Switch Theme:

Most Space Marines have two Attacks  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So lawyer me this:

+1 Two Weapons: Engaged models with two singlehanded weapons (often a Melee weapon and or pistol in each hand) get +1 Attack. Models with more than two weapons gain no additional benefit; you only get one extra Attack, even if you have four arm and a sword in each.

Key phrase here, OFTEN a melee and or pistol. The word often leave the possibilities wide open because the +1 attacks are no longer exclusive to melee weapons and pistols. Other ramifications of this that a Space Marine Terminator with a power sword and assault cannon, neither weapon has the two handed rule and no weapon has a one handed rule, would have 3 attacks.
Tactical Squad Space Marine Wargear:
Power armour, Boltgun, Bolt pistol, Frag grenades, Krak grenades

That is his standard wargear. How does that grant two attacks during the assault? Key things there no assigned melee and has a bolt pistol.
No Specified Melee Weapon: If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon.

So he has a melee weapon by default even those it is not listed in his wargear. Close combat weapons are not two handed.
Pistols as Close Combat Weapons: A pistol can be used as a close combat weapon. If this is done, use the profile given above - the Strength, AP and special ruIes of the pistol's Shooting profile are ignored (see page 52).

Bolt pistol, that is a second close combat weapon that is one handed. Seems to me that is +1 attacks.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Pistols are melee weapons, ergo, they have a specified melee weapon.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





majortwitch wrote:
No Specified Melee Weapon: If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon.

So he has a melee weapon by default even those it is not listed in his wargear. Close combat weapons are not two handed.
Pistols as Close Combat Weapons: A pistol can be used as a close combat weapon. If this is done, use the profile given above - the Strength, AP and special ruIes of the pistol's Shooting profile are ignored (see page 52).

Bolt pistol, that is a second close combat weapon that is one handed. Seems to me that is +1 attacks.

Bolt Pistol is a Melee weapon (read the Pistol type). Since he has a Melee weapon, the "No Specified Melee Weapon" rule does not come into play.

So no, he doesn't get an extra attack.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




United States

nice try

2000+

"Can we stop saying CCSM and CSM to just say CSM and SM? I mean really, don't we already know they have a codex? Plus my colon key is broken."  
   
Made in gb
Nasty Nob






So, he gets a single CCW for having no melee weapons, then gets a bonus attack for having two melee weapons?

No. If you are using a pistol as a CCW, you can't claim another CCW on the basis that you don't have any melee weapons, because a CCW is a melee weapon and you are using your pistol as a CCW.

This is so blatantly ridiculous. For once the rules are clear in their intention and written in a logical fashion and yet you are still looking for a loophole.

   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

There's clearly a specified close combat weapon, otherwise you could never claim to have a seconf one.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




The way that is worded are pistols are only counted as close combat weapons during the assault. So that would mean they would have two weapons outside of the assault yet only one during. So a moot point as that leaves them with a single weapon in the assault.

But back to first point! What stops you from using the bolt gun as your second weapon? The +1 Two Weapons is wide open. And bolt gun is not two handed, so what am i missing there.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





majortwitch wrote:
The way that is worded are pistols are only counted as close combat weapons during the assault. So that would mean they would have two weapons outside of the assault yet only one during. So a moot point as that leaves them with a single weapon in the assault.

But back to first point! What stops you from using the bolt gun as your second weapon? The +1 Two Weapons is wide open. And bolt gun is not two handed, so what am i missing there.

It's not a Melee weapon so cannot be used in assault.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




But is it being used? If you have a power sword and pistol you can swing the sword twice and not use the pistol. Just swing the pistol twice and not use the boltgun? Or does the boltgun disappear in the assault? And where is that it states it cannot be used in the assault?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





majortwitch wrote:
But is it being used? If you have a power sword and pistol you can swing the sword twice and not use the pistol. Just swing the pistol twice and not use the boltgun? Or does the boltgun disappear in the assault? And where is that it states it cannot be used in the assault?

p51 wrote:However, it's worth remembering that if a model has two or more Melee weapons he gains +1 Attack in close combat (see page 24).

p24 wrote: +1 Two Weapons: Engaged models with two single-handed weapons (often a Melee weapon and/or pistol in each hand) get +1 Attack.

You have no permission to count Bolters as a weapon in CC.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From page 50 of the 6th edition rulebook under the heading 'Type':

A shooting weapon always has one of the following types: Assault, heavy, ordnance, pistol, rapid fire or salvo... A Shooting weapon can only be used to make Shooting attacks.


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

majortwitch wrote:
The way that is worded are pistols are only counted as close combat weapons during the assault.
So during the assault you have a specified melee weapon. So during the assault you can't claim to have an Unspecified melee weapon (because at that time you have one), which is the one time it would be useful.
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Dallas, TX

I love this. Your last point: "Pistols as [CCW]..." argument done.

4500
4000
3500
1500
1500 
   
Made in us
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard




Catskills in NYS

With his logic, everybody has two attacks.

Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
 kronk wrote:
Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
 sebster wrote:
Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens
 BaronIveagh wrote:
Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




rigeld2 wrote:
p51 wrote:However, it's worth remembering that if a model has two or more Melee weapons he gains +1 Attack in close combat (see page 24).


That is a reminder that if you happen to have two melee weapons that get extra attack. It goes back to reference page 24 where the vagueness lies. It isn't saying its worth remembering that if a model ONLY has two or more Melee weapons... it is a reminder not a further expansion of rule.

 Ghaz wrote:
From page 50 of the 6th edition rulebook under the heading 'Type':
A shooting weapon always has one of the following types: Assault, heavy, ordnance, pistol, rapid fire or salvo... A Shooting weapon can only be used to make Shooting attacks.


This was covered, the boltgun isn't being used to make the extra attack only qualify. And would this mean the pistol could not be used as CCW? Other rules supersede this line such as the +1 Two Weapons rule.

 Co'tor Shas wrote:
With his logic, everybody has two attacks.

Very true, this was mostly done to point out very poor wording of rules.

As I have come to realize you don't even need a pistol. Even Guardsman with a his lasgun qualifies for two attacks.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





majortwitch wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
p51 wrote:However, it's worth remembering that if a model has two or more Melee weapons he gains +1 Attack in close combat (see page 24).


That is a reminder that if you happen to have two melee weapons that get extra attack. It goes back to reference page 24 where the vagueness lies. It isn't saying its worth remembering that if a model ONLY has two or more Melee weapons... it is a reminder not a further expansion of rule.

Your interpretation requires literally ignoring the rule on page 51. Why are you ignoring a rule?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

majortwitch wrote:
Very true, this was mostly done to point out very poor wording of rules.
I'll disagree with that. If you have no close combat weapon you count as having one. It's simple and elegant. If you then try to justify using this rule when you already have a CCW, then you run into problems
As I have come to realize you don't even need a pistol. Even Guardsman with a his lasgun qualifies for two attacks.
How so? At most he can claim a single Unspecified combat weapon. Where would he get a second from?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





He's claiming Lasguns, Bolters, etc. are a second weapon and therefore give an additional attack.
edit: when combined with either a pistol or non-specified melee weapon

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/06 20:01:16


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

rigeld2 wrote:
He's claiming Lasguns, Bolters, etc. are a second weapon and therefore give an additional attack.
edit: when combined with either a pistol or non-specified melee weapon

That's just strange.
The rule doesn't turn a lasgun in a melee weapon. It just gives a CCW weapon. And they're not pistols.
I'm just really not seeing the logic here.
And somehow doing this without even a pistol? Just no.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/06 20:13:53


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I am not ignoring the rule. I am sure how else to explain it. Try two: "if a model has" we have a "if" there. If tells of one possibility. It is not stating that models with only with two melee weapons get an extra attack. It is not an if and only if statement. If does not exclude non melee weapons which are allowed by page 24.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





majortwitch wrote:
I am not ignoring the rule. I am sure how else to explain it. Try two: "if a model has" we have a "if" there. If tells of one possibility. It is not stating that models with only with two melee weapons get an extra attack. It is not an if and only if statement. If does not exclude non melee weapons which are allowed by page 24.

No, page 24 does not allow non melee weapons. It has explicit permission for melee weapons and pistols (which are also melee weapons). Cite permission for any other type of weapon.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






majortwitch wrote:
The way that is worded are pistols are only counted as close combat weapons during the assault. So that would mean they would have two weapons outside of the assault yet only one during. So a moot point as that leaves them with a single weapon in the assault.

But back to first point! What stops you from using the bolt gun as your second weapon? The +1 Two Weapons is wide open. And bolt gun is not two handed, so what am i missing there.


Yes, while not in Assault, the Space marine has no Melee weapon and defaults to the assumed Melee weapon.

Once the Space marine is in assault though, he has a melee weapon(the Pistol, which in assault is a normal CCW), so no longer has the assumed Melee weapon.

So in any given Phase the Space marine has exactly 1 Melee weapon.

This also comes up all the time, you are not going to find some new argument for 2 weapons, a model only has 2 weapons when it actually has 2+ weapons, and it only actually uses 1 weapon for any given attack.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren






Yeah this is an odd look at the rules. I like how he broke it up with the phases.

So in the shooting phase we look at the gear. Marine = Boltgun, Bolt pistol, frak grenades, krak grenades. which weapons have a shooting profile? He can shoot with the boltgun or the pistol, or throw a grenade.

Then he gets in to an assault. again we look at the wargear. The boltgun cannot be used as a close combat weapon, the pistol can though! So he gets the normal attack for having one close combat weapon, this would be the same as if he did NOT have a pistol. Benefit to having a pistol though is that marines can still fire something before charging.

If he had a Chainsword AND a bolt pistol, that is 2 close combat weapons, so he would get a +1 attack for having two weapons that can be used in an assault.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/06 20:29:16


DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+

"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




rigeld2 wrote:

No, page 24 does not allow non melee weapons. It has explicit permission for melee weapons and pistols (which are also melee weapons). Cite permission for any other type of weapon.

And back to my first post!

majortwitch wrote:

+1 Two Weapons: Engaged models with two singlehanded weapons (often a Melee weapon and or pistol in each hand) get +1 Attack. Models with more than two weapons gain no additional benefit; you only get one extra Attack, even if you have four arm and a sword in each.

Key phrase here, OFTEN a melee and or pistol. The word often leave the possibilities wide open because the +1 attacks are no longer exclusive to melee weapons and pistols. Other ramifications of this that a Space Marine Terminator with a power sword and assault cannon, neither weapon has the two handed rule and no weapon has a one handed rule, would have 3 attacks.

If the word often was replaced with only on page 24 we would not* be talking right now.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/06 20:57:31


 
   
Made in gb
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




Run charcaradons if you want a tactical to have 2 ccw. Just means you lose the 24" rapid fire bolters.
   
Made in se
Glorious Lord of Chaos






The burning pits of Hades, also known as Sweden in summer

Poly Ranger wrote:
Run charcaradons if you want a tactical to have 2 ccw. Just means you lose the 24" rapid fire bolters.


Or take both for 1 ppm.

Currently ongoing projects:
Horus Heresy Alpha Legion
Tyranids  
   
Made in gb
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




Can you do that? I missed that rule!
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





majortwitch wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:

No, page 24 does not allow non melee weapons. It has explicit permission for melee weapons and pistols (which are also melee weapons). Cite permission for any other type of weapon.

And back to my first post!

majortwitch wrote:

+1 Two Weapons: Engaged models with two singlehanded weapons (often a Melee weapon and or pistol in each hand) get +1 Attack. Models with more than two weapons gain no additional benefit; you only get one extra Attack, even if you have four arm and a sword in each.

Key phrase here, OFTEN a melee and or pistol. The word often leave the possibilities wide open because the +1 attacks are no longer exclusive to melee weapons and pistols. Other ramifications of this that a Space Marine Terminator with a power sword and assault cannon, neither weapon has the two handed rule and no weapon has a one handed rule, would have 3 attacks.

If the word often was replaced with only on page 24 we would not* be talking right now.

Yes, the possibilities are open.
Have you found permission yet? That rule only tells you in general what allows it. Page 51 reminds you, specifically, what is required.
You cannot pretend to satisfy one and not the other - you must satisfy both. Your interpretation ignores one of the two rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Okay so this a full run down of things:
+1 Two Weapons: Engaged models with two singlehanded weapons (often a Melee weapon and or pistol in each hand) get +1 Attack. Models with more than two weapons gain no additional benefit; you only get one extra Attack, even if you have four arm and a sword in each.

The first restriction is that weapon must be singlehanded. The is a two handed special rule but there is no "one handed" special rule. Bolt pistols and boltguns have no special rule of two handed, so therefore both are able to used in a single hand. Key word here, OFTEN a melee and or pistol. The word often leave the possibilities wide open because the +1 attacks are no longer exclusive to melee weapons and pistols. Furthering this the use of the world weapon in the last part. "models with more than two weapons" nowhere in there is the word melee. This fails to exclude boltguns or other ranged weapons.
No Specified Melee Weapon: If a model is not specifically stated as having a weapon with the Melee type, it is treated as being armed with a single close combat weapon.

This pretty straight forward, no weapon listed the model is still counted as having a CCW. Even if the model only has a boltgun it has two weapons.
TYPE: A shooting weapon always has one of the following types: Assault, Heavy, Ordnance, Pistol, Rapid Fire or Salvo. These rules (found on the next two pages) measure a weapon's portability and affect the way they can be fired, depending whether or not the model carrying them moved that turn. A shooting weapon can only be used to make Shooting attacks.

The boltgun, or any other gun, isn't being used to make the extra attack. It is there to qualify for the second attack. You need two single handed weapons to gain the benefit. Adhering strictly to this would this mean the pistol could not be used as CCW? Other rules supersede this such as the +1 Two Weapons rule.
MORE THAN ONE WEAPON: Unless otherwise stated, if model has more than one Shooting weapon, he must choose which one to shoot - he cannot fire both in the same Shooting phase. If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows - he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons. However, it's worth remembering that if a model has two or more Melee weapons he gains +1 Attack in close combat (see page24).

The first sentence is not relevant to this, and it does not present any issues either. From the start: "If a model has more than one Melee weapon" the models in question do not have more than one melee weapon. Thus voids the rest of text because it is a continuation of it. So we are back to the "if". IF: a conjunction used to indicate the circumstances that would have to exist in order for a event to happen. If the model happens to have two or more MELEE weapons you are required to choose one for use. The models in question do not have multiple melee weapons and cannot choose. If nothing else you seem to be using the "However" clause out of context, it is one half of the rule. It is a reminding the player that if you happen to have multiple melee weapons you can benefit from the rule on page 24.

I fail see how this is not accounting for all applicable rules

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/06 22:53:43


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Did you read the section after "No Specified Melee Weapons"?

It's called "Pistols as Close Combat Weapons".
From that section "A pistol can be used as a close combat weapon" it then goes on to give it a profile for close combat. This isn't restricted to the assault phase either. So at all times a model with a pistol has a Specified Close Combat Weapon.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: