Switch Theme:

Techpriests, POTMS and Transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

So, it is widely know that you can repair from inside a transport with things like techmarines an techpriests. However, Techpriests just got the "Awaken the machine" rule, which lets them give out POTMS. So, can you do this to a vehicle you are embarked on, or to other vehicles while embarked? I'll quote the rule, as it is new:

In each of your Shooting phases, instead of firing his weapons, the Enginseer may choose a single friendly Astra Militarum vehicle within 12". That vehicle gains the Power of The Machine Spirit special rule until the end of the turn.


I sounds like you can use it when embarked. My idea was to use it in a valkyrie to get make use of the ordnance missiles, or get extra targets for a vendetta.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 Trickstick wrote:
So, it is widely know that you can repair from inside a transport with things like techmarines an techpriests. However, Techpriests just got the "Awaken the machine" rule, which lets them give out POTMS. So, can you do this to a vehicle you are embarked on, or to other vehicles while embarked? I'll quote the rule, as it is new:

In each of your Shooting phases, instead of firing his weapons, the Enginseer may choose a single friendly Astra Militarum vehicle within 12". That vehicle gains the Power of The Machine Spirit special rule until the end of the turn.


I sounds like you can use it when embarked. My idea was to use it in a valkyrie to get make use of the ordnance missiles, or get extra targets for a vendetta.


I'm *fairly* certain you can.
Last time I checked, when embarked you measure effects for things from the hull. So within 12" of the vehicle hull is the vehicle you wish to target. I believe I'm remembering correctly, I can't remember exactly where I read it. I'll have a look now.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/12 18:04:56


If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plano, TX

I believe that if it doesn't say that you need line of sight, then you can use it on other vehicles while embarked. If it does require line of sight, then you can't. Fire points can only be used to shoot weapons.
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

 Leonus wrote:
I believe that if it doesn't say that you need line of sight, then you can use it on other vehicles while embarked. If it does require line of sight, then you can't. Fire points can only be used to shoot weapons.


While this is true, I believe the OP was talking about using it on the vehicle he is embarked upon.

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

 Ond Angel wrote:
 Leonus wrote:
I believe that if it doesn't say that you need line of sight, then you can use it on other vehicles while embarked. If it does require line of sight, then you can't. Fire points can only be used to shoot weapons.


While this is true, I believe the OP was talking about using it on the vehicle he is embarked upon.


It was more sort of general thoughts on how it would interact with things, do try and pre-empt confusion.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The vehicle is within 12", so yes you can use it on the vehicle you are embarked upon.
   
Made in us
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge




Virginia, USA

If it just sticks with the 12", rolling chimeras up with vets + enginseers backed up by LRs you could hit the LRs your hiding behind with it.

Shas'O J'Osh  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: