Switch Theme:

Look out Sir with models that are out of Line of Sight  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





Assuming I'm shooting at a unit, and the only model I have line of sight to is an IC. Let's say I inflict 5 wounds. What would happen if he decides to Look out Sir for them?

With regular (non blast) weapons, wounds can't be allocated to models out of line of sight, so if he rolls Look out Sir and passes them, what happens to the wounds? Do they disappear? Or is he not allowed to roll Look out Sir? or does Look out Sir supersede the line of sight rule?

Thx.
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





Swindon, UK

The models switch places, so you have LoS to the model(s) he's allocating the wounds to, I reckon.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

LOS specifically states that wounds can be reallocated to models out of range or sight.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

FinecastPraisesNurgle,
Where does it state in the book that the models physically change positions, I might of overlooked that?

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





 Happyjew wrote:
LOS specifically states that wounds can be reallocated to models out of range or sight.


Damn I suck at reading. Thanks, looked over the rule again in the BRB and you're absolutely right.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

JinxDragon wrote:
FinecastPraisesNurgle,
Where does it state in the book that the models physically change positions, I might of overlooked that?


Don't worry, it doesn't.
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block





Swindon, UK

Ah. In that case I was learned wrong!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Gotta stop taking my friends' words for these things

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/21 16:50:51


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 FinecastPraisesNurgle wrote:
Ah. In that case I was learned wrong!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Gotta stop taking my friends' words for these things

The fluff behind Look out Sir is that the model jumps in the way of the character.

This has no bearing on the actual rules though.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine






If you focus fired on the unit then your opponent could only allocate the look out sir to units with the same focused cover.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 thejughead wrote:
If you focus fired on the unit then your opponent could only allocate the look out sir to units with the same focused cover.


That is a much debated statement.
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






Minnesota, land of 10,000 Lakes and 10,000,000,000 Mosquitos

 DeathReaper wrote:
 FinecastPraisesNurgle wrote:
Ah. In that case I was learned wrong!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Gotta stop taking my friends' words for these things

The fluff behind Look out Sir is that the model jumps in the way of the character.

This has no bearing on the actual rules though.


For most armies, anyway. For Orks, I think it's far more likely that the Warboss/Nob is grabbing the nearest boy and using it as a shield.

My Armies:
Kal'reia Sept Tau - Farsight Sympathizers
Da Great Looted Waaagh!
The Court of the Wolf Lords

The Dakka Code:
DT:90-S+++G+++MB-IPw40k10#++D++A+++/sWD-R++T(Ot)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 thejughead wrote:
If you focus fired on the unit then your opponent could only allocate the look out sir to units with the same focused cover.

Except LOS has an allowance to hurt models that could not normally be hurt, e.g. entirely out of LOS. SO no, it is at best debateable that FF denies LOS! in certain cases
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: