Switch Theme:

Biovore Spore Mines  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Hey all,

Going to be playing my first game using the new codex today and wanted to get some opinions on how to handle spore mines fired from Biovores that miss a target. RAW it seems to say only the first blast marker of the barrage gets to place D3 mines.

But it seems that the rules are a little vague and mainly written for the deep striking FA version. So my question is, reguardless of the size of the brood, do you only get D3 mines from a miss with a brood of Biovores?

   
Made in ca
Executing Exarch






Each shot that misses drops D3 mines. Its better to miss.

Rick Priestley said it best:
Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! The modern studio isn’t a studio in the same way; it isn’t a collection of artists and creatives sharing ideas and driving each other on. It’s become the promotions department of a toy company – things move on!
 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

 Ravenous D wrote:
Each shot that misses drops D3 mines. Its better to miss.


No, the first shot that missed drops D3 mines. Not every shot. That would have been nuts

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in ca
Executing Exarch






 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Ravenous D wrote:
Each shot that misses drops D3 mines. Its better to miss.


No, the first shot that missed drops D3 mines. Not every shot. That would have been nuts


So 120pts for 1 S6 ap4 large blast? Well they just got put into the gak pile.

Rick Priestley said it best:
Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! The modern studio isn’t a studio in the same way; it isn’t a collection of artists and creatives sharing ideas and driving each other on. It’s become the promotions department of a toy company – things move on!
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Idaho

 Ravenous D wrote:
 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Ravenous D wrote:
Each shot that misses drops D3 mines. Its better to miss.


No, the first shot that missed drops D3 mines. Not every shot. That would have been nuts


So 120pts for 1 S6 ap4 large blast? Well they just got put into the gak pile.


Only if you thought they were complete gak before, as this is a buff from the way they used to work.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
But since the spire mines were buffed, and the biovores got cheaper and buffed. I don't see it that way.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/12 17:57:02


2200
4500
3500 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Ravenous D wrote:
 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Ravenous D wrote:
Each shot that misses drops D3 mines. Its better to miss.


No, the first shot that missed drops D3 mines. Not every shot. That would have been nuts


So 120pts for 1 S6 ap4 large blast? Well they just got put into the gak pile.


That is a 120 points for a 3 s4 ap4 large blast barrage or d3 spore mines on a miss. The Spore Mine Launcher is S4 ap4 with the Spore Burst rule. The Burst rule is what drops the mines so it is only a minor nerf to the 3 brood biovore, but an overall boost to the unit.
   
Made in ca
Executing Exarch






 Steel-W0LF wrote:
 Ravenous D wrote:
 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Ravenous D wrote:
Each shot that misses drops D3 mines. Its better to miss.


No, the first shot that missed drops D3 mines. Not every shot. That would have been nuts


So 120pts for 1 S6 ap4 large blast? Well they just got put into the gak pile.


Only if you thought they were complete gak before, as this is a buff from the way they used to work.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
But since the spire mines were buffed, and the biovores got cheaper and buffed. I don't see it that way.


They are in a very competitive slot, and while I like the idea of spore mines eating overwatch that's an expensive option that you have to baby sit with synapse. Tyrannofex is leading the way in the heavy slot.

Rick Priestley said it best:
Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! The modern studio isn’t a studio in the same way; it isn’t a collection of artists and creatives sharing ideas and driving each other on. It’s become the promotions department of a toy company – things move on!
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Seems like a lil confusion, or maybe not.

It isn't the first shot per game, it is merely the first shot per barrage.

So if you have 2 Bio's and they both miss you only get 1 set of mines.

If they do it next turn they do it again.

so the best outcome is you shoot, miss by a tiny amount, then place the second blast marker next to the first shot and hit.
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener






 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Ravenous D wrote:
Each shot that misses drops D3 mines. Its better to miss.


No, the first shot that missed drops D3 mines. Not every shot. That would have been nuts


Except that there is no rule that says Biovores in a brood shoot their shots as barrage X where X is the number of Biovores in the brood. Therefore, we look at what the BRB says. BRB says that they shoot at the same time and base the shots off the weapon, and that each weapon fires independently at the target unit. So, RAW, there is no first or last shot and all the shots are independent barrage 1 shots. So, each Biovore in brood will roll their own shot independently. Therefore, each 'miss' is always the first miss. So, you could, technically, produce 9 spore mines from one brood in 1 shooting phase.

RAW and RAI, three barrage 1 guns shoot at the same time. There is no 'first' shot. There is no rule that says they shoot barrage X. Sorry, it's d3 spore mines per miss per Biovore.


The only argument is what 'first' means.
Is it first miss per turn or game?
Since nothing says it's per game, we have to use the per turn option.


If an event comes up where each Biovore's gun goes from barrage 1 to barrage 1+X, I would argue that only the first shot per Biovore produces spore mines due to RAW.
Same thing if the unit is, some how, able to fire multiple times per turn.

Rereading the barrage rules. They auto string together. So it's just D3 Spore Mines... Stupid GW burrowing their rules in their own rules.


This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/01/13 02:24:42



Lots and lots and lots. 
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt




Pg. 34 of the Little Rule Book. Multiple Barrages: "If a unit fires more than one shot with the Barrage special rule, they fire together as follows:

-The Barrage weapon closest to the target fires FIRST. Place the blast marker over the target, then roll for scatter as described earlier."

As a unit of Biovores is a unit that fires more than one barrage shot, the closest one is resolved first. If that one misses you place d3 spore mines and none for the others.

At least that is the way I see it.

"El queso está viejo y pútrido. ¿Dónde está el sanitario?"

 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

agreed with above, seems clear to me also
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Idaho

 Kwosge wrote:
 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
 Ravenous D wrote:
Each shot that misses drops D3 mines. Its better to miss.


No, the first shot that missed drops D3 mines. Not every shot. That would have been nuts


Except that there is no rule that says Biovores in a brood shoot their shots as barrage X where X is the number of Biovores in the brood. Therefore, we look at what the BRB says. BRB says that they shoot at the same time and base the shots off the weapon, and that each weapon fires independently at the target unit. So, RAW, there is no first or last shot and all the shots are independent barrage 1 shots. So, each Biovore in brood will roll their own shot independently. Therefore, each 'miss' is always the first miss. So, you could, technically, produce 9 spore mines from one brood in 1 shooting phase.

RAW and RAI, three barrage 1 guns shoot at the same time. There is no 'first' shot. There is no rule that says they shoot barrage X. Sorry, it's d3 spore mines per miss per Biovore.



The only argument is what 'first' means.
Is it first miss per turn or game?
Since nothing says it's per game, we have to use the per turn option.


If an event comes up where each Biovore's gun goes from barrage 1 to barrage 1+X, I would argue that only the first shot per Biovore produces spore mines due to RAW.
Same thing if the unit is, some how, able to fire multiple times per turn.



As the others said... this is 100% incorrect.

2200
4500
3500 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






HiveGuard wrote:
Pg. 34 of the Little Rule Book. Multiple Barrages: "If a unit fires more than one shot with the Barrage special rule, they fire together as follows:

-The Barrage weapon closest to the target fires FIRST. Place the blast marker over the target, then roll for scatter as described earlier."

As a unit of Biovores is a unit that fires more than one barrage shot, the closest one is resolved first. If that one misses you place d3 spore mines and none for the others.

At least that is the way I see it.




This is the way it works.


JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




hello there,

In our french codex, the rules of spore mines p65 says you can't have more than S10 when they explodes in charge at initiative rank 10, so in the codex the only way to have S10 with spore mines, is to generate d3 spore for each biovore in the brood.

I think this rules need more explanations....
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






currently there is no known way to get the str 10 blast. We'll have to wait on a faq for this.

The squad of 6 can only get to str9. And the D3 generated from the biovore squad only happens on the initial blast if it miss's and not from the following blasts.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Sokiar wrote:
hello there,

In our french codex, the rules of spore mines p65 says you can't have more than S10 when they explodes in charge at initiative rank 10, so in the codex the only way to have S10 with spore mines, is to generate d3 spore for each biovore in the brood.

I think this rules need more explanations....


As said in another thread: The S10 limit is for you deciding to field a "unit" of 10 Sporemines (or however many you can take)
Not for Biovore shots which are D3 for the first shot only.

The only way to increase through shots is if 3 units (so up to 9 biovores) shoot at the same target and combine the spore mine units (but i think that is not allowed)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Eihnlazer wrote:
The squad of 6 can only get to str9.


This, sorry, squad of 6 max =)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/13 12:20:25


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





The codex author thinks cover saves apply in close combat, so I wouldn’t read too much into the S10 maximum thing..

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/13 12:40:28


Hodge-Podge says: Run with the Devil, Shout Satan's Might. Deathtongue! Deathtongue! The Beast arises tonight!
 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

 torgoch wrote:
The codex author thinks cover saves apply in close combat, so I wouldn’t read too much into the S10 maximum thing..


It's to remove any future argument that the attacked squad would receive cover saves, as it is technically not a close combat attack. GW is trying to cover their bases.

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I ran 2 games yesterday, First game i ran 2 Biovores in a brood, second game i ran them as seperate broods.

On average i was getting 2 spores per miss, so it was much better to run 1 man broods...which eats up too many slots in the HA =(
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Indiana

Just asking this since this is relevant... Spore Bomb.

"...Center the large blast marker on any one model the Harpy has passed over that turn and scatter it D6". Units take a hit for each model that is even partially under the blast marker's final position, resolved using the profile above."

Am i seeing things, or is this a loophole that says that any and all units (I want?) take the hits regardless of the fact that they are at any random position, and the things under the blast template don't have to be affected, due to the fact that it doesn't specify the units.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/13 15:16:03


"There is a cancer eating at the Imperium. With each decade it advances deeper, leaving drained, dead worlds in its wake. This horror, this abomination, has thought and purpose that functions on an unimaginable, galactic scale and all we can do is try to stop the swarms of bioengineered monsters it unleashes upon us by instinct. We have given the horror a name to salve our fears; we call it the Tyranid race, but if is aware of us at all it must know us only as Prey."
Hive Fleet Grootslang 15000+
Servants of the Void 2000+ 
   
Made in gb
Confessor Of Sins





Newton Aycliffe

Yes, RaW:
If you cover 3 models from unit A
4 Models from unit B
2 Models from unit C

Unit A receives 9 hits, B receives 9 Hits & C receives 9 hits.

Until they FAQ it...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Even though RAI it should be "Units take hits for THEIR models under the template" or however you worded to get that effect...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/13 15:18:27


DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage.
Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Indiana

Welp, I see people taking 3 harpies and a max unit of gaunts/gants with no spacing, and then using that loophole to target all enemy units on the field while doing no damage to the herd.

"There is a cancer eating at the Imperium. With each decade it advances deeper, leaving drained, dead worlds in its wake. This horror, this abomination, has thought and purpose that functions on an unimaginable, galactic scale and all we can do is try to stop the swarms of bioengineered monsters it unleashes upon us by instinct. We have given the horror a name to salve our fears; we call it the Tyranid race, but if is aware of us at all it must know us only as Prey."
Hive Fleet Grootslang 15000+
Servants of the Void 2000+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Unyielding Hunger wrote:
Welp, I see people taking 3 harpies and a max unit of gaunts/gants with no spacing, and then using that loophole to target all enemy units on the field while doing no damage to the herd.

I see these people never getting games after that.
   
Made in ca
Executing Exarch






 Unyielding Hunger wrote:
Just asking this since this is relevant... Spore Bomb.

"...Center the large blast marker on any one model the Harpy has passed over that turn and scatter it D6". Units take a hit for each model that is even partially under the blast marker's final position, resolved using the profile above."

Am i seeing things, or is this a loophole that says that any and all units (I want?) take the hits regardless of the fact that they are at any random position, and the things under the blast template don't have to be affected, due to the fact that it doesn't specify the units.


There is another one like that with Pryovores, apparently it hits every unit on the table.

Rick Priestley said it best:
Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! The modern studio isn’t a studio in the same way; it isn’t a collection of artists and creatives sharing ideas and driving each other on. It’s become the promotions department of a toy company – things move on!
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

GW just cannot get that wording right. Isn't this like the third time this has come up with one of their books? The first I can think of is the Doomscythe Death Ray.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt




No no no... The subject of the sentence is referring to units that have models covered, not any unit on the table. And I don't think you could assign wounds from one unit to another, so in the above example unit A takes 3 wounds, unit B takes 4 wounds, and unit C 2 wounds. You cannot assign 9 to each because you didn't cause 27 wounds.

"El queso está viejo y pútrido. ¿Dónde está el sanitario?"

 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Indiana

HiveGuard wrote:
No no no... The subject of the sentence is referring to units that have models covered, not any unit on the table. And I don't think you could assign wounds from one unit to another, so in the above example unit A takes 3 wounds, unit B takes 4 wounds, and unit C 2 wounds. You cannot assign 9 to each because you didn't cause 27 wounds.


RAI, oviously. RAW, God no. Now excuse me while I share some

"There is a cancer eating at the Imperium. With each decade it advances deeper, leaving drained, dead worlds in its wake. This horror, this abomination, has thought and purpose that functions on an unimaginable, galactic scale and all we can do is try to stop the swarms of bioengineered monsters it unleashes upon us by instinct. We have given the horror a name to salve our fears; we call it the Tyranid race, but if is aware of us at all it must know us only as Prey."
Hive Fleet Grootslang 15000+
Servants of the Void 2000+ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




In regards to biovore mines. After d3 are placed in the shooting phase, are those mines allowed to charge in the subsequent assault phase or do they have to wait a round. There is permission to move and charge but not explicit permission to charge after being placed.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yonush wrote:
In regards to biovore mines. After d3 are placed in the shooting phase, are those mines allowed to charge in the subsequent assault phase or do they have to wait a round. There is permission to move and charge but not explicit permission to charge after being placed.


Currently nothing stops charging, but almost 100% sure a FAQ will change that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/14 15:21:21


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Spoiler:
The way I phrased the question makes a simple "No" answer confusing. Is your "No" They have to wait a turn or is your "No" They can assault in the subsequent assault phase? Thanks Fragile.

I can't disagree that it will probably be changed but that is a nice buff. Possible S7 Large template if you miss.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/14 19:02:02


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: