Poll |
 |
|
 |
Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 20:53:49
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
Barrie, ON
|
Elric Greywolf wrote: grendel083 wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:
How do I have permission to ignore the restrictions on Heralds, stating may be included in a Primary Detachment, and not stating they may be included in any other detachment?
Because there isn't a restriction. It doesn't say they may only be included in Primaries.
Read it again, here it is "Each primary detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds".
Where does that say they can only be included in Primaries? It doesn't.
But if they are then each primary detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds.
I have permission to include "up to four Heralds" in my Primary Detachment. I have no permission to include Heralds in any other type of detachment. If you think I do, please quote the rules giving that permission. (Use quotations.)
If we read it your way, then you can have an Unbound Army like this:
1xFarseer, Warlord (Eldar Primary)
Infinity x Heralds (not Primary)
--but we cannot have an Unbound army like this:
Infinity x Heralds (Daemon Primary)
because I'm only allowed up to four Heralds in a Primary.
My reading doesn't create the shenanigans that yours does, and also closes a loophole, all while abiding by the letter of the rules.
Yes, you can have infinity Heralds in a Chaos Daemons Primary Unbound List. All the damn rule allows you to do is to take more than one Herald in a single HQ FoC slot. In Unbound FoC isn't a requirement, therefore this exemption doesn't even come up, therefore defaulting to the Unbound rules from the BRB.
|
...that big sanction stamp of APPROVAL means it's OFFICIAL. No, I don't have to ask you for permission. D-cannons win games.
2000+
2000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 20:59:45
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
LinkXx wrote: Yes, you can have infinity Heralds in a Chaos Daemons Primary Unbound List. All the damn rule allows you to do is to take more than one Herald in a single HQ FoC slot. In Unbound FoC isn't a requirement, therefore this exemption doesn't even come up, therefore defaulting to the Unbound rules from the BRB. Again, Not what the rule says. There are two parts to the rule, and these two parts are in two separate sentences. First, it says that you may take 0-4 Heralds in a Primary Detachment. Secondly, it says that these Heralds take only one HQ slot. I don't think anyone's arguing about the second point, so let's just stick with the first. And while Unbound armies do not have FOC limits, there IS a limit on Heralds. If Daemons is your Primary Detachment (and yes, Unbound armies still have a Primary Detachment), then you may take "up to four." That means you may take four or less, and not more than four. Edit: Poll added. Vote!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/26 21:12:42
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 21:29:01
Subject: Only Four Heralds!
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
I'm tired of arguing you. Your entire argument is based on misinterpreting the text and there is no way to convice you because you just keep misinterpreting all the our the point sin the same incorrect way
You are misreading everything
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 21:29:21
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:LinkXx wrote:
Yes, you can have infinity Heralds in a Chaos Daemons Primary Unbound List. All the damn rule allows you to do is to take more than one Herald in a single HQ FoC slot. In Unbound FoC isn't a requirement, therefore this exemption doesn't even come up, therefore defaulting to the Unbound rules from the BRB.
Again, Not what the rule says. There are two parts to the rule, and these two parts are in two separate sentences.
First, it says that you may take 0-4 Heralds in a Primary Detachment.
Secondly, it says that these Heralds take only one HQ slot.
I don't think anyone's arguing about the second point, so let's just stick with the first.
And while Unbound armies do not have FOC limits, there IS a limit on Heralds. If Daemons is your Primary Detachment (and yes, Unbound armies still have a Primary Detachment), then you may take "up to four." That means you may take four or less, and not more than four.
Edit: Poll added. Vote!
At this point I think it's been worded just about every which way possible, so if you don't want to accept RAW, fine, but I'll give it one last shot. Think of this way:
1) The BRB says I can take an allied detachment with an HQ choice.
2) The Daemons codex contains HQ choices.
3) I take a Herald of Khorne as my allied HQ choice because the BRB says I can.
4) The codex has a box explaining what to do with Heralds in your primary detachment.
5) Daemons are not my primary detachment, so this box does not apply to my army.
6) Nothing about 5) restricts 1)
Edited for spelling
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/26 21:29:59
“Idleness is the enemy of the soul; and therefore the brethren ought to be employed in manual labor at certain times, at others, in devout reading.”
― St. Benedict of Nursia, The Rule of Saint Benedict
The Mendicants Polaris, Chaos Warband, Deviant Sect of Word Bearers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 21:53:36
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
I really cannot understand why no one else is providing rules quotes, with page references, for their arguments. Please do so. I don't want to address things that may or may not be based on reading the rules. Even if you think I'm misinterpreting the rules, at least I am sharing with you what I've read (by using quotations).
I'm glad no one is claiming that a GK list may take infinity Warbands without having any Inquisitors in the list. But surely, everyone can also see the exact parallel to Heralds that this draws. It's spelled out in one of my earlier posts, which no one has yet adequately addressed.
ZultanQ wrote:5) Daemons are not my primary detachment, so this box does not apply to my army.
I don't know where you're getting this idea from. Nowhere do the rules say you may ignore things in your codex. All of your codex applies to your army.
Let's look at Inquisitorial Warbands, since there's such a close parallel. It is wrong to say, "I may take Warbands as Elite choices if I don't have an Inquisitor." It is right to say, "I may only take one Warband per Inquisitor in my army." (Coteaz is an exception.)
The wording is so precisely similar, we can easily compare this to Heralds. It is wrong to say, "I may take Heralds as HQ choices even if I don't have a Daemon Primary Detachment." It is right to say, "I may only take Heralds in a Daemon Primary Detachment."
If you disagree with that last sentence, please first provide rules explaining why you think you may take a Warband without taking an Inquisitor.
At this point I think it's been worded just about every which way possible, so if you don't want to accept RAW, fine
I can just as easily say that YOU are the one who is not accepting RAW. Watch: why are you refusing to accept RAW?
It's pretty unhelpful to make that accusation. I don't see how it would further an understanding of the rules.
And you are wrong (again): it has not been worded in "every which way possible." No one except me has given some good, solid rules quotes to back up their position.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/26 22:01:14
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 21:59:59
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:I really cannot understand why no one else is providing rules quotes, with page references, for their arguments. Please do so. I don't want to address things that may or may not be based on reading the rules. Even if you think I'm misinterpreting the rules, at least I am sharing with you what I've read (by using quotations).
The only reference you need is the "Heralds of Chaos" entry on pg 94 of the codex. Everything else you seem to want is superfluous and is not needed to prove you wrong yet you are either too stupid or too stubborn to not think so.
Just learn how to read. "May" is not the same as "Only".
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/26 22:01:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 22:03:22
Subject: Only Four Heralds!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above.
Exactly the same argument was given, and debunked, in sixth.
You have permission to take an hq choice. It states it, right there in the allies FOC
Now find where that permission is removed. Page and para. The permission, an additional one, does not function as a restriction.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 22:03:57
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Personal insults are not helpful to the conversation.
In a situation where I have many restrictions, and can only do anything with specific permission, then yes, "may" is the same as "only" unless otherwise specified.
For example, using the metaphor you provided, the Warden says, "Each lunch in your day you may drink a glass of milk." (English is obviously not this fellow's first language.) I also must ask, "May I have soda for lunch?" Because at this point, he's given me specific permission for MILK, not for soda. I may not assume that I can pick soda instead.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 22:06:15
Subject: Only Four Heralds!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Elric - you have permission in the ally FOC. Cite where this is removed
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 22:12:15
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:
Personal insults are not helpful to the conversation.
In a situation where I have many restrictions, and can only do anything with specific permission, then yes, "may" is the same as "only" unless otherwise specified.
For example, using the metaphor you provided, the Warden says, "Each lunch in your day you may drink a glass of milk." (English is obviously not this fellow's first language.) I also must ask, "May I have soda for lunch?" Because at this point, he's given me specific permission for MILK, not for soda. I may not assume that I can pick soda instead.
You're right that it doesn't give permission but it doesn't deny soda either because it doesn't say so. We get permission to take heralds from the fact HQs are a choice in an allied detachment (I can't give you a page reference because i have an epub of it so stop whining about it). The inquisitor stuff doesn't apply because they don't use a normal force org chart because they use their own detachment so stop bringing it up.
We have the permission, so stop saying we don't
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 22:14:32
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Elric. Please explain how one takes the Blue Scribes or Masque of Slaanesh. Both of these choices are mixed in with the rest of the Heralds, but are not included in the list of what Heralds one can take in a Primary Detachment of 1-4.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/05/26 22:14:59
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 22:53:45
Subject: Re:Only Four Heralds!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So does this mean I can take Creed, Kell, Straken, and Nork Deddog without Command Squads? I mean, they are listed in the HQ section, and they don't SAY I can't take them outside of the command squads.
Just so you know, that was being facetious. It is completely obvious that the topic creator is correct, and that the intent was 4 Heralds limit per detachment, and the Heralds of Chaos Box shows you how you take those units.
Seriously guys, stop trying to loophole stuff, and start focusing on RAI to help comprehend what the written word means.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/26 23:10:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 23:05:43
Subject: Only Four Heralds!
|
 |
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker
South Chicago burbs
|
Is there any restrictions listed to take those characters?
If there is, you must fulfill the requirements to take them.
Heralds have no restrictions, only an additional rule that affects primary detachments.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 23:08:21
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
*Current meatspace coordinates redacted*
|
Happyjew wrote:Elric. Please explain how one takes the Blue Scribes or Masque of Slaanesh.
Both of these choices are mixed in with the rest of the Heralds, but are not included in the list of what Heralds one can take in a Primary Detachment of 1-4.
Actually they are. There's a list of what counts as a 'herald' and the list includes all the named heralds of the various gods. Beyond that, the box appears before the individual listings, specifcally encompasses all the listsings that follow it, and contains no language that suggests that the 1-4 for 1 HQ is some sort of alternative selection method.
Don't get me wrong, I don't see any reason ( RAW aside) that an allied detachment or second CA detachment shouldn't be able to include a single Herald as an HQ, but the new rules and definition of primary detachment make things sticky.
|
He knows that I know and you know that he actually doesn't know the rules at all. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 23:20:24
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:Elric. Please explain how one takes the Blue Scribes or Masque of Slaanesh.
Both of these choices are mixed in with the rest of the Heralds, but are not included in the list of what Heralds one can take in a Primary Detachment of 1-4.
That''s actually a really good point, this section could definitely use a FAQ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 23:33:47
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Fenris-77 wrote: Happyjew wrote:Elric. Please explain how one takes the Blue Scribes or Masque of Slaanesh.
Both of these choices are mixed in with the rest of the Heralds, but are not included in the list of what Heralds one can take in a Primary Detachment of 1-4.
Actually they are. There's a list of what counts as a 'herald' and the list includes all the named heralds of the various gods. Beyond that, the box appears before the individual listings, specifcally encompasses all the listsings that follow it, and contains no language that suggests that the 1-4 for 1 HQ is some sort of alternative selection method.
Don't get me wrong, I don't see any reason ( RAW aside) that an allied detachment or second CA detachment shouldn't be able to include a single Herald as an HQ, but the new rules and definition of primary detachment make things sticky.
Re-read the list. It includes Heralds of each god, as well as Karnak, Skulltaker, the Changling, and the named Nurgle Herald (whose name eludes me at the moment.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 23:48:04
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
*Current meatspace coordinates redacted*
|
Happyjew wrote:
Re-read the list. It includes Heralds of each god, as well as Karnak, Skulltaker, the Changling, and the named Nurgle Herald (whose name eludes me at the moment.
Um yeah, I thought that's what I said...  Didn't I? Anyway, that was really just in response to your "how we take X" query - you can take them because they're listed in the text box that governs Heralds (at least if you're on that side of the argumentative fence).
|
He knows that I know and you know that he actually doesn't know the rules at all. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 23:52:39
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Fenris-77 wrote: Happyjew wrote:
Re-read the list. It includes Heralds of each god, as well as Karnak, Skulltaker, the Changling, and the named Nurgle Herald (whose name eludes me at the moment.
Um yeah, I thought that's what I said...  Didn't I? Anyway, that was really just in response to your "how we take X" query - you can take them because they're listed in the text box that governs Heralds (at least if you're on that side of the argumentative fence).
They actually aren't in the text box, but mixed in with the character descriptions, which leads credence to the text box not describing how you take the following entries.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/26 23:54:35
Subject: Only Four Heralds!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I think the vote clearly shows what side everyone is on, with only a single person voting Elric's way and that was most likely Elric himself. Next to the 16 that disagree.
As far as permissions go, you are granted the same permission to take Heralds as a single HQ as you are to take any of the entries in the HQ list. The core rules allow this.
The part you're confused on is the separate entry in HQ called "Heralds of Chaos", which allows up to 4 Heralds in your primary detachment as a single HQ slot. Here's the part the you seem to not be understanding:
- "Heralds of Chaos" is itself an HQ slot option!
The restrictions applied by "Heralds of Chaos" only apply if you select "Heralds of Chaos" as your HQ unit. In such a case, then yes you would be required to have them in a primary detachment only and up to four selected. However, nothing prohibits taking an individual Herald for an HQ slot because you are not selecting the "Heralds of Chaos" option.
Only the "Heralds of Chaos" HQ choice limits you to a primary detachment. All other HQ choices follow the standard rules of the Force Org chart.
|
The 7th Edition FAQ is out!
Pink Horrors can summon.
Daemon Factory is legal! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 00:18:12
Subject: Re:Only Four Heralds!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Note the term: Each .... in your Army...
How many Primary Detachments allowed in an Army: One
Each... in your Armies... would be okay. That would mean over a few different armies and it makes sense. But it does not say that.
Resolution: Wait for the FAQ.
|
Black Templar |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 00:21:01
Subject: Only Four Heralds!
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yep. So, outside of your primary you get ...why look, as many as you can select according to the FOC you are using states you can field
Permission granted. Cite denial. Oh, and this isn't a 7th ed thing, exactly the same question was raised, and debunked, in 6th
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/27 00:21:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 00:22:00
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
*Current meatspace coordinates redacted*
|
Leerjawise wrote: Fenris-77 wrote: Happyjew wrote:
Re-read the list. It includes Heralds of each god, as well as Karnak, Skulltaker, the Changling, and the named Nurgle Herald (whose name eludes me at the moment.
Um yeah, I thought that's what I said...  Didn't I? Anyway, that was really just in response to your "how we take X" query - you can take them because they're listed in the text box that governs Heralds (at least if you're on that side of the argumentative fence).
They actually aren't in the text box, but mixed in with the character descriptions, which leads credence to the text box not describing how you take the following entries.
I'm looking right at the text box right now and most certainly does include all the named heralds. Perhaps this is a book version issue?
|
He knows that I know and you know that he actually doesn't know the rules at all. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 01:10:25
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Fenris-77 wrote:Leerjawise wrote: Fenris-77 wrote: Happyjew wrote:
Re-read the list. It includes Heralds of each god, as well as Karnak, Skulltaker, the Changling, and the named Nurgle Herald (whose name eludes me at the moment.
Um yeah, I thought that's what I said...  Didn't I? Anyway, that was really just in response to your "how we take X" query - you can take them because they're listed in the text box that governs Heralds (at least if you're on that side of the argumentative fence).
They actually aren't in the text box, but mixed in with the character descriptions, which leads credence to the text box not describing how you take the following entries.
I'm looking right at the text box right now and most certainly does include all the named heralds. Perhaps this is a book version issue?
Wait, your copy includes the Blue Scribes, and the Masque of Slaanesh, in the bulleted list of Heralds in the box detailing the 1-4 rule?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 01:17:25
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
*Current meatspace coordinates redacted*
|
Happyjew wrote:
Wait, your copy includes the Blue Scribes, and the Masque of Slaanesh, in the bulleted list of Heralds in the box detailing the 1-4 rule?
Hah, basic reading comprehension fail on my part.  No, both those characters are missing, which leaves you with an entirely valid point. Mea culpa.
|
He knows that I know and you know that he actually doesn't know the rules at all. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 01:20:37
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Fenris-77 wrote:Leerjawise wrote: Fenris-77 wrote: Happyjew wrote:
Re-read the list. It includes Heralds of each god, as well as Karnak, Skulltaker, the Changling, and the named Nurgle Herald (whose name eludes me at the moment.
Um yeah, I thought that's what I said...  Didn't I? Anyway, that was really just in response to your "how we take X" query - you can take them because they're listed in the text box that governs Heralds (at least if you're on that side of the argumentative fence).
They actually aren't in the text box, but mixed in with the character descriptions, which leads credence to the text box not describing how you take the following entries.
I'm looking right at the text box right now and most certainly does include all the named heralds. Perhaps this is a book version issue?
Not the four named heralds, the two in question are the Blue Scribes and the Masque of Slaanesh
*Ninja'd*
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/27 01:21:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 01:26:31
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Happyjew wrote:Elric. Please explain how one takes the Blue Scribes or Masque of Slaanesh.
Both of these choices are mixed in with the rest of the Heralds, but are not included in the list of what Heralds one can take in a Primary Detachment of 1-4.
Okay Happy, this is a valid point.
Now, please explain to me, if the lack of the 'only' in the Heralds box allows you to take Heralds outside of that restriction, why can't I take Ghost Knights without Mordrak or Command Squads without a SM Commander? Neither of those boxes contain an only either.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 01:43:53
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Jimsolo wrote: Happyjew wrote:Elric. Please explain how one takes the Blue Scribes or Masque of Slaanesh.
Both of these choices are mixed in with the rest of the Heralds, but are not included in the list of what Heralds one can take in a Primary Detachment of 1-4.
Okay Happy, this is a valid point.
Now, please explain to me, if the lack of the 'only' in the Heralds box allows you to take Heralds outside of that restriction, why can't I take Ghost Knights without Mordrak or Command Squads without a SM Commander? Neither of those boxes contain an only either.
There is a difference between Heralds and Command Squads/Warlocks.
Warlocks has a restriction within the army list entry. Same as Command Squads/Honour Guard.
Heralds as a whole have a special permission to take 1-4 in a primary detachment, however, as the entries are separate from that rule, it is not a rule that is always in effect.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 02:22:27
Subject: ONLY FOUR HERALDS!
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:LinkXx wrote:
Yes, you can have infinity Heralds in a Chaos Daemons Primary Unbound List. All the damn rule allows you to do is to take more than one Herald in a single HQ FoC slot. In Unbound FoC isn't a requirement, therefore this exemption doesn't even come up, therefore defaulting to the Unbound rules from the BRB.
Again, Not what the rule says. There are two parts to the rule, and these two parts are in two separate sentences.
First, it says that you may take 0-4 Heralds in a Primary Detachment.
Secondly, it says that these Heralds take only one HQ slot.
I don't think anyone's arguing about the second point, so let's just stick with the first.
And while Unbound armies do not have FOC limits, there IS a limit on Heralds. If Daemons is your Primary Detachment (and yes, Unbound armies still have a Primary Detachment), then you may take "up to four." That means you may take four or less, and not more than four.
Edit: Poll added. Vote!
Eric.......I posted the following.......on page one...
From the rule book, 7th edition, pg 117, top right corner.
"If you use the Unbound method, then once you chose your Warlord, every model in your army that has the same Faction ( pg 118) as your Warlord is considered to be part of the Primary Detachment for all rules purposes. Of course, in an Unbound army, these models are not bound by any Detachment restrictions and do not receive command benefits." -emphasis, mine
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/27 02:22:47
4000 points: Craftworld Mymeara |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/27 02:32:17
Subject: Only Four Heralds!
|
 |
Blood Angel Chapter Master with Wings
|
Ya I think this one is good and done. The information has been given, if not received.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|