Switch Theme:

Allowing spore mines to charge in the turn they are created  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Is anyone able to give me any help regarding allowing them to do this?

I am not the greatest at convincing someone mid game with precedent or other supporting rules so id love to be able to go into battle with some info regarding this? It's one of those situations also where once the rule has been played a certain way once at the club that's just the way every one expects it to be played in the future (unless there are FAQ's or other official docs from GW ruling differently).

To be honest Id lean towards them not being able to and class it as a deep strike, but I am devoid of any evidence.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It is not a deepstrike, they have not arrived from reserve, and so have no restriction on them being able to charge.
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





Brisbane


nosferatu1001 wrote:
It is not a deepstrike, they have not arrived from reserve, and so have no restriction on them being able to charge.


This. Think of them being created much like Termagants from 5th Edition Nids, or the Daemons from the Portal Glyph.

The Spores are created in the shooting phase (movement for the Harpies) and have no restrictions on being able to assault as they didn't use Infiltrate, Outflank, Deepstrike, Scout or arrive from reserves in any fashion.

Spores created from Meiotic Spore's I'm not so sure about.

In the Meiotic Spore entry it says "In the owning player's Shooting phase, if they wish it, or, if for any reason a Meiotic Spore comes within 2" of an enemy model, it detonates immediately. Resolve the Meiotic Spore attack listed with the blast marker centred on the spore. After resolving the attack, remove the spore from play as a casualty and place D6-2 Spore mines on its former location, just as you would place a deep striking unit. These spore mines then act exactly as they would normally from this point onwards."

I am interpreting two different things from this:

1: Place them as if they had been deepstruck they then act as if they had deepstruck in normally from this point on. Ie. Can't assault.

2: Place them in a deepstruck formation. They then can act normally from this point. Ie. Can assault.

This one has got me confused.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The placement there strictly refers to the formation they arrive in. It is still a placmeent, and "normally" they have not arrived from deesptrike.

Theyc an assault.
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





Brisbane

nosferatu1001 wrote:
The placement there strictly refers to the formation they arrive in. It is still a placmeent, and "normally" they have not arrived from deesptrike.

Theyc an assault.


What if the Meiotic Spore Deep Struck that turn?

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The unit that is created has NOT deepstruck, so it is irrelevant what the spore that created them did.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: