Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 02:27:09
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I have a chaos lord of khorn who is also a juggernaut lord and thus mounted and treated as cavalry, he is also joinined by a united of Chaos spawn. I want.to make sure I am playing this right.
CS = beast
12" of movement and are not slowed by difficult terrain. Fleet, and moves through cover.
JL = cavalry
12" of movement and are not slowed by difficult terrain but must make dangerous terrain tests.. Fleet, hammer of wraith.
Moves through cover states: "A unit that contains at least one model..." and "...automatically passes dangerous terrain tests"
So here are my questions:
1. Does the Chaos spawn "move through over rule" mean that the juggalord, now part of the unit, effectively ignores dangerous terrain tests?
2. Are charges handled as normal as far as 2d6 (fleet applied where needed) for charge distance but because of "ignores difficult terrain" stated in both beast and cavalry rules that they are never effected by terrain for the sake of charging through cover that reduces them to initiative 1? If I am correct "Move through cover" does not grant a model the ability to ignore being reduced to initiative 1 but rather the beast and cavalry rules themselves that allow for this?
3. Also does the cavalry or beast designation give them any additional run distance or is it the standard 6"?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/02 02:32:36
2000
1000
Rebel: X-Wing x2 : Y-Wing x1 : YT-1300 x1
Imperial: Firespray-31 x1 : Tie Fighter x2 : Tie advanced x1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 02:56:31
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
No.
Yes.
No. Not unless you're playing slaanesh daemons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 03:04:26
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Moves through cover states: "A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule..." and "...automatically passes dangerous terrain tests"
If the juggalord has joined the unit of spawn, is he not part of the unit, and therefor the special rule applies to him much in the way fearless would e shared from him to CSM if he joined them? Automatically Appended Next Post: If not, why?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/02 03:04:36
2000
1000
Rebel: X-Wing x2 : Y-Wing x1 : YT-1300 x1
Imperial: Firespray-31 x1 : Tie Fighter x2 : Tie advanced x1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 03:08:05
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
juggy lord is an IC, has MTC. he auto-passes dangerous terrain tests, yes. pretty sure he doesn't get the 'ignores terrain when moving through it' bit though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/02 03:08:59
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 03:13:15
Subject: Re:juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The juggarlord gets fleet and HoW usp only. In his movment it states "is not slowed by difficult terrain but must take a dangerous terrain test" he does NOT have moves through cover.
However if he is joined by Chaos spawn, who do, should he not get the benefit as the rule stats within it "A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule..." and "...automatically passes dangerous terrain tests" and he is effectively part of the unit. An example of this is when a chaos lord with fearless joins a group of CSM and they in turn are now fearless.
|
2000
1000
Rebel: X-Wing x2 : Y-Wing x1 : YT-1300 x1
Imperial: Firespray-31 x1 : Tie Fighter x2 : Tie advanced x1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 03:19:32
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
Based on those rules, the Lord will not take dangerous terrain tests.
however, any model that moves through terrain (whether it ignores the effects or not) will strike at I1 in CC unless it has grenades or some other special rule (this is either in the BRB or the BRB FAQs)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 03:23:12
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
There seems to be some confusion.
MTC does 2 things:
1. The unit rolls an extra D6 for difficult terrain.
2. The model auto passes Dangerous Terrain tests.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 03:23:15
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
You'll note the rule is in two sections:
1st
"A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule rolls an extra D6 when..."
2nd
"Furthermore, a model with the Move Through Cover special rule automatically passes Dangerous Terrain tests."
The first part would apply to all models in the unit including attached characters. However the second part would not, as the character does not have the MTC special rule.
The second part does not contain the same wording of "units that contain at least one model..."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 03:26:25
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Automatically Appended Next Post:
grendel083 wrote:You'll note the rule is in two sections:
1st
"A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule rolls an extra D6 when..."
2nd
"Furthermore, a model with the Move Through Cover special rule automatically passes Dangerous Terrain tests."
The first part would apply to all models in the unit including attached characters. However the second part would not, as the character does not have the MTC special rule.
The second part does not contain the same wording of "units that contain at least one model..."
This is crystal clear when you point that out, thank you.
chelsea_hollywood wrote:Based on those rules, the Lord will not take dangerous terrain tests.
however, any model that moves through terrain (whether it ignores the effects or not) will strike at I1 in CC unless it has grenades or some other special rule (this is either in the BRB or the BRB FAQs)
It says in both cavalry and Beast "are not slowed by difficult terrain, even when charging." I feel the RAI imply this to mean there initiative is not reduced durring charge, one could make an argument that even with RAW "slowed" could be applied to initiative which is the slowing of when a unit attacks"
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/02 03:30:26
2000
1000
Rebel: X-Wing x2 : Y-Wing x1 : YT-1300 x1
Imperial: Firespray-31 x1 : Tie Fighter x2 : Tie advanced x1
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 04:31:22
Subject: Re:juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
JoshTheMadTitan wrote:The juggarlord gets fleet and HoW usp only. In his movment it states "is not slowed by difficult terrain but must take a dangerous terrain test" he does NOT have moves through cover.
However if he is joined by Chaos spawn, who do, should he not get the benefit as the rule stats within it "A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule..." and "...automatically passes dangerous terrain tests" and he is effectively part of the unit. An example of this is when a chaos lord with fearless joins a group of CSM and they in turn are now fearless.
...for some reason i though IC's had MTC as part of being an IC. i just reviewed and no, they don't. MY BAD. dunno wtf i got that from.
carry on. Automatically Appended Next Post: as far as beasts/cav making a charge move through cover, they strike at I1. it's in the BRB FAQ, first question on page 5.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/02 04:34:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 04:38:04
Subject: Re:juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
gigasnail wrote:...for some reason i though IC's had MTC as part of being an IC. i just reviewed and no, they don't. MY BAD. dunno wtf i got that from.
Last edition all IC's had MTC and skilled rider. No longer.
That's probably where you got the idea
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 04:41:14
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
thanks, i don't feel quite so stupid now. it was one of those 'this is so obvious i don't even need to reach for the book' things.
...guess i should have reached for the book, huh?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 05:40:19
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
JoshTheMadTitan wrote:3. Also does the cavalry or beast designation give them any additional run distance or is it the standard 6"?
The rest has (finally) been covered adequately, but I want to point out that running is d6" and Fleet allows you to re-roll that distance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 05:52:04
Subject: juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
JoshTheMadTitan wrote:chelsea_hollywood wrote:
however, any model that moves through terrain (whether it ignores the effects or not) will strike at I1 in CC unless it has grenades or some other special rule (this is either in the BRB or the BRB FAQs)
It says in both cavalry and Beast "are not slowed by difficult terrain, even when charging." I feel the RAI imply this to mean there initiative is not reduced durring charge, one could make an argument that even with RAW "slowed" could be applied to initiative which is the slowing of when a unit attacks"
Except "are not slowed by difficult terrain" has to do with movement and not CC attacks as normally units that are slowed may not move the full distance as they need to roll dice to determine how far they actually move.
Therefore it has nothing to do with close combat, as "not slowed by difficult terrain" pertains to movement and nothing else.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/02 06:52:32
Subject: Re:juggalord and chaos spawn movement rules
|
 |
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider
|
gigasnail wrote:
as far as beasts/cav making a charge move through cover, they strike at I1. it's in the BRB FAQ, first question on page 5.
That's the bit i was referring too.
I'm sorry i had the other rule incorrect. I should have checked my book rather than read what was posted.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/02 06:52:59
|
|
 |
 |
|