| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/17 22:12:22
Subject: Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I can't find this being covered anywhere in the rules and I searched this forum and found nothing.
What happens when a tank squadron tank shocks?
Ran into this in a game where a squadron of two IG hydras TS'ed a squad of space marines. They passed their leadership test (only took one, should it have been 2?) and the melta gunner made a death or glory. It managed to immobilize one hydra but what happens to the second one? It was starting an inch or two further back so we decided the immobilization result applied to the one that made contact first but is the second tank treated as a totally separate TS or a continuation of the first? If separate the same melta gunner could shoot at it as well in a death or glory but I assume a second leadership test would need to be passed? Or is it treated as one tank shock since it was only one tank shock declaration and thus the same model can't death or glory again?
If the first tank is immobilized and the second tank moves out of coherency with it's declared TS distance I would assume it's treated the same as abandoning a squadron-mate at any other time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/17 22:15:45
Subject: Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Each vehicle acts independently, so it should've been 2 leadership tests, and the melta gunner could've DoG'd twice.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/17 22:19:13
Subject: Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Does it say that in the rule book? I looked for it but couldn't find anything so just wanted to know for future use.
We ended up playing it as one big tank shock so he death or gloried with another model and a krak grenade who ended up dying.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/17 22:31:03
Subject: Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
Disguised Speculo
|
Cool. I once tank shocked with a squad of 4 Grot Tanks, but my opponent insisted they all had to target the exact same spot (thusly causing a traffic jam) and count as one shock. Seemed stupid even by 40k standards
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/17 22:31:20
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/17 22:40:16
Subject: Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
LUTNIT wrote:Does it say that in the rule book? I looked for it but couldn't find anything so just wanted to know for future use.
We ended up playing it as one big tank shock so he death or gloried with another model and a krak grenade who ended up dying.
Each vehicle moves independently, each has the option to Flat Out (the others can stay and shoot) etc.
The only thing they do together, really, is stay in coherency.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/18 06:16:49
Subject: Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
About the immobilized vehicle. Once immobilized you have the option to abandon it per the rule on page 77 of the BRB, Abandoning Squadron-Mates. If the second tanks movement takes it out of coherency, they become separate units per the rule.
Also of note, you do not need to declare all of the squads tank shocks at once and so you are not forced to move out of coherency if the first one gets immobilized. You declare the first tanks Tank Shock, pivot the tank, declare distance, move the tank, make the necessary roles, end that tanks move. You then declare the next tanks Tank Shock, pivot, declare distance (must end it in coherency with the first unless it's immobilized), moves, roles, repeat unitil the whole squad has moved. You may choose to Tank Shock with some, move normally with others, even leave the lead tank stationary and Tank shock with the one in the rear.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/18 16:36:20
Subject: Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So long as, after movement is complete, they are all in coherency.
That makes sense.
Thanks for the replies.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/18 19:28:32
Subject: Re:Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
I all of a sudden have the urge to order some grot tanks.
|
Do you play 30k? It'd be a lot cooler if you did. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/20 08:50:41
Subject: Re:Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
Iirc only the model in the path of a vehicle can issue a death or glory. Thus if you don't move over the meltagunner - he can't DoG. Nope?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/20 19:24:21
Subject: Re:Squadrons and tank shock
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
koooaei wrote:Iirc only the model in the path of a vehicle can issue a death or glory. Thus if you don't move over the meltagunner - he can't DoG. Nope?
Huh, didn't see that before, you're right.
page 86 wrote:... one of [the units] models in the vehicle's path can stand and attempt to destroy it ...
It could get slippery when a model is right on the edge of the path but if the tank is clearly not even passing close to the melta gunner then it can't Death or Glory. That really changes tank shocking tactics for me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|