Switch Theme:

Multi Asssault? Maybe???  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok let me paint the picture for you...

Blood Angels Vs Orks

I was playing Blood Angels, and I had a 10 man assault squad get assaulted by two 12 man units of boyz

All three units survived combat and were locked into combat when it went to my turn.

On my turn I assaulted into the cluster with another assault squad. That squad only made it into base contact with one of the ork units.

Having higher initiative the new assault squad killed all of the boyz in the first ork squad. Not everyone in the new assault squad attacked so I was going to use the 3 inch move at the initiative step 1(due to powerfist) to move my sargent into range to attack the 2nd squad of boyz.

At this time my opponent said that my sargent couldn't attack the 2nd squad of boyz because his unit never assaulted the second unit of boyz. He added that the new assault squad was no longer locked into combat and that they got to do their d6 regroup.

I never played this way I thought that they would be locked intocombat. Help??

A side question is would my second assault squad get their +1 attack when charging into the combat? Multi assaults say no, but that to me means assaulting 2 units that aren't locked in combat.

PS I only have the small rulebook so if you refrence page numbers please refer to the small book :-)
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




same pg for both, pg 27.

did you declare you were charging into two different units?

and to your side question no. also pg 27 disordered charge

 
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






You can only attack the unit you declared your charge against and while yes you can charge multiple units (proved you have enough distance on the charge roll) you didn't declare that you were also charging the 2nd squad of boys in order to attack them. Pg 20 has the description for declaring assaults.

Yes your assault squad should of had their +1 attack for charge as you declared them to only be charging the one Ork squad. If you had declared your unit charging both Ork units then they wouldn't receive that bonus as it is a Multi-Assault.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/24 01:46:27


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Would they still be locked in combat?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And thank you

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/24 01:49:18


 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

While you only declared a charge against one unit, that in no way restricts you from attacking other units in a Multiple Combat, which it most certainly was due to having more than 2 units involved. Your powerfist guy was absolutely free to punch the orks in unit two provided he was either in base contact with them or within two inches of someone who was in base contact and he wasn't himself in base contact with a different unit.

Page 28. Fight Sub-Phase.

Short answer is Yes, you get to attack. Yes, you're still locked in combat, and Yes, you get your +1 because you only declared an assault against one unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/04/24 04:20:01


 
   
Made in ru
!!Goffik Rocker!!






Tireironman wrote:


On my turn I assaulted into the cluster with another assault squad. That squad only made it into base contact with one of the ork units.



Did you declare a multicharge?
   
Made in au
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Australia

I agree. You certainly can punch the second unit of orks with your power fist.

I guess you don't have to declare a multi-charge if you can avoid base contact off the charge. You may have found a loop-hole!

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You are locked in combat with *all* of he enemy units in the multi-combat.

Any of your models can attach *any* of the enemy units that it is engaged with during its init step. It does not matter if you declared a multi-charge or not.

You will not be out of combat until the end of that turn of combat, and only if your final Pile In and the enemy final Pile In fail to get any models into base contact.

Note: You are engaged if within 2" of a *friendly* model in base contact. (It does not have to be a model in the same unit)


   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






as far as I'm aware you're only engaged with a unit you're already in combat with, so you couldn't go onto the second unit. otherwise you could assault one unit then use your pile-ins to engage others, which you can't do.
the other squad can attack both units, but remember that they have to declare where the attacks are going, they can't wait and see how the first unit does if it's in the same initiative step.

12,300 points of Orks
9th W/D/L with Orks, 4/0/2
I am Thoruk, the Barbarian, Slayer of Ducks, and This is my blog!

I'm Selling Infinity, 40k, dystopian wars, UK based!

I also make designs for t-shirts and mugs and such on Redbubble! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except you can. You're engaged as a single concept, not tied to "who you assaulted"
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: