Switch Theme:

Preferred Enemy vs mixed groups  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






How does Preferred Enemy - Space Marines work out when rolling to wound using a large blast against a unit made up of, for instance, Tau and Space Marines combined...? Do you reroll all ones to wound? Some? None?
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






There are no rules covering this (or they are at least debatable) and there is a long debate how preferred enemy works with mixed groups.

HIWPI
If the unit contains at least one model that is the preferred enemy you get the rerolls for all wounds.

Be prepared that opponents may have a different interpretation of the rule and a different HIWPI approach. I normally let my opponent decide how to play it in such situations. Safe way to not get across as a TFG in a friendly. In tournaments this rule should be covered by their TOs. Check the faqs or ask a judge.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2014/03/24 12:45:25


 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 Mywik wrote:
There are no rules covering this (or they are at least debatable) and there is a long debate how preferred enemy works with mixed groups.

HIWPI
If the unit contains at least one model that is the preferred enemy you get the rerolls for all wounds.

Be prepared that opponents may have a different interpretation of the rule and a different HIWPI approach. I normally let my opponent decide how to play it in such situations. Safe way to not get across as a TFG in a friendly. In tournaments this rule should be covered by their TOs. Check the faqs or ask a judge.


This ^^

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

Kholzerino wrote:
How does Preferred Enemy - Space Marines work out when rolling to wound using a large blast against a unit made up of, for instance, Tau and Space Marines combined...? Do you reroll all ones to wound? Some? None?


How are you able to have Tau and Marines in the same squad? I do not know of this rule.

Unless you mean a blast template ended up over a squad of marines and a squad of tau

EDIT: Never mind, I forgot about allies. I'm too old school. Back in my day, Tau and Space Marines shot each other; they didn't hold hands

I believe Mywik may have the right of it.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/03/24 13:09:27


What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in de
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon






 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
Kholzerino wrote:
How does Preferred Enemy - Space Marines work out when rolling to wound using a large blast against a unit made up of, for instance, Tau and Space Marines combined...? Do you reroll all ones to wound? Some? None?


How are you able to have Tau and Marines in the same squad? I do not know of this rule.

Unless you mean a blast template ended up over a squad of marines and a squad of tau


Tau and space marines are battle brothers.
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

 Mywik wrote:
 CthuluIsSpy wrote:
Kholzerino wrote:
How does Preferred Enemy - Space Marines work out when rolling to wound using a large blast against a unit made up of, for instance, Tau and Space Marines combined...? Do you reroll all ones to wound? Some? None?


How are you able to have Tau and Marines in the same squad? I do not know of this rule.

Unless you mean a blast template ended up over a squad of marines and a squad of tau


Tau and space marines are battle brothers.


Yeah, I quickly remembered after typing that that allies are a thing now

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Tau character in a Space Marines squad - PE: Space Marines works

Space Marine character in a Tau squad - PE: SM does not work

IC mixed unit of Space Marines and Tau - ... I honestly have no idea.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in fr
Trazyn's Museum Curator





on the forum. Obviously

 PrinceRaven wrote:
Tau character in a Space Marines squad - PE: Space Marines works

Space Marine character in a Tau squad - PE: SM does not work

IC mixed unit of Space Marines and Tau - ... I honestly have no idea.


Ah, but the PE rule does not specify that it works against units. It just says that it works against the model's preferred enemy.

What I like to think is the model with PE: Space Marine gets so pissed off that he sees a Marine working with Tau, that he goes absolutely ballistic

What I have
~4100
~1660

Westwood lives in death!
Peace through power!

A longbeard when it comes to Necrons and WHFB. Grumble Grumble

 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

As shooting attacks are resolved against the unit as a whole, the only way to tell if you're firing at a preferred enemy is to look at the codex the unit you're firing at is from.

It is also consistent with various special rules that treat the entire unit as being from the Codex the base unit is from.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

While there is no official Game Workshop Rule to deal with this one, ForgeWorld did release a Frequently Asked Question Answer along these lines in a few emails they sent out to their customers. This is because Forgeworld released a Model, a Tau battle suit named O'Ra'lai which gains access to a warlord trait granting Preferred Enemy (Independent Character) and needless to say that raised a great deal of questions. After all, Independent Characters are often hidden in other units that do not have this Special Rule so it is not possible to prove the requirement to be attacking an Independent Character can be met. Last time it raised on this board it showed a great deal of diversion between how people interpenetrate Preferred Enemy and it appears forge-world had an entirely different answer as well

Their Answer was along the lines of:
One can only re-roll wounds that have Precision strike or a Special Rule allowing the allocation to be chosen by the shooter, as other wounds could be allocated to non-Preferred Enemies and therefore do not trigger the Rule.

Personally, with Preferred Enemy (Army X) and not the messy (Independent Character), I would go with a far more easier resolution of the issue:
Ask the question of which unit joined which.

While the Independent Characters Rule of 'joins the unit for all Rule related purposes' is a little vague, and has led to some unusual gray areas in the past, it would easily be applicable here. Once an Independent Character has joined another Unit it is treated as part of that unit for all Rule related purposes. It would therefore stand to reason that it must also be considered part of that Unit for Preferred Enemy purposes as well. As the Attack is being directed against a Unit that was chosen from the Codex mentioned within Preferred Enemy, the requirements to be attacking your Preferred Enemy have been met. At that point it doesn't matter where the individual Wounds would fall, as they all have a 100% chance of being allocated to a model treated as part of that Unit for all Rule related purposes.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/03/24 13:43:22


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Using Inks and Washes




St. George, Utah

 PrinceRaven wrote:
Tau character in a Space Marines squad - PE: Space Marines works

Space Marine character in a Tau squad - PE: SM does not work

IC mixed unit of Space Marines and Tau - ... I honestly have no idea.
^This pretty much. Like Raven said, there's a lot of special rules that treat the entire enemy unit as being from the codex of the base unit.

If someone was to make their own squad of IC guys, I think I'd just say you'd get preferred enemy against them for the sake of ease. The issue is most people running such a squad are probably doing it to abuse some rule here and there, so they'll fight you tooth and nail to not allow you any perceived advantage at all.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I would also go by the unit, not the attached IC.
   
Made in gb
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin






Hm. Gravstar is the issue and firing the Firebase Support stuff at it.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






ICs very specifically join and become a part of the units they join.

A Space marine Captain that joins a Tau Fire Warrior unit stops being a Space marine unit and starts being part of a Tau unit(and More specifically part of a Fire warrior unit); You could then still have a Fireblade attach himself to that Fire Warrior unit since it never stops being a Fire Warrior unit.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
ICs very specifically join and become a part of the units they join.

A Space marine Captain that joins a Tau Fire Warrior unit stops being a Space marine unit and starts being part of a Tau unit(and More specifically part of a Fire warrior unit); You could then still have a Fireblade attach himself to that Fire Warrior unit since it never stops being a Fire Warrior unit.


While I would be inclined to agree that a Space Marine who joins a Fire Warrior unit is no longer considered a Space Marine for affiliation purposes, the community as a whole seems to disagree, at least when it comes to Transports.

Bottom line, is that the rules are vague on this point. Sufficiently so that you should always check with a TO if this rule is something that might be an issue with your lists. (And with your opponent in a friendly game.)

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

He is considered a Space Marine and a Tau Fire Warrior simultaneously.

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 Jimsolo wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
ICs very specifically join and become a part of the units they join.

A Space marine Captain that joins a Tau Fire Warrior unit stops being a Space marine unit and starts being part of a Tau unit(and More specifically part of a Fire warrior unit); You could then still have a Fireblade attach himself to that Fire Warrior unit since it never stops being a Fire Warrior unit.


While I would be inclined to agree that a Space Marine who joins a Fire Warrior unit is no longer considered a Space Marine for affiliation purposes, the community as a whole seems to disagree, at least when it comes to Transports.

Bottom line, is that the rules are vague on this point. Sufficiently so that you should always check with a TO if this rule is something that might be an issue with your lists. (And with your opponent in a friendly game.)


I didnt say he is no longer a space marine, I said he is no longer a space marine Unit. Which is true and factual.

And i specifically was not getting into the transport issue, I understand the community(or specific very loud individuals within the community) has their view on this and we do not need to get into that right now. But preferred enemy is "More clearly written" in that it very specifically effects units of a given faction and the Captain is not a Space marine unit in this scenario.

So yes he is a Space marine, no he is not a space marine unit, yes he is now a space Marine inside of a Tau Fire Warrior unit. Preferred enemy: Space marine does not care whether or not he is a Space marine, it cares whether or not he is a Space marine Unit.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 Jimsolo wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
ICs very specifically join and become a part of the units they join.

A Space marine Captain that joins a Tau Fire Warrior unit stops being a Space marine unit and starts being part of a Tau unit(and More specifically part of a Fire warrior unit); You could then still have a Fireblade attach himself to that Fire Warrior unit since it never stops being a Fire Warrior unit.


While I would be inclined to agree that a Space Marine who joins a Fire Warrior unit is no longer considered a Space Marine for affiliation purposes, the community as a whole seems to disagree, at least when it comes to Transports.

Bottom line, is that the rules are vague on this point. Sufficiently so that you should always check with a TO if this rule is something that might be an issue with your lists. (And with your opponent in a friendly game.)


I didnt say he is no longer a space marine, I said he is no longer a space marine Unit. Which is true and factual.

And i specifically was not getting into the transport issue, I understand the community(or specific very loud individuals within the community) has their view on this and we do not need to get into that right now. But preferred enemy is "More clearly written" in that it very specifically effects units of a given faction and the Captain is not a Space marine unit in this scenario.

So yes he is a Space marine, no he is not a space marine unit, yes he is now a space Marine inside of a Tau Fire Warrior unit. Preferred enemy: Space marine does not care whether or not he is a Space marine, it cares whether or not he is a Space marine Unit.


Is it not possible to be both a Space Marine Unit and a Tau Unit? Would the Space Marine Captain no longer benefit from rules that effect Space Marine Units such as "And they shall know no fear"?

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Zimko wrote:
Is it not possible to be both a Space Marine Unit and a Tau Unit?

Absent a rule allowing it, no.
Would the Space Marine Captain no longer benefit from rules that effect Space Marine Units such as "And they shall know no fear"?

ATSKNF is in the BRB now - it's not limited to Space Marine units.
In fact, you should probably read the rule - it applies to any unit a model that has it has joined.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Zimko wrote:
Is it not possible to be both a Space Marine Unit and a Tau Unit? Would the Space Marine Captain no longer benefit from rules that effect Space Marine Units such as "And they shall know no fear"?


It is not possible, as the IC becomes a normal member of the unit (albeit one with different rules and wargear) so the SM Captain is part of a Tau unit. Whhy would hte Captain no longer benefit from ATSKNF? He has the rule, he benefits from it. He would not benefit, however from anything that refers to Space Marine units, or SM units with codex specific rules (such as the Assault Doctrine for UM).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

rigeld2 wrote:
Zimko wrote:
Is it not possible to be both a Space Marine Unit and a Tau Unit?

Absent a rule allowing it, no.
Would the Space Marine Captain no longer benefit from rules that effect Space Marine Units such as "And they shall know no fear"?

ATSKNF is in the BRB now - it's not limited to Space Marine units.
In fact, you should probably read the rule - it applies to any unit a model that has it has joined.


Fair enough about the ATSKNF point. I'm probably performing some kind of sacrilegious act doing this, but my reasoning for thinking that a unit can be both Space Marine and Tau comes from playing MTG. A card that is both red and blue is effected by both spells that only effect blue spells and ones that only effect red spells. But I know this holds no bearing on WH40k, I'm just explaining why I thought the way I did. It could be a basis for creating a house-rule.


6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Zimko wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Zimko wrote:
Is it not possible to be both a Space Marine Unit and a Tau Unit?

Absent a rule allowing it, no.
Would the Space Marine Captain no longer benefit from rules that effect Space Marine Units such as "And they shall know no fear"?

ATSKNF is in the BRB now - it's not limited to Space Marine units.
In fact, you should probably read the rule - it applies to any unit a model that has it has joined.


Fair enough about the ATSKNF point. I'm probably performing some kind of sacrilegious act doing this, but my reasoning for thinking that a unit can be both Space Marine and Tau comes from playing MTG. A card that is both red and blue is effected by both spells that only effect blue spells and ones that only effect red spells. But I know this holds no bearing on WH40k, I'm just explaining why I thought the way I did. It could be a basis for creating a house-rule.



The thing about it is that in this Case the rules are clear as to what an IC does.

The IC becomes a full part of the unit he joins for all rules purposes, and you cannot have the IC also be a unit within the joined unit(it defeats the whole purpose of the IC rule).

The ICs never lose their status as an "X"-model(X being the codex they are from), but they also do not effect the state of the unit they join in any way.

In M:tG, The rules specifically tell you that multi-color cards are considered each color, and that makes sense in that format. In 40k you a specifically told that the IC becomes part of the squad joined for all rules purposes. For the purpose of Preferred enemy (Tau) the Captain is part of the Tau unit. For the purposes of Preferred Enemy (Space marines) the Captain is part of the Tau unit.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Zimko wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Zimko wrote:
Is it not possible to be both a Space Marine Unit and a Tau Unit?

Absent a rule allowing it, no.
Would the Space Marine Captain no longer benefit from rules that effect Space Marine Units such as "And they shall know no fear"?

ATSKNF is in the BRB now - it's not limited to Space Marine units.
In fact, you should probably read the rule - it applies to any unit a model that has it has joined.


Fair enough about the ATSKNF point. I'm probably performing some kind of sacrilegious act doing this, but my reasoning for thinking that a unit can be both Space Marine and Tau comes from playing MTG. A card that is both red and blue is effected by both spells that only effect blue spells and ones that only effect red spells. But I know this holds no bearing on WH40k, I'm just explaining why I thought the way I did. It could be a basis for creating a house-rule.



The thing about it is that in this Case the rules are clear as to what an IC does.

The IC becomes a full part of the unit he joins for all rules purposes, and you cannot have the IC also be a unit within the joined unit(it defeats the whole purpose of the IC rule).

The ICs never lose their status as an "X"-model(X being the codex they are from), but they also do not effect the state of the unit they join in any way.

In M:tG, The rules specifically tell you that multi-color cards are considered each color, and that makes sense in that format. In 40k you a specifically told that the IC becomes part of the squad joined for all rules purposes. For the purpose of Preferred enemy (Tau) the Captain is part of the Tau unit. For the purposes of Preferred Enemy (Space marines) the Captain is part of the Tau unit.


Thank you for explaining the difference in relation to MTG for me. It completely makes sense to me now.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

I was reading something about something like this in one of the more recent rule books last week. I remember thinking 'Hmm, this could be applied to PE in mixed units'.

But maybe I dremt it because I can't remember for the life of me what it was.

But anyway, the IC does not 'become a normal member of the unit', that's not what the rule says.
IC is part of the unit for all rules purpopses, the BRB page for Characters (sixty something?) gives futher explination to that sentance.

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




For a rules purpose, is that unit a Space Marine or Tau unit?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: