| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/16 01:44:43
Subject: Barrage weapons and ignore cover
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hello everyone.
Barrage weapons can ignore cover as the blast comes from the center. Under the following situations would this apply or not apply?
1. Jink special rule/any non-universal special rules (I.e. Ork bikes exhaust cloud) - I believe it doesn't apply here as these are static saves not given by terrain.
2. In area terrain - I believe it doesn't apply here as you're again getting a static save while in the area
3. In cover by terrain/fortification/vehicles/models - I believe it applies here.
Just wanted some clarification. Any page references would be great. Thanks in advance. You guys are always helpful!
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/16 01:49:56
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/16 02:02:43
Subject: Barrage weapons and ignore cover
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
You have the right of it, except for saying "ignores cover." Barrage changes where the shot counts as coming from for cover purposes, which means it's only going to change eligibility based on Line of Sight. So as you say, 1 and 2 are unchanged as they do not have a Line of Sight component. Number 3 can change, as being obscured by something does depend on the Line of Sight of the shooter.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/16 02:28:47
Subject: Barrage weapons and ignore cover
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Heh didn't think about that when I wrote the title. More meant it as exact words, not the rule lol but thx a bunch. Just wanted to make sure.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/16 02:34:32
Subject: Barrage weapons and ignore cover
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Reidentski wrote:Heh didn't think about that when I wrote the title. More meant it as exact words, not the rule lol but thx a bunch. Just wanted to make sure.
That's what I figured, but I've seen enough people somehow get the idea that Barrage "ignores cover" (the rule) that I felt it should be pointed out.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/16 02:36:04
Subject: Barrage weapons and ignore cover
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
As Chrysis has pointed out, all it does is change where you measure line of sight from. It could even be possible for Barrage to grant a cover save to a model whom otherwise would not have had one. All it would require is for the Shot to simply scatters in a way that puts cover between it and the target, as the line of sight would then be drawn through said cover. For example: The Unit flanks another hiding behind the Defence Line, getting a clear line of sight to their targets, but alas one of the weapons being fired is Barrage and it scatters in front of the Defence Line. Very rare are those situations however, as there is no point in trying to flank with a Unit that has a way to discount intervening cover entirely.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/16 02:38:22
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/16 05:58:31
Subject: Barrage weapons and ignore cover
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
While we're on the subject, say you get a direct hit on the center of a rhino, and a marine is also in the blast radius. As you draw line of sight from the marker, which is on top of the rhino, would the marine get a 5+ cover save for intervening model?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/16 08:29:39
Subject: Barrage weapons and ignore cover
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Potentially yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|