Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 00:47:47
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
If an Independent Character disembarks from a transport, is he forced to stay with the unit he's attached to?
Let's say I have a Chaos Lord in a Land Raider with 9 CSMs. The entire unit disembarks. Is the Chaos Lord necessarily still attached to the unit? Can I just move him out of unit coherency to make him independent again?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 01:02:57
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
an IC is only joined to a unit if he is within 2" of it at the end of the movement phase.
Therefor, if he moves one way and the squad moves another...........
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 05:35:06
Subject: Re:Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
The helpful answer is no, he doesn't have to stay attached to the unit. When everyone gets out, the IC can separate, so long as he ends his move more than 2" away from the rest of the unit. They can even get out separately, if they desire.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 06:06:13
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
When 6e first dropped, this was an issue with a few people I played. I had to find the place in the rules where it clearly states that you are allowed to do this. Check the IC rules and the DT rules.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 06:45:52
Subject: Re:Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
This seriously changed the way I run my lists. (Since now Vulkan can just bail out of the side of the Land Raider to go all Weed-Whacker on some unsuspecting troops units while the assault termies continue on their homicidal way...)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 08:36:53
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You could do it in fifth as well...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 15:24:26
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
But you can't do it the turn you come in from reserves.... (Not sure if you can do it turn 1....)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 15:42:38
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
coredump wrote:But you can't do it the turn you come in from reserves.... (Not sure if you can do it turn 1....)
Why cant you Disembark an Independent Character the turn you arrive?
I don't see anything that says you can't. and we already have permission to disembark. I see something that says an IC can not leave a unit the turn it arrives, but nothing about a unit banned from disembarking. (Or were you talking about an IC disembarking and leaving a unit in that case of course, since leaving a unit is not allowed on the turn you arrive from reserve).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 16:37:22
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:coredump wrote:But you can't do it the turn you come in from reserves.... (Not sure if you can do it turn 1....)
Why cant you Disembark an Independent Character the turn you arrive?
I don't see anything that says you can't. and we already have permission to disembark. I see something that says an IC can not leave a unit the turn it arrives, but nothing about a unit banned from disembarking. (Or were you talking about an IC disembarking and leaving a unit in that case of course, since leaving a unit is not allowed on the turn you arrive from reserve).
I think coredump is meaning Assault out the side arriving fro reserve.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 20:02:26
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Huh.... perhaps I am having a flashback to 5E rules.
I distinctly remember an FAQ saying that if an IC arrived from reserves joined to another unit, it could not leave that unit the turn it arrives.
I can't find that now... I assume it was from the 5E FAQ??
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/03 20:16:02
Subject: Re:Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From the Warhammer 40,000 FAQ v1.0, dated February 25th, 2010:
Q: If an Independent Character is joined to a unit that is outflanking, when can he leave the unit? (p94)
A: If an independent character is arriving from reserve together with a unit, whether it is outflanking or not, he cannot leave the unit during the turn it arrives. He can, of course, leave it as normal from the following turn.
That's probably what you were thinking of.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/04 07:03:58
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wow.... 4 years ago... I must be getting old.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/04 15:58:15
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
And it's part of the main rules now, page 124, Arrival From Reserves.
ICs cannot choose to leave a unit the turn the unit they are attached to arrives from reserves.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/05 01:05:23
Subject: Independent Characters Disembarking
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
don_mondo wrote:And it's part of the main rules now, page 124, Arrival From Reserves.
ICs cannot choose to leave a unit the turn the unit they are attached to arrives from reserves.
Thank You! I was sure that was the rule... but sure couldn't find it.
|
|
 |
 |
|