Switch Theme:

Imperial Armor and Grot guided hitting a flyer?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Can Grot Guided hit a Zooming Flyer?
No can't even fire at a flyer.
Yes 2+.
Yes as a snap shot.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

So I am facing a Custom Stompa from IA and it has grot guided missiles that hit on a 2+. He wants to shoot them at my zooming flyer (Storm Raven). Does he hit on a 2+? Can he even fire at the Raven?

Relevant FAQ Rules.

Q: Does a weapon that hits automatically, still hit automatically
when making a Snap Shot? (p13)
A: Yes

This he says means the grot missile will hit b/c he says it is like an auto hit ability. Of course I disagree. He rolls a 2+ how can it be an auto hit? What snap shots auto hit flyers? What are they talking about here psyker powers?

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules
that modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Space
Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

Is grot guided a special rule? It seems so so he can't hit on a 2+ right? Grot guided is a special ability hitting on a 2+.

Q: Can I choose to make a Snap Shot rather than a normal
shot? (p13)
A: No.

A grot Guided has no option to fire as a snap shot so can he even snap it at my Raven?


01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in us
Hacking Interventor




2+ isn't an autohit as a natural 1 always fails.

I agree that what is important is how it fires snap shots.
   
Made in au
Hungry Little Ripper




Melbourne

Q1. Yup, I see no flaw in your reasoning there. Rolling 1 is a fail.

Q2. Seems the special rule doesnt modify the BS, it just hits on a 2+, so you may be out of luck there.

Q3. Im assuming this ruling is to prevent players from intentionally missing with weapons, though there seems to be little reason for it. The grot missile would still be making a snap shot, it just hits on a 2+.

But, I dont have the rules from IA, so please ignore me until rules can back me up.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is resolved as a snap shot, so hits at bs1
   
Made in us
Hacking Interventor




The FAQ for wanting to fire a snap shot instead of a normal shot is in regard of the Grey Knight Psycannon I think.

If you move you fire it at assault 4 but you could snapshot it as a heavy at 6. So if you wanted to be cheesy you could fire it at 6 at a flyer.
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





imo I think you may be out of luck on this one.

he is incorrect in his assessment, you are correct that it is still a shooting attack that can normally fail on a roll of a 1, this is fact.

you are incorrect in your assessment that the grot cannot be fired as a snap shot, there is no rule preventing it from being fired as a snap shot so the default is that it can.

the 2+ to hit I assume is the special rule of the grot missile, this shot therefore doesn't care what your BS is, conversely it is also not modifying the BS of the shot either so the FAQ entry is not applicable.

in short, yes he can 'snap shot' at your flyer, and yes it hits on a 2+ because it has a rule that stipulates that's the roll he needs to succeed.

note there is no rule that says that a snap shot can only ever hit on a roll of a 6, Tau and markerlights are my example of needing less than a 6 to hit even after the modification to BS.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 nutty_nutter wrote:
imo I think you may be out of luck on this one.

he is incorrect in his assessment, you are correct that it is still a shooting attack that can normally fail on a roll of a 1, this is fact.

you are incorrect in your assessment that the grot cannot be fired as a snap shot, there is no rule preventing it from being fired as a snap shot so the default is that it can.

the 2+ to hit I assume is the special rule of the grot missile, this shot therefore doesn't care what your BS is, conversely it is also not modifying the BS of the shot either so the FAQ entry is not applicable.

in short, yes he can 'snap shot' at your flyer, and yes it hits on a 2+ because it has a rule that stipulates that's the roll he needs to succeed.

note there is no rule that says that a snap shot can only ever hit on a roll of a 6, Tau and markerlights are my example of needing less than a 6 to hit even after the modification to BS.


The only things that can modify a Snap Shot are those with specific permission, which markerlights have. Grot guided does not.

   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Does it state the Grot is resolved at 2+ ?
Could be a possible situation with two conflicting 'resolved at' rules, how interesting.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

It is a special rule that states a Grot guided hit on a 2+.

But who has that Imperial Armor to check. I certainly know only that one orc player who has it.

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

No rule can alter the BS of a snap shot without very very specific allowance (see marker lights).

So either it's Snap Shooting at Bs1, or it's Snap Shooting and it can't hit a flyer.

If it's hitting on a 2+ it's not a Snap Shot.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The word 'Resolved' is what I am curious about, as that is a Terminology that can assist us in determining which rule trumps which.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




JinxDragon wrote:
The word 'Resolved' is what I am curious about, as that is a Terminology that can assist us in determining which rule trumps which.


Would not matter. Specific vs General. The rule to hit a Flyer is more specific than a Snap shot rule.
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc



NC

 grendel083 wrote:
No rule can alter the BS of a snap shot without very very specific allowance (see marker lights).

So either it's Snap Shooting at Bs1, or it's Snap Shooting and it can't hit a flyer.

If it's hitting on a 2+ it's not a Snap Shot.


Grot guided doesn't modify BS. The Grot Guided special rule never even mentions BS. It hit very simply states "...hits on a 2+. By arguable logic the Stompa is shooting at BS1 and hitting on a 2+, just as normally it is shooting at BS2 and hitting on a 2+. Even if i might not play it that way.

 
   
Made in us
Grovelin' Grot Rigger





Louisiana

Since a Grot Bomb does not have a BS and it is also a blast weapon it can not snap shoot. BRb Pg 13.

BRB Pg 81-Hard to hit-"blast weapons can not be fired at zooming flyers. " so unless the flyer is in hover mode a Grot Bomb can not be fired at all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/25 01:51:28


those stoopid I want some o' dose landraider parts for me battle wagon. Shoot it again I say. Felmid's Forge.  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

ork_smash wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
No rule can alter the BS of a snap shot without very very specific allowance (see marker lights).

So either it's Snap Shooting at Bs1, or it's Snap Shooting and it can't hit a flyer.

If it's hitting on a 2+ it's not a Snap Shot.


Grot guided doesn't modify BS. The Grot Guided special rule never even mentions BS. It hit very simply states "...hits on a 2+. By arguable logic the Stompa is shooting at BS1 and hitting on a 2+, just as normally it is shooting at BS2 and hitting on a 2+. Even if i might not play it that way.
Then it's not a Snap Shot.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
JinxDragon wrote:
The word 'Resolved' is what I am curious about, as that is a Terminology that can assist us in determining which rule trumps which.
Hits on a 2+, doesn't say resolve.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/25 01:47:37


 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






Look at the similar ruling for markerlight-guided seeker missiles, which also automatically hit on a 2+. The answer there was that the "snap shots only" and "snap shots may not be modified above BS 1" rules take priority, and seeker missiles against flyers hit on 6s.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

He didn't say it was a blast weapon. imperial Armor 8 is it a blast weapon?

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Mythra wrote:
He didn't say it was a blast weapon. imperial Armor 8 is it a blast weapon?
No, they aren't blast.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Peregrine wrote:
Look at the similar ruling for markerlight-guided seeker missiles, which also automatically hit on a 2+. The answer there was that the "snap shots only" and "snap shots may not be modified above BS 1" rules take priority, and seeker missiles against flyers hit on 6s.


Seeker Missiles are (and were) fired at BS5, not "hit on a 2+".

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




which gun was it specifically? the supa-rokkit is grot guided but it is a heavy 1. so it can be fired as a snap shot, and shoot at a flier.

the whole of the rule for grot guided is "hits on a 2+" nothing to do with modifying BS. It just hits on a 2+.

so your model can fire it as a snap shot BS1, then with grot guided hit on a 2+.

Edited:

OK so I changed my mind. If it hits on a 2+ it doesn't use a BS at all so can't be fired as a snapshot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/25 03:04:44


 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





New Orleans

Q: Can the BS1 of a Snap Shot ever be modified by special rules
that modify the BS of a model’s Shooting attack (such as Space
Marine Signums or Sergeant Telion’s Voice of Experience)? (p13)
A: No.

I think it is clear then he has to fire it as a snap if he wants to fire. It is a special rule doing the 2+.

01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110  
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

If it doesn't use BS, and it doesn't because it hits on a 2+ rather than referencing BS, then it can't be fired as a Snap Shot and thus can't be fired at a Flyer (without Skyfire).
   
Made in il
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch






Yes, you fire it as a snap-shot.

Yes, you hit on a 2+, because snap shot means you shoot at BS1, not that you hit on 6s, and grot-guided do not care about your BS at all.

can neither confirm nor deny I lost track of what I've got right now. 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 BoomWolf wrote:
Yes, you fire it as a snap-shot.

