Switch Theme:

Reanimation Protocols and royal court characters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




In the RP rule it states that a character's presence is not sufficient to grant RP rolls to a unit if he's the sole survivor of the unit.

This gets confusing when you start to combine the idea of repair barge and lord / crpyteks who are left by themselves after their unit has been wiped out.

Many people have told me that the royal court character is split from his unit and becomes a unit separate from the warrior squad when the unit is dead, but this seems very broken as it means you "spawn" an additional kill point if the EL roll is made.

I once made a thread asking about whether a lord/crpytek counted as a warrior squad / troop choice when assigned to lead a squad of them and whether or not, when the unit is wiped out, the lord / cryptek still counted as a warrior squad for the purposes of kill points, scoring and repair barge.
Thread here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/580181.page

I was wondering if I could make a thread to clarify these rules as the first post in the above thread seems to indicate that:

- If a squad of warriors and a lord is wiped out and the lord makes his EL roll, then the squad of warriors is not counted as dead and the lord still counts as a scoring unit and can be repair barged

- If all the warriors in the squad is wiped out and the lord is left standing, then you get to make RP rolls for the unit. ( this is the point of contention as some people have told me yes and no to this)

This whole thing is very confusing and would be helped if the FAQ or codex would just say something similar to wolf pack leaders in the space wolves FAQ, but right now, the fact that there's so much contention in how these rules are played that it's preventing me from fielding any units that make use of them because I can't be bothered having the rule debate with people over it unless I want to field them in their disadvantaged form.

This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2014/02/24 23:18:26


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





St. Louis, MO

sonicaucie wrote:

- If a squad of warriors and a lord is wiped out and the lord makes his EL roll, then the squad of warriors is not counted as dead and the lord still counts as a scoring unit and can be repair barged


By joining the warrior squad, he is a part of it until he is removed from play. Unlike independent characters, there is no rule stating that he leaves the unit when the rest of the unit dies so he is still a cryptek in a "necron warrior unit" that has no necron warriors left. This means the repair barge still functions. Scoring is a little more fuzzy, but most people I know play it as he is still scoring, since the unit itself is scoring, regardless of the fact that the warriors themselves are gone


- If all the warriors in the squad is wiped out and the lord is left standing, then you get to make RP rolls for the unit. ( this is the point of contention as some people have told me yes and no to this)


This is spelled out pretty clearly in the RP rules. If a character is the only surviving member of a unit, then you remove all RP counters for the unit.

11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die.
++

Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless.
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




1. Yes the lone lord is still in a necron warrior unit, same as a lone space marine sergeant is still in a tactical squad. So the lord is scoring and the unit can be repaired by a ghost ark.

2. As per RP rules, if the only surviving member of a unit is a character, all RP counters on that unit are removed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/25 18:13:33


 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





To chime in: Yes the lord or cryptek counts as a 'necron warrior unit' even if all the actual warriors that originally comprised the unit are dead in that scenario. And No, as per the reanimation and ever-living protocols, a lone cryptek or lord is not sufficient to allow said warrior squad to reanimate it's warriors if none of the warrior models themselves are still alive.

What is mildly more ambigious, is how this interacts with the repair ability of the ghost ark. My take on it is that you can still add models to a warrior unit that is comprised solely of a lord or cryptek, but that they must be 'necron warrior' models, not additional lords or crypteks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/27 00:12:50


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 Neorealist wrote:
To chime in: Yes the lord or cryptek counts as a 'necron warrior unit' even if all the actual warriors that originally comprised the unit are dead in that scenario. And No, as per the reanimation and ever-living protocols, a lone cryptek or lord is not sufficient to allow said warrior squad to reanimate it's warriors if none of the warrior models themselves are still alive.

What is mildly more ambigious, is how this interacts with the repair ability of the ghost ark. My take on it is that you can still add models to a warrior unit that is comprised solely of a lord or cryptek, but that they must be 'necron warrior' models, not additional lords or crypteks.


I find the repair barge rule wording very odd in that case because the rule states that d3 "models" can be added to the "necron warrior" unit up to the original unit's size.

It's weird to make a distinction and then not carry it through the rest of the sentence but is too ambiguous and vague to try and field it so that it could restore royal court characters that have died in the warrior squad.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/27 15:18:23


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




I personally see it played as you can add back to the unit models that were in that unit from deployment - so crypteks etc can be replaced, but not created from nothing.

Otherwise you can technically add d3 Ctan to the unit. Or D3 monoliths...
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





I completely agree that 'necron models' is not nearly as clear and definitive as it should be. Technically anything in the codex and other sources counts as a 'necron model' up to and including models like an ascended c'tan or Imotekh the Stormlord? That said, I believe they intended that only warriors can be revived, but I cannot point to a specific rule that explicitly limits the ability to them at this time.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 Neorealist wrote:
I completely agree that 'necron models' is not nearly as clear and definitive as it should be. Technically anything in the codex and other sources counts as a 'necron model' up to and including models like an ascended c'tan or Imotekh the Stormlord? That said, I believe they intended that only warriors can be revived, but I cannot point to a specific rule that explicitly limits the ability to them at this time.


Interestingly enough, the necron codex uses the word "model" as a term for "non-vehicle unit". If you look at the summary page and some of the rules you can see this distinction...

So for this rule to make a mistake like this, is a big oversight. Especially when the FAQ makes the same mistake.

Page 53 – Repair Barge.
Change the third sentence to “if the result is 2 or more, add
D3 models to the unit. These must be placed within unit
coherency of at least one model that hasn’t been created this
turn. They can move and act normally this turn.”

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/02/27 14:53:12


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

You'll notice it does not say Necron models. Just models. Therefore, you can add anything you want, such as an Emperor-class titan.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Now wouldn't that be fun? Briefly, before your opponent likely buffets you about the head and shoulders with the BRB. ;-)
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal






Halifax, NS

 Happyjew wrote:
You'll notice it does not say Necron models. Just models. Therefore, you can add anything you want, such as an Emperor-class titan.



lol

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: