| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 12:01:23
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
Hello everybody, I'm having a small dispute with a friend regarding our latest game and I'm in need of arguments supporting (or otherwise) that my deployment was legal according to the rules. Here's my list: (Reserve, joined to Sternguard) He'Stan (Reserve) Tacticals in Drop Pod (Reserve) Tacticals in Drop Pod (On Table) Scouts (Reserve) Sternguards in Drop Pod (On Table) Devastators Fortification His argument is that while the Drop Pods do not count, the units inside them still do and that I arrived with 4 units versus 2 units on the table.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/19 12:10:02
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 12:03:29
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
yes, the unit/s in drop pods definitly count towards how many units you have/can hold in reserve. Why wouldn't they?
|
youtube.com/user/SwedishWookie
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 12:07:12
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
centuryslayer wrote:yes, the unit/s in drop pods definitly count towards how many units you have/can hold in reserve. Why wouldn't they?
because they don't....
units that are forced to start in reserve do not count towards the total number of units you may hold in reserve.
a unit that has taken a drop pod as a dedicated transport and elects to embark upon it are forced to be held in reserve at the start of the game.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 12:11:04
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
Sorry, updated OP, missed writing the Sternguards as inside a DP. The issue here is that we're having different interpretation of what it means that a unit that has to start in reserve does not count and that a DT count as one with it's host unit.
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 12:13:16
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
nutty_nutter wrote: centuryslayer wrote:yes, the unit/s in drop pods definitly count towards how many units you have/can hold in reserve. Why wouldn't they?
because they don't....
units that are forced to start in reserve do not count towards the total number of units you may hold in reserve.
a unit that has taken a drop pod as a dedicated transport and elects to embark upon it are forced to be held in reserve at the start of the game.
Aha, that is a fair point and it does say that in the first line on the drop pod on page 99 in the codex (just checked) under drop pod assault.
|
youtube.com/user/SwedishWookie
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 12:13:54
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
San Sebastian
|
Dammned time warping, by the time I had answered it was already done.
BRB pg 124 Preparing reserves section, just in case someone wants to check.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/19 12:15:58
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 12:16:03
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
GreatAtuin wrote: centuryslayer wrote:yes, the unit/s in drop pods definitly count towards how many units you have/can hold in reserve. Why wouldn't they?
BRB pg 124 Preparing reserves. You are wrong.
yeah. We already know this now
I totally missed the part where drop pods (of course) must be held in reserve. I was just thinking of units held in reserve in general
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/19 12:16:51
youtube.com/user/SwedishWookie
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 12:19:36
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
GreatAtuin wrote:Dammned time warping, by the time I had answered it was already done.
BRB pg 124 Preparing reserves section, just in case someone wants to check.
That half covers it. The other half, and a perhaps more clear summary of the whole situation, is found in the main Rulebook FAQ on the last page. Namely:
"Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No."
So in essence if you MUST start in reserves, or you are embarked upon something that MUST start in reserves, you don't count towards the limits of what can be in reserves. So the list in the OP could, if desired, hold either the Scouts or Devastors in reserves as well because as far as the reserves rules are concerned those are the only two units that exist.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/19 12:21:37
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 12:30:07
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Oh, FAQ's, I should probably print those out and stick 'em in my codex!
|
youtube.com/user/SwedishWookie
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 22:34:39
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Using Inks and Washes
St. George, Utah
|
To the best of my knowledge, Drop Pod assault armies are the only legal armies that can field an entire army in reserves and still not automatically lose by the end of the first turn as they'll deep strike in half the force on the first turn guaranteed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 22:36:16
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
A Necron army can start entirely in Reserve and (in theory) not lose, as long as their opponent has Pods or Deathwing Assault hitting turn 1.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 23:30:57
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
rigeld2 wrote:A Necron army can start entirely in Reserve and (in theory) not lose, as long as their opponent has Pods or Deathwing Assault hitting turn 1.
They'd have to be going second though, as the FAQ has changed things so you lose if you have nothing on at the end of your own turn in addition to at the end of the game turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 23:41:17
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Chrysis wrote:rigeld2 wrote:A Necron army can start entirely in Reserve and (in theory) not lose, as long as their opponent has Pods or Deathwing Assault hitting turn 1.
They'd have to be going second though, as the FAQ has changed things so you lose if you have nothing on at the end of your own turn in addition to at the end of the game turn.
I'm not seeing this in the FAQ.... Am I missing something? Which page of the FAQ.
All I see is someone asking if a purchased fortification defeats the "no models at the end of a GAME turn" requirement.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/19 23:46:54
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Chrysis wrote:They'd have to be going second though, as the FAQ has changed things so you lose if you have nothing on at the end of your own turn in addition to at the end of the game turn.
No idea where you got this from, but it's not in the rulebook FAQ.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/20 00:09:51
Subject: Re:Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
I believe they're referring to this:
"Q: If you leave combat airspace with all of your Flyers and
have no other models on the gaming board at the beginning of
your opponent's turn, do you automatically lose the game?
(p122)
A: Yes."
This only applies if you have left combat airspace with your flyers, a Necron player on turn 1 could not have possible done so.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/20 00:59:53
Subject: Re:Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
PrinceRaven wrote:I believe they're referring to this:
"Q: If you leave combat airspace with all of your Flyers and
have no other models on the gaming board at the beginning of
your opponent's turn, do you automatically lose the game?
(p122)
A: Yes."
This only applies if you have left combat airspace with your flyers, a Necron player on turn 1 could not have possible done so.
Well this is talking about game turn anyways. If you went first, then when opponents turn is done, you lose. All he has to do is say hes done. If you went second, then its the end of the game turn and you lose anyways.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/20 01:21:13
Subject: Re:Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Given that there are units that can arrive during your opponent's turn, I have to disagree with you.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/21 03:10:39
Subject: Re:Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
|
PrinceRaven wrote:Given that there are units that can arrive during your opponent's turn, I have to disagree with you.
Who can do this?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/21 03:16:25
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Deathmarks.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/21 03:17:01
Subject: Re:Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Necron Deathmarks are the first that spring to mind.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/21 05:43:43
Subject: Dispute regarding reserves
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Also any Necron unit with Deepstrike if Nemesor Zandarekh is in the army.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|