Switch Theme:

Tau Target Lock shot timing  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Saratoga Springs, NY

Hello, I have a question: Is it ever specified whether the shots taken by a model with a target lock (or the free "split fire" Shadowsun has) are resolved simultaneously with the rest of the squad's shooting, or if you resolve one then the other? So would it go: "designate target lock target, designate non-target lock target, resolve both" or "designate target lock target, resolve target lock target, designate non-target lock target, resolve non-target lock target"?

Just curious because I had the very TFG thought of using a fusion battlesuit with a target lock to pop a transport, then allocating the other battlesuit's firepower to the newly disembarked squad.

Like watching other people play video games (badly) while blathering about nothing in particular? Check out my Youtube channel: joemamaUSA!

BrianDavion wrote:
Between the two of us... I think GW is assuming we the players are not complete idiots.


Rapidly on path to becoming the world's youngest bitter old man. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Standard order; pick all targets, make all rolls to hit, make all rolls to wound/penetrate, etc.. So, no, you can't do that.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

However, if it were possible to blow up a transport and shoot the guys inside, why would it be a TFG move?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Saratoga Springs, NY

 MasterSlowPoke wrote:
However, if it were possible to blow up a transport and shoot the guys inside, why would it be a TFG move?


It was more the fact I was wondering if the rule allowed it than the actual action.

Of course that doesn't stop me from moving Shadowsun out of coherence immediately before popping the transport, then spraying down the squad inside anyway

Like watching other people play video games (badly) while blathering about nothing in particular? Check out my Youtube channel: joemamaUSA!

BrianDavion wrote:
Between the two of us... I think GW is assuming we the players are not complete idiots.


Rapidly on path to becoming the world's youngest bitter old man. 
   
Made in de
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot





All shooting within a single unit happens simultaneously, unless specified otherwise (such as networked markerlights).
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






maceria wrote:
All shooting within a single unit happens simultaneously, unless specified otherwise (such as networked markerlights).


Speaking of which. (though i think it would ever occur with that one model from forgeworld)

would you have to resolve a grounding test against a MC with a NML and if failed would allow the rest of the unit to fire full bs?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/10 18:48:08


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Desubot wrote:
maceria wrote:
All shooting within a single unit happens simultaneously, unless specified otherwise (such as networked markerlights).


Speaking of which. (though i think it would ever occur with that one model from forgeworld)

would you have to resolve a grounding test against a MC with a NML and if failed would allow the rest of the unit to fire full bs?


Although 1 Shooting attack is fully resolved, the unit's shooting attacks have not.

Grounded tests happen after the unit's shooting attacks.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




If a Flying Monstrous Creature that is Swooping suffers one or more hits from a unit's Shooting attack, it must take a Grounded test immediately after that Shooting attack has been resolved.
The Grounding test is made immediately after THAT shooting attack is RESOLVED. Since a networked markerlight is RESOLVED before the rest of the shooting, I don't see how it doesn't qualify.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

You take grounding tests if you have been hit one or more times by the unit's shooting attack. Although NMLs are resolved before the rest of the unit's shooting, it is still part of the unit's shooting attack. Otherwise, you would have to re-nominate the unit to fire, and you do not have permission to do so.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Even though the markerlight goes first, the unit still has not finished resolving its shooting attack, therefore the ML would not ground a FMC then be able to shoot it on the ground.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Pyrian wrote:
If a Flying Monstrous Creature that is Swooping suffers one or more hits from a unit's Shooting attack, it must take a Grounded test immediately after that Shooting attack has been resolved.
The Grounding test is made immediately after THAT shooting attack is RESOLVED. Since a networked markerlight is RESOLVED before the rest of the shooting, I don't see how it doesn't qualify.

No, it isn't. It's taken after the unit has resolved it's shooting.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




nosferatu1001 wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
If a Flying Monstrous Creature that is Swooping suffers one or more hits from a unit's Shooting attack, it must take a Grounded test immediately after that Shooting attack has been resolved.
The Grounding test is made immediately after THAT shooting attack is RESOLVED. Since a networked markerlight is RESOLVED before the rest of the shooting, I don't see how it doesn't qualify.
No, it isn't.
Yes it is: "Once the shots from the networked markerlights are resolved, the unit can then fire their other weapons." Underline added.

nosferatu1001 wrote:
It's taken after the unit has resolved it's shooting.
It's taken "...immediately after that Shooting attack is resolved". Underline added. The unit has explicitly resolved the shooting attack which hit the FMC. You must now take a test - no permission to wait.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





So you can show proof that the NML is a separate shooting attack?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Pyrian wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
If a Flying Monstrous Creature that is Swooping suffers one or more hits from a unit's Shooting attack, it must take a Grounded test immediately after that Shooting attack has been resolved.
The Grounding test is made immediately after THAT shooting attack is RESOLVED. Since a networked markerlight is RESOLVED before the rest of the shooting, I don't see how it doesn't qualify.
No, it isn't.
Yes it is: "Once the shots from the networked markerlights are resolved, the unit can then fire their other weapons." Underline added.

nosferatu1001 wrote:
It's taken after the unit has resolved it's shooting.
It's taken "...immediately after that Shooting attack is resolved". Underline added. The unit has explicitly resolved the shooting attack which hit the FMC. You must now take a test - no permission to wait.

That shooting attack referencing the shooting attack made by the unit. You have resolved part of that attack, not all of it
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Pyrian wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Pyrian wrote:
If a Flying Monstrous Creature that is Swooping suffers one or more hits from a unit's Shooting attack, it must take a Grounded test immediately after that Shooting attack has been resolved.
The Grounding test is made immediately after THAT shooting attack is RESOLVED. Since a networked markerlight is RESOLVED before the rest of the shooting, I don't see how it doesn't qualify.
No, it isn't.
Yes it is: "Once the shots from the networked markerlights are resolved, the unit can then fire their other weapons." Underline added.

nosferatu1001 wrote:
It's taken after the unit has resolved it's shooting.
It's taken "...immediately after that Shooting attack is resolved". Underline added. The unit has explicitly resolved the shooting attack which hit the FMC. You must now take a test - no permission to wait.


Grounding tests say you take the test after the Unit's attacks are resolved. If you still have models waiting to fire, have you resolved all the units shooting attacks ?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: