Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 07:10:52
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I recently played a game where my storm raven moved onto the board from reserves a full 36 inches. I decided to use the blood angels skies of fury drop or whatever it is. It states that over any point where the storm raven traveled you can drop off units using deep strike rules
I had 10 man assault squad (no jump packs) which were 2 five man squads along with a dreadnought.
First off I dropped all 3 units at different points where the storm raven traveled. This is okay to do, yes?
Secondly, The rule states for this particular kind of deep strike that if a model can't be placed the squad is just wiped vs even rolling on the mishap table.
So my last and final 5 man assault squad scattered onto where my storm raven had landed. I couldn't find any examples of this anywhere. I reluctantly had to remove the squad as casualties, this seems crazy to me that my own storm raven killed my squad but did I do that whole process correctly?
Also my 3 different units in theory could scatter on one another and I could lose 2 units with that being the case, correct?
This also happen to be the first unit killed in the game. Does unit dying from deepstrike mishap count as first blood for the opponent?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 07:18:28
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
The base of the stormraven is ignored so landing on it isn't an issue.
Dying from DS mishap would yield First Blood though.
I don't see any issue with dropping the two combat squads and the dread at different points.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/04/19 07:20:02
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 07:24:40
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So you can land on the base of any flyer? Does this apply to an enemies base as well? As I thought you couldn't be within 1 inch of any base of a friendly or enemy model when DS occurs
Does this also mean that models can freely move through or under a flyer ?
Models can end their movement on the base of a storm raven for example?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 07:28:08
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
Have a look at " Flyers and other models" on about Page 80 of your BRB mate.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 07:35:26
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
... Thanks Automatically Appended Next Post: Clear cut
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/19 07:35:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/19 19:48:36
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No you can not legally be there.
Does this apply to an enemies base as well?
You can not legally be there.
As I thought you couldn't be within 1 inch of any base of a friendly or enemy model when DS occurs
you can not be within 1 inch of an enemy model when you DS.
Does this also mean that models can freely move through or under a flyer ?
As long as you are not moving onto a flyers base, you can move under the flyer.
Models can end their movement on the base of a storm raven for example?
Not at all as you can not legally be there.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 01:14:30
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Its not ignored for everything, and it is an issue.
You can't land on the base.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 08:39:07
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
Yes you can but I'm sure Dakka has its own weird little spin on things.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/20 14:29:09
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
You can not put models on a flyers base.
You ignore the base for measuring, as the rules that tell you to ignore the base are in the flyers and measuring section of the flyer rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 01:54:25
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So when my own squad that deepstriked from the storm raven landed on the base of my own storm raven
I was correct in removing them as casualties per the DS rule correct? Or my own units can DS onto the base of my own flyers?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 01:59:09
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
No one may be on the base of another model. I thought the whole unit got removed if any model in the unit could not be placed when using the SR's DS rules. Is this no longer the case?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/21 01:59:19
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 05:46:24
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
That little spin being that the rule book says you can't put models on the base
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/04/21 06:27:25
Subject: storm Raven plus deepstrike mishap from skies of fury
|
 |
Hacking Interventor
|
----------
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/21 06:35:59
|
|
 |
 |
|