Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 10:14:25
Subject: Lightning Field and Ghost ark
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So I have a ghost ark with 8 warriors and 2 stormteks with lightning fields on board.
If an enemy unit assaults the ghost ark, can I get my lightning field against them?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 10:29:25
Subject: Lightning Field and Ghost ark
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
The ghost ark is a separate unit from the unit its transporting so does not benefit from the cryptek's lightning field
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 11:31:10
Subject: Lightning Field and Ghost ark
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Since there isn't a FAQ for that specific wargear, I would disagree with crownaxe. it appears the ability is similar to the flamer ability in cc. So the unit would be allowed to use the lightning field ability. As the open topped transport allows the unit inside to react as though the unit was charged.
however i could also see the rule not being able to be used. I would say, discuss it with you opponent beforehand so they know it is allowed, or roll a d6 and abide by the result. The contention being whether the transoprt and squad are considered a unit according the the rulebook, I think they are, but I'm not certain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 11:41:04
Subject: Lightning Field and Ghost ark
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
firmlog wrote:Since there isn't a FAQ for that specific wargear, I would disagree with crownaxe. it appears the ability is similar to the flamer ability in cc. So the unit would be allowed to use the lightning field ability. As the open topped transport allows the unit inside to react as though the unit was charged.
however i could also see the rule not being able to be used. I would say, discuss it with you opponent beforehand so they know it is allowed, or roll a d6 and abide by the result. The contention being whether the transoprt and squad are considered a unit according the the rulebook, I think they are, but I'm not certain.
If the transport and squad are a single unit, then the transport must embark upon itself, must shoot at the same target as the embarked squad, the whole vehicle must maintain coherency with the squad, etc.
Non-walker vehicles cannot fire Overwatch, however, embarked units can fire Overwatch if their transport is charged. Is the Lightning Field Overwatch? If not, then it does not work.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 11:44:15
Subject: Lightning Field and Ghost ark
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Now, if he was in a Chariot...
He'd be able to use it then right?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/19 11:51:08
Subject: Lightning Field and Ghost ark
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Assuming there is a Chariot he could embark onto yes, however, the only Chariot I know of for Necrons ( CCB) can only carry ICs, which Crypteks are not.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/20 21:42:25
Subject: Re:Lightning Field and Ghost ark
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I'm unsure about it. I was curious about the scope of cryptek wargear effects on ghost arks.
I recently observed someone veil of darkness a ghost ark onto the field which confused me. So I wondered about lightning fields, ether crystals, chronos and the gear that reduces charge range.
I'm unsure since it might require seeing the ghost ark and passengers as a single unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/20 21:57:40
Subject: Lightning Field and Ghost ark
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Yeah veil of darkness does not affect a ghost ark ever.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
|