong, either RAW or RAI. The only confusion here is that some people misremember the reference to MCs in the IC rule and think that it says " ICs can't join MC units" when in reality MCs are just offered as an example of something that is often a single-model unit (which an IC can't join).
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 05:16:40
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Peregrine wrote:
Why? There's absolutely nothing in the rules that even suggests that joining an IC to a Riptide is wrong, either RAW or RAI. The only confusion here is that some people misremember the reference to MCs in the IC rule and think that it says " ICs can't join MC units" when in reality MCs are just offered as an example of something that is often a single-model unit (which an IC can't join).
You don't need to go into attack or defense mode. I said I agreed with you...
It FEELS wrong because at first blush the Riptide appears to be a single MC, but then when the drones are added on it feels like a wargear upgrade (similar to the ork example that you outlined), but obviously isn't.
As for hoping it's an oversight and gets FAQd away...just wishful thinking as it's annoying how powerful/durable Riptides with IC special abilities can be.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 05:28:00
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Peregrine wrote: Why? There's absolutely nothing in the rules that even suggests that joining an IC to a Riptide is wrong, either RAW or RAI. The only confusion here is that some people misremember the reference to MCs in the IC rule and think that it says " ICs can't join MC units" when in reality MCs are just offered as an example of something that is often a single-model unit (which an IC can't join). That's very true, I could use that in the argument, that was only an example!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/29 06:11:28
1500pt O'Vesa Star W: 27 D: 2 L: 1
The challenge: in a 1500pt game I will play 900pt + D6x100 pts, if I roll a 6 I reroll and -100 to that second number (down to 1000pt minimum)
W:6 D:0 L:1 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 15:11:05
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It's illegal since the drones are wargear stats or not.
Look at your codex under composition in the Riptide entry what does it say?
If it says 1 then a IC cannot join it.
Because the codex says under composition that it is only ever composed of one model. Otherwise it would say...
Composition:
1 - 3 Riptides
It doesn't.
Hence why a Tau IC can have drones, and still join units. Otherwise the drones would count as 1 unit, and he couldn't join another unit.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/12/29 15:22:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 15:32:02
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
So since the drones are wargear and not models, they don't trigger morale or pinning tests when they are killed?
As a matter of fact they DO, which means they are models on the table. They fight in cc, they take hits from blast weapons, they trigger morale tests when enough of them die. They count.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 15:33:32
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
The drones are part of the unit. Therefore the unit has potential to be more than one model. Therefore an IC can join it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 16:29:06
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Wagguy80 wrote:It's illegal since the drones are wargear stats or not.
Look at your codex under composition in the Riptide entry what does it say?
If it says 1 then a IC cannot join it.
Because the codex says under composition that it is only ever composed of one model. Otherwise it would say...
Composition:
1 - 3 Riptides
It doesn't.
Hence why a Tau IC can have drones, and still join units. Otherwise the drones would count as 1 unit, and he couldn't join another unit.
Drones aren't wargear, they are models in the unit as stated in the drone rules
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 17:01:36
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Wagguy80 wrote:It's illegal since the drones are wargear stats or not.
Look at your codex under composition in the Riptide entry what does it say?
If it says 1 then a IC cannot join it.
Because the codex says under composition that it is only ever composed of one model. Otherwise it would say...
Composition:
1 - 3 Riptides
It doesn't.
Hence why a Tau IC can have drones, and still join units. Otherwise the drones would count as 1 unit, and he couldn't join another unit.
So you are saying that ICs cannot join Crisis teams, or Broadsides either right? because look at the unit composition, what does it say?
You add the Drones in exactly the same manner that you add additional broadsides and crisis suits, Drones are no longer wargear(this is even in the drones rules).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/29 21:16:30
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot
|
Wagguy80 wrote:
Hence why a Tau IC can have drones, and still join units. Otherwise the drones would count as 1 unit, and he couldn't join another unit.
No, the reason a Tau IC can have drones and still join units is because the Codex rules specifically grant that permission, as an exception to the normal rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/31 06:17:59
Subject: Re:Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Louisiana
|
I had called in a few months ago asking a few questions including this. The guy on the line said that riptides can only be joined by IC if they have at least one drone.
Of course, that's just the guy on the line. It's no FAQ.
GW is notorious for leaving a lot of gray area in their rules. It's the kind of gray area where you should probably just settle it before game, and if your POV doesn't stick, don't bother arguing about it. It's not worth it. Automatically Appended Next Post: Spellbound wrote:So since the drones are wargear and not models, they don't trigger morale or pinning tests when they are killed?
As a matter of fact they DO, which means they are models on the table. They fight in cc, they take hits from blast weapons, they trigger morale tests when enough of them die. They count.
To add to this, pg33 of the Tau codex specifically states how drones are suppose to be considered.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/31 06:20:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/31 10:02:51
Subject: Re:Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
Considering the O'vesa star has been used in several tournaments without issue, isn't it a little late to be disputing its legality?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/02 17:17:01
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I haven't seen the new Tau Codex.
If that is the case then either an IC cannot join those units either or GW just put a pointless rule about joining single model units.
Since can anyone name to me a unit with only 1 model that is not an IC, MC, or Vehicle?
The only thing close is the Lone Wolf. Which even though it says it cannot be joined by other models under it's options it can take 2 Fenrisian wolves.
However we could cite example by that entry that GW does not count "options" as part of unit composition.
We could also just say you can do it if you don't mind being detested by your opponent for abusing a GW rules oversight.
One of 100's of rules oversights.
I think GW just left an old rule in the rulebook, and didn't consider it when they worded all of their new codex's.
Example old chaos codex...
Obliterators Xpt
Composition 1 - 3 Obliterators
New Codex Obliterators Xpts
Composition: 1 Obliterator
Then under options may take up to 2 additional for blah blah
So use it, and abuse it. GW is horrible about FAQ's and probably don't care as long as they sell every Tau player 2 rulebooks instead of one.
That's about your only option in a tournament. Ask to see both books. If he doesn't have the expansion book. He's disqualified.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/02 17:45:41
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Calm Celestian
Florida, USA
|
Wagguy80 wrote:I haven't seen the new Tau Codex.
If that is the case then either an IC cannot join those units either or GW just put a pointless rule about joining single model units.
Since can anyone name to me a unit with only 1 model that is not an IC, MC, or Vehicle?
The only thing close is the Lone Wolf. Which even though it says it cannot be joined by other models under it's options it can take 2 Fenrisian wolves.
However we could cite example by that entry that GW does not count "options" as part of unit composition.
We could also just say you can do it if you don't mind being detested by your opponent for abusing a GW rules oversight.
One of 100's of rules oversights.
I think GW just left an old rule in the rulebook, and didn't consider it when they worded all of their new codex's.
Example old chaos codex...
Obliterators Xpt
Composition 1 - 3 Obliterators
New Codex Obliterators Xpts
Composition: 1 Obliterator
Then under options may take up to 2 additional for blah blah
So use it, and abuse it. GW is horrible about FAQ's and probably don't care as long as they sell every Tau player 2 rulebooks instead of one.
That's about your only option in a tournament. Ask to see both books. If he doesn't have the expansion book. He's disqualified.
Mephiston.
|
There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/02 18:20:34
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Wagguy80 wrote:Since can anyone name to me a unit with only 1 model that is not an IC, MC, or Vehicle?
What's your point? MCs can be joined by ICs - Carnifexes, Canoptek Spiders.. both multi-model MC units.
So any non-multi-model MC unit (Trygon, Swarmlord, Tervigon, Tyrannofex, Harpy, Dreadknight, etc) is a unit that only ever consists of a single model.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/02 18:29:41
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
So how can you reply responsibly? Page 33 explicitly allows drones to be "...act as additional squad members in all regards". It also allows ICs with drones to join other units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/02 20:29:09
Subject: Death of O'Vesa star?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Any store is free to impose its own rules based on group consensus. There are a lot of squiggly things in 40K and most gamers I've met aren't going to go to YMDC lengths to parse out rules and will instead aim for what feels right.
Feel free to inform them that that is how most tournaments play it. Just don't expect them to change for one person. If it really bothers you (depending on the rule in question, I could feel bothered), find a new store.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|