Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 22:51:45
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Someone brought this up, but I think it may be wrong. But wanted to ask here.
Lash whips state they add 3 initiative during the fight sub-phase. You are set to initiative 1 by charging into cover BEFORE you get to the "fight sub-phase".
So would models with lash whips fight at initiative 4 when charging into cover?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 22:59:51
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Steel-W0LF wrote:Someone brought this up, but I think it may be wrong. But wanted to ask here.
Lash whips state they add 3 initiative during the fight sub-phase. You are set to initiative 1 by charging into cover BEFORE you get to the "fight sub-phase".
So would models with lash whips fight at initiative 4 when charging into cover?
The Initiative1 is a set value, the +3 is an addition.
Look at Page 2, Multiple Modifiers, for your answer.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 23:35:20
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
DeathReaper wrote: Steel-W0LF wrote:Someone brought this up, but I think it may be wrong. But wanted to ask here.
Lash whips state they add 3 initiative during the fight sub-phase. You are set to initiative 1 by charging into cover BEFORE you get to the "fight sub-phase".
So would models with lash whips fight at initiative 4 when charging into cover?
The Initiative1 is a set value, the +3 is an addition.
Look at Page 2, Multiple Modifiers, for your answer.
From the looks of the Assault phase sequence though, the set modifier occurs before you get to the fight sub phase, which is when the +3 occurs.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
If it said,
"Models with a lash Whip get a +3 to initiative" I believe you would be right.
But the +3 is restricted to the fight sub-phase, so does not apply to other initiative tests outside of combat. Automatically Appended Next Post: Or if it was like the old Furious charge Rules, where it said something like +1 Initiative when they charge, that would also be set back to 1.....
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/01/18 23:41:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 23:46:05
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The model has +3 I in the fight sub-phase, however, attacks at I1. So while the model is I+3, it still attacks at I1.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 23:47:56
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Happyjew wrote:The model has +3 I in the fight sub-phase, however, attacks at I1. So while the model is I+3, it still attacks at I1.
Look up when you are set to initiative 1....
Its before the fight sub-phase. Automatically Appended Next Post: BRB p. 22 Automatically Appended Next Post: Its a bit ambiguous
HIWPI would definitely be Initiative 1
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/18 23:50:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 23:53:01
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Steel-W0LF wrote: Happyjew wrote:The model has +3 I in the fight sub-phase, however, attacks at I1. So while the model is I+3, it still attacks at I1. Look up when you are set to initiative 1.... Its before the fight sub-phase.
Which of course does not matter to page 2. The questions we need to ask ourselves: 1) do we have multiple modifiers in effect on my model? 2) what does page 2 tell us? answer these and you will see that the set value is applied after any additions to a models initiative. As long as both are in effect it does not matter when they cam into effect, since they both are in effect we must follow page 2. Not at all, if you follow the rules on page 2
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/18 23:54:02
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 23:55:44
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above, set modifiers are last. You don't set to i1 "first"; multiple modifiers are resolved at the same time
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/18 23:56:50
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
What DR said. Timing of the individual modifiers does not matter. When it's time to check what the initiative of the model is, you see what modifiers exist , and apply the rules for multiple modifiers.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/19 00:00:45
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Steel-W0LF wrote: Happyjew wrote:The model has +3 I in the fight sub-phase, however, attacks at I1. So while the model is I+3, it still attacks at I1.
Look up when you are set to initiative 1....
Its before the fight sub-phase.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
BRB p. 22
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Its a bit ambiguous
HIWPI would definitely be Initiative 1
The rules for charging through difficult terrain does not modify your initiative. Like Unwieldy, it changes when you attack. Normally you attack at your initiative. Lash whips improves your initiative. Difficult terrain does not care what your initiative is, you attack at the initiative 1 step.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/19 01:45:48
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Maelstrom808 wrote:What DR said. Timing of the individual modifiers does not matter. When it's time to check what the initiative of the model is, you see what modifiers exist , and apply the rules for multiple modifiers.
Untrue.
Marker lights.
They are applied after anything else that modifies ballistic skill.
But the way happy described I do believe works in this case. Automatically Appended Next Post: Let me clairify why I don't think it works the way the folks citing pg2 are saying, and why it works the way Happy said:
Charging rules state you fight at initiative 1, not that you are initiative 1.
If you charge into cover, but win combat and the enemy unit breaks, you would sweeping advance at the models initiative value. In the case of a hive tyrant with a whip would be initiative 8 for the sweeping advance.
If charging into cover was a stat line modifier, your initiative would be 1, and you would have to sweeping advance at initiative 1.
Subtle difference but a verry important one.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/19 02:54:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/19 05:58:37
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No, not at all, page 2 deals with multiple modifiers.
Even if charging through Difficult Terrain set your initiative to 1 (Instead of striking at I 1), it would still be a set value and be applied last.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/19 09:35:33
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
DeathReaper wrote:
No, not at all, page 2 deals with multiple modifiers.
Even if charging through Difficult Terrain set your initiative to 1 (Instead of striking at I 1), it would still be a set value and be applied last.
Not really, as its not modifying your initiative. Its just telling you when you strike, and not modifying a stat at all. You may be swinging at the initiative 1 step, but your models initiative is still whatever it was before.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/19 17:43:29
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Steel-W0LF wrote: DeathReaper wrote:
No, not at all, page 2 deals with multiple modifiers.
Even if charging through Difficult Terrain set your initiative to 1 (Instead of striking at I 1), it would still be a set value and be applied last.
Not really, as its not modifying your initiative. Its just telling you when you strike, and not modifying a stat at all. You may be swinging at the initiative 1 step, but your models initiative is still whatever it was before.
Right, but the point is that all set values in effect are applied last.
If that is something that makes you strike at a specific initiative or if it sets your initiative to a specific value it is a set value and is always applied after multiplication, addition, and subtraction are take into account as per P 2.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/19 21:26:40
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
DeathReaper wrote: Steel-W0LF wrote: DeathReaper wrote:
No, not at all, page 2 deals with multiple modifiers.
Even if charging through Difficult Terrain set your initiative to 1 (Instead of striking at I 1), it would still be a set value and be applied last.
Not really, as its not modifying your initiative. Its just telling you when you strike, and not modifying a stat at all. You may be swinging at the initiative 1 step, but your models initiative is still whatever it was before.
Right, but the point is that all set values in effect are applied last.
If that is something that makes you strike at a specific initiative or if it sets your initiative to a specific value it is a set value and is always applied after multiplication, addition, and subtraction are take into account as per P 2.
Ok last try, then I'll just give up and move on as its largely irrelevant for the question asked.
Pg 2 has nothing to do with this situation. Nothing is being modified, no stat adjusted. Your initiative is still the same as it was before the charge. If the stat was being adjusted you would perform initiative checks of all kinds at Initiative 1 during that round. You don't, so it cant be a stat line modifier as nothing is being modified.
Its like race cars that have different speeds, and one being told it has to start at the back of the pack. Sure it starts last, but it does not go any slower, its just as fast as it was before. Its speed has not been modified in any way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/20 05:03:33
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
P. 2 has everything to do with Lash Whips and charging into cover.
P. 2 is how you figure out at what Initiative your models get to make their attacks...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/21 19:39:21
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
DeathReaper wrote:P. 2 has everything to do with Lash Whips and charging into cover.
P. 2 is how you figure out at what Initiative your models get to make their attacks...
Please demonstrate how Pg. 2 is being used when no initiative is being modified.....
no state is being changed, nothing is being added, nothing subtracted, and nothing set to 1.
Yes Pg 2 has to do with adding the +3 from the lash whips, no it has nothing to do with charging into cover. Automatically Appended Next Post: Better question:
If you charge into cover, is your models actual initiative stat=1?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/21 19:41:03
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/21 20:22:20
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Steel-W0LF wrote: DeathReaper wrote:P. 2 has everything to do with Lash Whips and charging into cover.
P. 2 is how you figure out at what Initiative your models get to make their attacks...
Please demonstrate how Pg. 2 is being used when no initiative is being modified.....
no state is being changed, nothing is being added, nothing subtracted, and nothing set to 1.
Yes Pg 2 has to do with adding the +3 from the lash whips, no it has nothing to do with charging into cover.
Page 2 is used because there is a set value in play.
Attacking at I1 is a set value so regardless of what bonuses the model has to its initiative it will always use the set value of 1 when striking as per Page 2
Better question:
If you charge into cover, is your models actual initiative stat=1?
Irrelevant.
but no the models stat is not 1, but they do use the set I value of 1 to make their attacks...
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/21 21:35:36
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
DeathReaper wrote:
Attacking at I1 is a set value so regardless of what bonuses the model has to its initiative it will always use the set value of 1 when striking as per Page 2
DeathReaper wrote:
but no the models stat is not 1, but they do use the set I value of 1 to make their attacks...
If no vaule is being set, then charging into cover can not be a set value, pg 2 deals with stat modifications, which is not whats happening.
The second quote is just pure contradiction. Automatically Appended Next Post: Anyway the point is irrelevant.
the effects are the same. on to more pertinent debates.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/21 21:40:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/21 21:48:05
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
A value is being set, Initiative. It is setting a value of Initiative so we know when the model will make its CC attacks. For other tests you use the models initiative on its stat line as you are only set to I1 for the purposes of making CC attacks.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/21 21:50:43
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/21 23:47:31
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
DeathReaper wrote:A value is being set, Initiative.
It is setting a value of Initiative so we know when the model will make its CC attacks.
For other tests you use the models initiative on its stat line as you are only set to I1 for the purposes of making CC attacks.
You'd be totally right if the rule for charging into cover were just worded totally differently......
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 02:31:54
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Why are you arguing semantics that have no effect on gameplay?
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 03:19:08
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 03:25:17
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Fair enough, I'll go get some popcorn.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 07:56:18
Subject: Re:Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Like HJ said.. Because I can. Plus debate can be fun.
Also its not just semantics.
If it was an actual stat modifier, then the turn you charged into combat your model would be initiative 1 for all purposes.... Sweeping the enemy, or getting swept as the case may be. Plus any other abilities used during assault that are dependent on initiative.
That's clearly not the case. You're are not modifying a stat, you are just being told regardless of what your stat is, this is when you attack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 12:30:44
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It is a stat modifier, for a single purpose. Some modifiers are across the board, some are not. Tzeentch Demons, for example, have a +3 to Leadership for casting psychic powers. Are you going to argue that's not a modifier?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 19:53:34
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
rigeld2 wrote:It is a stat modifier, for a single purpose. Some modifiers are across the board, some are not. Tzeentch Demons, for example, have a +3 to Leadership for casting psychic powers. Are you going to argue that's not a modifier?
If it says you "Your leadership is ____...." then yes its a stat line modifier.
Charging into cover does not say "your initiative is ____ ", it says "you swing at ___" which is regardless of what your initiative is. Automatically Appended Next Post: Just for the sake of debate.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/22 19:53:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 19:56:01
Subject: Lash Whips and charging into cover?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Steel-W0LF wrote:rigeld2 wrote:It is a stat modifier, for a single purpose. Some modifiers are across the board, some are not. Tzeentch Demons, for example, have a +3 to Leadership for casting psychic powers. Are you going to argue that's not a modifier?
If it says you "Your leadership is ____...." then yes its a stat line modifier.
Charging into cover does not say "your initiative is ____ ", it says "you swing at ___" which is regardless of what your initiative is.
Just for the sake of debate.
... meaning it's a modifier for one specific situation.
brb wrote:all of the unit's models must attack at Initiative step 1, regardless of other Initiative modifiers.
Pretty much spells out that it's a set modifier.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|