Switch Theme:

Flying Monstrous Creatures and Cover Saves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Question is "Can a flying monstrous creature be shot at if it is grounded out of line of site from enemy units?"

If you say yes to this do FMCs in glide mode benefit from line of site as they are considered to be Jump Monstrous Creatures?

Page reference numbers would be greatly appreciated
   
Made in us
Using Inks and Washes




St. George, Utah

There is no stipulation anywhere in the BRB that line of sight stops mattering just because something flies. They just get to ignore terrain when they move. You benefit from LOS either way.
   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton




The rule is true line of sight whether it is gliding or swooping, so if the FMC is out of LoS then it cannot be targeted (barring special rules/weapons).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/20 17:08:53


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




tallguynsc wrote:
The rule is true line of sight whether it is gliding or swooping, so if the FMC is out of LoS then it cannot be targeted (barring special rules/weapons).


Hmmm imagine there is a sheer wall between a squad of marines and an FMC they can shoot him if he is swoooping but what happens when he is grounded on the other side of said wall. Also if he is gliding and loses "Hard to Hit" and is treated as a Jump MC can they see him over said wall?

Or does cover always matter not matter what? Can they not shoot him even if he is swooping on the opposite side of the wall but is considered to be in the air?
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

You don't change the model between Gliding and Swooping modes, so its movement move has zero impact on whether or not something is in LOS. If there's LOS when he's Swooping, there's LOS when he's gliding, and vice versa.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Iron General wrote:
Can they not shoot him even if he is swooping on the opposite side of the wall but is considered to be in the air?

Correct - TLOS matters. If you can't see the model, you can't shoot it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So in theory it would be possible to move a flyer using TLOS to avoid being shot at from something like a quad gun?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Absolutely. Just like the rule say.

And this isn't just FMCs - it's any Flyer.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Okey adding to this. At work so don't have my book. But if memory serves correct there is a rule that dictates when determining los wings flags and other "ornaments" are ignored. So you don't have to hide the massive wingspan of a tyrant to get out of los. Or at least to get a cover save. The exception are standard fliers as there rules state their wings are part of the hull.

Never underestimate the Genestealers ability to sweeping advance EVERYTHING!  
   
Made in us
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration





Iron General wrote:
tallguynsc wrote:
The rule is true line of sight whether it is gliding or swooping, so if the FMC is out of LoS then it cannot be targeted (barring special rules/weapons).


Hmmm imagine there is a sheer wall between a squad of marines and an FMC they can shoot him if he is swoooping but what happens when he is grounded on the other side of said wall. Also if he is gliding and loses "Hard to Hit" and is treated as a Jump MC can they see him over said wall?

Or does cover always matter not matter what? Can they not shoot him even if he is swooping on the opposite side of the wall but is considered to be in the air?


I just wanted to clarify that last point.

You *always* draw TLOS to where the model is physically. Doesn't matter if it is swooping, gliding, grounded, pinned, or considered to be taking any other action; it's all about the actual physical placement of the models which is the True part about line of sight.

So, if there is a wall between the marines and the FMC and you can shoot a laser pointer from the marines and hit the FMC, then they have line of sight to the target.


------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

Sorry for the obvious question, but I haven't used FMCs before and this seems related...

If I can only see the wing of a FMC, can I shoot it or not?

Thanks
   
Made in us
Using Inks and Washes




St. George, Utah

Iron General wrote:
So in theory it would be possible to move a flyer using TLOS to avoid being shot at from something like a quad gun?
That's exactly what you should do, if you can. There's a reason I try to set up a building that serves no purpose other than to block Line of Sight from a good portion of my enemy's side of the deployment zone when I get the opportunity to, during the terrain segment of a game set up. It's a good habit to get into as it helps you for the purpose of infiltrators too.

Obviously if your army is the one that requires clear shooting lanes then you'd ideally want to NOT do this. It's one of the few truly strategic things in WH40k.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Nope. It's (specifically) not part of the body.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

rigeld2 wrote:
Nope. It's (specifically) not part of the body.

Ah, that's good then. Thank you!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: