Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/08 16:54:43
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
The wording for target locks make it so that the guy with a TL shoots at a different target from the rest of his squad.
So, it stands to reason that you can still charge the unit that the rest of the unit shot at during the shooting phase, unless I'm missing something.
So how do you resolve the following shenanigans? (Other than with snarky remarks about how Tau should not be assaulting things.... Even though they shouldn't)
A unit where everyone has target locks: Can you shoot everyone at different targets and then charge yet another target?
A unit that has models with 0BS, and everyone else has target locks: Can you fire at different targets, then declare the 0BS guys targeted a differetn squad and charge them?
Sorry if this has already come up and been resolved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/08 17:03:40
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You declare your target for the unit,lets say target A. You then say this model and that model is going to use their target locks and shoot at Target B and C.
Your only valid option to charge is Target A. this is because a unit can only charge a target they shot at (among other restrictions, this is the only one that matters here), The unit didnt shoot at Targer B or C because target lock is done on a model by model basis not unit level.
A unit with zero BS cannot make a shooting attack as per the FAQ so no they doesnt work either.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/08 22:23:37
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Hunam0001 wrote: (Other than with snarky remarks about how Tau should not be assaulting things.... Even though they shouldn't)
It's sometimes advantageous to charge with a unit of suits - our Tau player has been known to do it with not too embarrasing results. The suits are tough enough that few non-dedicated CC units can handle them, especially if they're already decimated.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 11:06:26
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Shrieking Traitor Sentinel Pilot
|
Especially if you have VRT, you are basically hiding your suits in enemy guardsmen so they can't be shot at. Then hit and run in the enemy assault phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 13:49:46
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
How about a solo Crisis suit with a target lock?
Could you declare the target of his unit to be one squad, then shoot a different squad using his TL, then charge the first squad?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 13:51:27
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Yes, absolutely.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 15:06:23
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I disagree, unless the suit has drones. If it is just a lone suit, he can never shoot at a different target then his unit.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 15:12:05
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:I disagree, unless the suit has drones. If it is just a lone suit, he can never shoot at a different target then his unit.
Target Lock allows him to.
Away from my books at the moment, so it depends on the timing/wording of Target Lock really.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 15:15:30
Subject: Re:Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard
Catskills in NYS
|
The wording is :
"A model with a target lock can shoot at a different target to the rest of his unit. "
|
Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
kronk wrote:Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
sebster wrote:Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens BaronIveagh wrote:Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 16:48:00
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
meaning his unit has to fire at their target and he can simultaneously fire at a separate target; One cannot fire at a separate target from himself.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 16:50:45
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:meaning his unit has to fire at their target and he can simultaneously fire at a separate target; One cannot fire at a separate target from himself.
Devils advocate:
A model and a unit are different things. Could the unit nominate a target unit and then the individual model with TL opt to shoot at another target unit and satisfy all rules?
The rest of his unit (all zero models) do fire at the original target.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 17:01:42
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Wow, I can see this both ways. I'd allow it against me, but would be hesitant to pull this out myself.
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 17:13:25
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:meaning his unit has to fire at their target and he can simultaneously fire at a separate target; One cannot fire at a separate target from himself.
Devils advocate:
A model and a unit are different things. Could the unit nominate a target unit and then the individual model with TL opt to shoot at another target unit and satisfy all rules?
The rest of his unit (all zero models) do fire at the original target.
If no models fired at the target unit then it could not be charged
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 17:32:51
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
So Genestealers can never charge?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 19:48:03
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
rigeld2 wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:meaning his unit has to fire at their target and he can simultaneously fire at a separate target; One cannot fire at a separate target from himself.
Devils advocate: A model and a unit are different things. Could the unit nominate a target unit and then the individual model with TL opt to shoot at another target unit and satisfy all rules? The rest of his unit (all zero models) do fire at the original target. If there are no other models in his unit firing at the other target there is no other target. As for your genestealer statement, not shooting at all has no effect on ability to charge, the restriction is on Charging at a unit other than the unit you shot at. Target Lock(and the more restrictive split fire) require 2 separate units to be fired at for their rules to take effect, if the unit does not fire at any units, then the rules do not take effect and whatever unit is targeted by the 1 firing model is the targeted unit by default. Basically what I am saying is you actually have to shoot at a unit for it to be a unit you have shot at.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/09 19:54:28
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 20:28:18
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
What, exactly, does it mean to shoot at a separate unit? I would say that it means that the model using a target lock functions as a sub-unit in his own right as we resolve the shooting rules.
What do I mean by that? Well, for one thing, it means he uses his own range and line-of-sight, and does not benefit from the rest of his unit's range and line-of-sight (e.g. for allocating wounds), like models in a unit normally would. Nor could a target model claim a cover save off of a different firing model (i.e., another suit firing at a different unit).
Reasonable assumptions, yes?
What does all this mean for the original question? It means that none of it is possible; you will fail to be able to target the unit nobody is firing at, because nobody is using their own range and line-of-sight for the unit rather than for themselves. The unit itself - having no models left in it - has no range and line-of-sight to the target it's not really firing at.
P.S.: You cannot exploit timing to get around this; unlike Split Fire, there is nothing in the target lock that makes the targeting occur separately in time from the normal target selection.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/09 20:45:21
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Did the Genestealers fire ?
In addition to the above, a unit that fired in the shooting phase can only charge the unit that it targeted during that turn's Shooting phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 13:20:31
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fragile wrote:
Did the Genestealers fire ?
In addition to the above, a unit that fired in the shooting phase can only charge the unit that it targeted during that turn's Shooting phase.
Fragile wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:meaning his unit has to fire at their target and he can simultaneously fire at a separate target; One cannot fire at a separate target from himself.
Devils advocate:
A model and a unit are different things. Could the unit nominate a target unit and then the individual model with TL opt to shoot at another target unit and satisfy all rules?
The rest of his unit (all zero models) do fire at the original target.
If no models fired at the target unit then it could not be charged
It's almost like I was responding to the words you wrote that you so politely removed. Context matters, yo. Automatically Appended Next Post: Kommissar Kel wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Kommissar Kel wrote:meaning his unit has to fire at their target and he can simultaneously fire at a separate target; One cannot fire at a separate target from himself.
Devils advocate:
A model and a unit are different things. Could the unit nominate a target unit and then the individual model with TL opt to shoot at another target unit and satisfy all rules?
The rest of his unit (all zero models) do fire at the original target.
If there are no other models in his unit firing at the other target there is no other target.
As for your genestealer statement, not shooting at all has no effect on ability to charge, the restriction is on Charging at a unit other than the unit you shot at.
Target Lock(and the more restrictive split fire) require 2 separate units to be fired at for their rules to take effect, if the unit does not fire at any units, then the rules do not take effect and whatever unit is targeted by the 1 firing model is the targeted unit by default.
Basically what I am saying is you actually have to shoot at a unit for it to be a unit you have shot at.
That's not what the rule actually says though.
In addition to the above, a unit that fired in the shooting phase can only charge the unit that it targeted during that turn's Shooting phase.
Did the unit fire? Yes. Did the unit target the unit it's trying to assault? Yes. No one fired at that unit, but it was the unit's target.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/10 13:21:36
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 21:06:04
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:
It's almost like I was responding to the words you wrote that you so politely removed. Context matters, yo..
Indeed. Considering we were talking about a unit that was shooting, you try to throw out a non shooting example, which has no restrictions. Almost like you were avoiding the argument at hand, yo
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 21:10:33
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fragile wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
It's almost like I was responding to the words you wrote that you so politely removed. Context matters, yo..
Indeed. Considering we were talking about a unit that was shooting, you try to throw out a non shooting example, which has no restrictions. Almost like you were avoiding the argument at hand, yo
Your statement was an absolute. And an incorrect example of the rules. I was trying to show that.
So how about you address the rules argument I've made? Thanks.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/10 21:29:50
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Fragile wrote:rigeld2 wrote:
It's almost like I was responding to the words you wrote that you so politely removed. Context matters, yo..
Indeed. Considering we were talking about a unit that was shooting, you try to throw out a non shooting example, which has no restrictions. Almost like you were avoiding the argument at hand, yo
Your statement was an absolute. And an incorrect example of the rules. I was trying to show that.
So how about you address the rules argument I've made? Thanks.
You still have not shown a shooting attack that targetted the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/11 00:10:19
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I don't need to because the rule doesn't require that.
I nominate the unit. The unit targets that Riptide over there. The Crisis suit uses his Target Lock to snipe that last Kroot off of an objective. Crisis suit declares an assault on the Riptide.
Cite the rule I broke.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/11 00:17:56
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
rigeld2 wrote:I don't need to because the rule doesn't require that.
I nominate the unit. The unit targets that Riptide over there. The Crisis suit uses his Target Lock to snipe that last Kroot off of an objective. Crisis suit declares an assault on the Riptide.
Cite the rule I broke.
Is the Riptide in range and Line of Sight of the models shooting at it?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/11 00:21:20
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Yes, the Riptide is in range and LoS of the Suit before he uses his target lock.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/11 00:24:02
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
rigeld2 wrote:Yes, the Riptide is in range and LoS of the Suit before he uses his target lock.
Isn't all shooting (within a unit) declared at the same time? Meaning you cannot shoot with the unit see how many hits you have and then decide whether or not the Target Lock model is hooting at the same target or something else.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/11 01:19:26
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:I don't need to because the rule doesn't require that.
I nominate the unit. The unit targets that Riptide over there. The Crisis suit uses his Target Lock to snipe that last Kroot off of an objective. Crisis suit declares an assault on the Riptide.
Cite the rule I broke.
In order to charge the unit you have to have targeted it with a shooting attack.
In your scenario, your single model cannot target the unit with a shooting attack. If zero models shoot at the units target, then it was not targeted.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/11 02:09:19
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Yes, the Riptide is in range and LoS of the Suit before he uses his target lock.
Isn't all shooting (within a unit) declared at the same time? Meaning you cannot shoot with the unit see how many hits you have and then decide whether or not the Target Lock model is hooting at the same target or something else.
I never said that's what happened.
Page 12: Step 1 is satisfied. Step 2, Riptide is declared and measured, Kroot is declared and measured.
Cite the rule that requires resolution of a shooting attack for the unit to have been targeted. Automatically Appended Next Post: Fragile wrote:rigeld2 wrote:I don't need to because the rule doesn't require that.
I nominate the unit. The unit targets that Riptide over there. The Crisis suit uses his Target Lock to snipe that last Kroot off of an objective. Crisis suit declares an assault on the Riptide.
Cite the rule I broke.
In order to charge the unit you have to have targeted it with a shooting attack.
In your scenario, your single model cannot target the unit with a shooting attack. If zero models shoot at the units target, then it was not targeted.
The actual rules disagree. I've met page 12 Step 2's requirements as far as I can tell. Mind citing a rule that requires resolving a shooting attack? Or any rules support for your statements? That'd be nice.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/11 02:10:22
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/11 11:11:03
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
I'd say it doesn't work.
I accept that you targeted the Riptide. However, I do not think that you can use he TL to shoot a target other than the "rest" of the unit when there is no "rest" of the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/11 11:15:02
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wouldnt the now disappeared FAQ that references zero BS cannot make a shooting attack apply to targetting something that cannot shoot?.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/11 11:22:03
Subject: Target Locks and Charging
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MarkyMark wrote:Wouldnt the now disappeared FAQ that references zero BS cannot make a shooting attack apply to targetting something that cannot shoot?.
No relevance at all.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|