Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 04:00:00
Subject: Going to ground, receiving fearless, then losing it again
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
|
The most obvious (and relevant to the question) example would be this: Termagants are out of Synapse in the enemy turn. They are shot at and either pinned or choose to go to ground in the shooting phase. Back to your turn, a unit with Synapse (Tervigon) either casts Dominion or moves into Synapse range, thus giving the Termagants fearless and they all get back up and can move and shoot as normal. This bit there is no contention for ruling about. But here's where it gets tricky. With the Termagant's move, they then moves outside of Synapse range and lose Fearless again. Are they back to firing snapshots, and unable to run or charge, since they did GtG last turn and are no longer Fearless? Or do they completely forgotten that they ducked for cover last turn once the Fearless state is applied, even if they later go to lose that USR?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/06 04:02:15
P.S.A. I won't read your posts if you break it into a million separate quotes and make an eyesore of it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 04:11:55
Subject: Going to ground, receiving fearless, then losing it again
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Fearless doesn't negate the effects of having gone to ground, it removes the condition from the unit. So even if you lose Fearless later they may still act as normal.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 04:16:47
Subject: Going to ground, receiving fearless, then losing it again
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
PrinceRaven wrote:Fearless doesn't negate the effects of having gone to ground, it removes the condition from the unit. So even if you lose Fearless later they may still act as normal.
Hmmm... The FAQ on this does say the effects are removed:
Q: If a unit has the Fearless special rule applied to them while they have Gone to Ground, are the effects of Go to Ground immediately cancelled (for example, if this were to occur at the start of their turn could those units then move, shoot etc. as normal in the appropriate phases?) (p35)
A: Yes.
Effects are canceled.
Although personally I agree they should not be counted as gone to ground at all from that point.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 04:21:39
Subject: Going to ground, receiving fearless, then losing it again
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Exactly, they are cancelled, removed, expelled, nullified, invalidated, gone. Cancellation is permanent.
Also, the FAQ entry indicates that even if the Fearless rule is only applied at the start of the turn they may still act as normal throughout the rest of the turn.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 04:23:21
Subject: Going to ground, receiving fearless, then losing it again
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Agreed. Just strange they used the term "negate the effects" rather than remove the whole thing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 05:51:33
Subject: Going to ground, receiving fearless, then losing it again
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
|
Thanks for your help guys. Which FAQ is this, and where can I find it? I would like to make a print out.
|
P.S.A. I won't read your posts if you break it into a million separate quotes and make an eyesore of it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/06 07:11:19
Subject: Going to ground, receiving fearless, then losing it again
|
 |
Repentia Mistress
|
BRB FAQ, v1.5. Page 5, right column, middle.
|
DS:70+S+G+M-B--IPw40k94-D+++A++/wWD380R+T(D)DM+
Avatar scene by artist Nicholas Kay. Give credit where it's due! |
|
 |
 |
|