Yes, you hit on a 2+, because snap shot means you shoot at BS1, not that you hit on 6s, and grot-guided do not care about your BS at all.


No. As you pointed out it doesn't care about your BS at all. That means you can't fire it as a Snap Shot.
   
Made in il
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch






Now where did you get THAT idea?

The fact the BS is irrelevant does not matter the fact it is THERE, and it IS a part of the shooting attack, its just rendered irrelevant by the chain reaction.

Step 1-you target.
Step 2-you require to snap shoot due to your target.
Step 3-your BS is 1 instead of 2, meaning you hit on 6 rather then on 5.
Step 4-you hit on 2 anyway, regardless of your actual BS limits.

The point is, snap shooting modifies your BS, who in turn modifies your to-hit, but then the grot rule kicks in and directly modifies the to-hit yet again, making the change to BS, while there in the background, completely irrelevant.

can neither confirm nor deny I lost track of what I've got right now. 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 BoomWolf wrote:
Now where did you get THAT idea?

The fact the BS is irrelevant does not matter the fact it is THERE, and it IS a part of the shooting attack, its just rendered irrelevant by the chain reaction.

Step 1-you target.
Step 2-you require to snap shoot due to your target.
Step 3-your BS is 1 instead of 2, meaning you hit on 6 rather then on 5.
Step 4-you hit on 2 anyway, regardless of your actual BS limits.

The point is, snap shooting modifies your BS, who in turn modifies your to-hit, but then the grot rule kicks in and directly modifies the to-hit yet again, making the change to BS, while there in the background, completely irrelevant.



pg 13, snap shots, read the important to note.

 
   
Made in au
Hungry Little Ripper




Melbourne

sirlynchmob wrote: pg 13, snap shots, read the important to note.


 MightyWeasel wrote:

But, I dont have the rules from IA, so please ignore me until rules can back me up.


Awww nuts, thought I was actually gonna be right on that one.
   
Made in il
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch






sirlynchmob wrote:
 BoomWolf wrote:
Now where did you get THAT idea?

The fact the BS is irrelevant does not matter the fact it is THERE, and it IS a part of the shooting attack, its just rendered irrelevant by the chain reaction.

Step 1-you target.
Step 2-you require to snap shoot due to your target.
Step 3-your BS is 1 instead of 2, meaning you hit on 6 rather then on 5.
Step 4-you hit on 2 anyway, regardless of your actual BS limits.

The point is, snap shooting modifies your BS, who in turn modifies your to-hit, but then the grot rule kicks in and directly modifies the to-hit yet again, making the change to BS, while there in the background, completely irrelevant.



pg 13, snap shots, read the important to note.


I read it, and it is, in this case, irrelevant.
Its not that the weapon do not use BS, its is that the BS, whatever it is, gets later overwritten.

Should it work, RAI? no.
Does it work, RAW? yes.

Its the same as "wounds on X" weapons. its not that they dont test strength vs toughness, is that the result is overwritten.

(this is all under the assumption that the grot guilded rule makes things "hit on 2+", and not modify BS to 5.)

can neither confirm nor deny I lost track of what I've got right now. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 BoomWolf wrote:
I read it, and it is, in this case, irrelevant.
No, it's very very relevant.

BRB Snap Shots wrote:It's important to note that any shooting attack that does not use a Ballistic Skill – such as the Necron Monolith’s portal of exile – cannot be ‘fired’ as a Snap Shot


You're not using a Ballistic Skill. It's not a Snap Shot. Very straight forward, black and white.

No matter how you try to word it, hitting on a 2+ is NOT using the Ballistic Skill. Not a Snap Shot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/25 16:22:05


 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

 grendel083 wrote:
 BoomWolf wrote:
I read it, and it is, in this case, irrelevant.
No, it's very very relevant.

BRB Snap Shots wrote:It's important to note that any shooting attack that does not use a Ballistic Skill – such as the Necron Monolith’s portal of exile – cannot be ‘fired’ as a Snap Shot


You're not using a Ballistic Skill. It's not a Snap Shot. Very straight forward, black and white.

No matter how you try to word it, hitting on a 2+ is NOT using the Ballistic Skill. Not a Snap Shot.



As Grendel quoted, rules are quite a clear no.

It's a shooting attack that doesn't use BS to work out what roll you hit on, and such attacks can not be snap shots. Only snap shots can hit zoomers or swoopers, so this attack can not hit them.

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: