| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/28 02:21:17
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
He shoots my Lord with one wraith left and kills them both. The Lord comes back. He charges my Lord .... can he? Is it the same model he shot that came back? It was removed from the table but is still the same guy w/ the same gear. What is RAW?
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/28 02:29:37
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It's the same unit.
We know that because it doesn't count as a kill point (or StW) if it doesn't stay down.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/28 02:32:51
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
rigeld2 wrote:It's the same unit.
We know that because it doesn't count as a kill point (or StW) if it doesn't stay down.
It can't be a Lord, because Lords can't be attached to Wraiths. It'd have to be an Overlord, an IC. Which makes things a little bit murkier.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/28 02:35:44
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Doesn't change my statement at all.
If the IC died and came back as a new unit, that'd be a kill point (as a destroyed unit at the end of the game) and StW (if it's the warlord) even if they come back.
Edit: The Overlord can't leave the Wraith unit until the next movement phase, so he's still the Wraith unit.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/28 02:36:42
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/28 02:42:16
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
rigeld2 wrote:Doesn't change my statement at all.
If the IC died and came back as a new unit, that'd be a kill point (as a destroyed unit at the end of the game) and StW (if it's the warlord) even if they come back.
Edit: The Overlord can't leave the Wraith unit until the next movement phase, so he's still the Wraith unit.
That's what I figured on the "leaves in the movement phase" part, but I know there have been discussions about that and hadn't followed them so didn't want to stick my neck out. Just pointing out that it can't possibly be a Lord, it has to be an Overlord. Or a Destroyer Lord I guess, which is more likely.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/28 02:59:56
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Was the Destroyer Lord w/ WarScythe, 2+, MMS, and a res orb. Not like that matters.
Just felt weird that you could assault something you killed and it had left the table even if it does come back.
Those Orcs and their power fists are some of the only things to scare my Lord silly.
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/28 17:38:50
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
There isn't a RAW answer to this. Definitely the IC that comes back isn't the same unit as the one before he died, but it was part of the unit that was fired upon. The spirit of the rule is for one unit not to attack another if it didn't shoot it first. So it is more logical to allow the charge than not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/28 20:37:15
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So you're claiming it would give it a kill point? After all, the unit has been removed as a casualty....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/29 12:20:24
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Mythra wrote:Was the Destroyer Lord w/ WarScythe, 2+, MMS, and a res orb. Not like that matters.
Just felt weird that you could assault something you killed and it had left the table even if it does come back.
Those Orcs and their power fists are some of the only things to scare my Lord silly.
Yes, this is a weird situation then because you're shooting at a unit of wraiths but then the overlord reanimates by himself and he is now in his own unit.
I'm not sure if I'd allow the charge or not. I would play it the same way my opponent would play this situation:
If I wipe out a squad that an IC is attached to, can I still charge the IC remaining?
If yes, you can charge. If no, you cannot.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/29 12:20:52
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/29 13:54:57
Subject: Necron Lord and Reanimation
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Page 39 informs us that an independent character can not leave or Join another unit during any other phase then the owner's Movement, and in that phase he has to do so by moving out of coherency. Therefore he is still part of the unit during the opponents Assault phase even if all the other models where destroyed during the opponents Shooting Phase. Unless there is something in the Ever-Living or Reanimation Protocols that states it is no longer part of the unit after regenerating, it would still be part of a unit at the point it returns... as that is not the Movement Phase.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/29 13:56:21
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|