Switch Theme:

Flyers arriving from reserve?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





USA

Hey all! Reading the rulebook right now and was curious if when a flyer arrives from reserve can it arrive anywhere on the field akin to deep striking (minus the scatter dice?) Not seeing the clarification in the rulebook...
Appreciate the help!

The original R€4P€RK1NG


 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Arriving from reserves is the same for everyone, you move in from the edge of your table edge
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





USA

Ah appreciate it thanks!

The original R€4P€RK1NG


 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






There are FW Flierers that can appear from reserve regularly as described above or deepstrike, but those are clearly an exception with rules applicable only to them.

   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block



Britian

Do you deploy the flyer fully on te table edge then move it on from the base?

Sorry for the thread high - jack

8k pts
3k pts
2.5k pts

Currently working on;  
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






You place the flyers base against the table edge and move from there. Your flyer base front edge cannot end up further from the table edge it arrived from than its movement range.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Stephanius wrote:
You place the flyers base against the table edge and move from there. Your flyer base front edge cannot end up further from the table edge it arrived from than its movement range.


Not quite. As a vehicle you use the hull, which means the forward most part of the hull must be lined up with the edge of the board.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Hull must be entirely off the table, then the hull must be entirely on the table at the end of the move.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





USA

In the case of the Necron doom scythe, and the Night Scythe transport? My friend says they have deep strike. If so do they scatter as normal when coming in then?

The original R€4P€RK1NG


 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Murdius Maximus wrote:
In the case of the Necron doom scythe, and the Night Scythe transport? My friend says they have deep strike. If so do they scatter as normal when coming in then?
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3180057a_Necrons_v1.4_APRIL13.pdf
Page 50/95 – Doom Scythe, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.

Page 51/91 – Night Scythe, Special Rules.
Remove the Deep Strike special rule.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





USA

Ah! I downloaded the faq onto my phone but some pages didn't make it through that's why I couldn't find it lol! Thanks!

The original R€4P€RK1NG


 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Happyjew wrote:
 Stephanius wrote:
You place the flyers base against the table edge and move from there. Your flyer base front edge cannot end up further from the table edge it arrived from than its movement range.


Not quite. As a vehicle you use the hull, which means the forward most part of the hull must be lined up with the edge of the board.


I only found references to the flier model for shooting. For movement I've only ever seen the base used, not the model. Can you point me at the source for your statement please?

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Page 71, Vehicles & Measuring Distances which is slightly amended on page 80, under Flyers and Measuring.


Once it is actually on the table, using the base for movement purposes does not affect things too much, and as such could be used without people raising a stink.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/18 00:54:59


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






Thank you.

That section instructs us to measure to and from the hull, with the preface that most vehicles do not have a base. This can be read as an explanation as to why we measure from the base, or as a condition.

Since the flyer has a base, the "has no base" condition is not met and we use the base for measuring.

That appears as both logical and practical to me, since it is less awkward than finding the outline of the flier on the table accurately. Of course, I understand that for a huge flier without a base in the box measuring from the hull is more practical.

Walker bases are not helpful as example for or against base measuring here, considering the "assault like infantry" bits for measuring.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Explanation that most vehicles don't have a base is not permission to use the base for measuring. Do you use skimmer bases to measure?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut






No, but like walkers the skimmer base being irrelevant is handled in their unit type section.

Rereading page 80 Vehicles-Flyers in the original English version makes me shut up though
It states explicitly to measure from the hull. Fair enough, something learned.

The only flier I have used so far is the hell turkey, for which there is about one inch difference between snout and base edge. That explains why I didn't bump into this during play.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/03/18 12:51:36


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: