| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 20:17:21
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
How exactly do you Go to Ground during Overwatch. Was reading through the rulebook and came across this line.
"If a unit Goes to Ground from Overwatch, then the charge automatically fails."
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 20:20:06
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
The charging unit can choose to 'Go to Ground' when it is being shot at from Overwatch.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 20:20:09
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
You declare charge. Opponent declares Overwatch. You declare GtG. Charge fails.
What's difficult to understand?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 20:26:09
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Didn't know I could declare GtG during charge lol, no need to be sarcastic
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 20:26:13
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Yep, you can do it to draw out their Overwatch fire and then charge them with something else.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 21:42:23
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
So wait, I can declare charge, stop mid way by GtG, then I can get up and finish charging or charge with another squad?
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 22:32:28
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Zodiark wrote:So wait, I can declare charge, stop mid way by GtG, then I can get up and finish charging or charge with another squad?
No.
You can't declare more than one charge with a single unit, and a unit that has gone to ground cannot charge.
How are you suggesting the unit "gets up"?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/28 22:40:20
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Reread the rule quote you posted. It's pretty clear that you can't "get up".
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/29 01:22:24
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Reread my post, I never stated that I could. Automatically Appended Next Post: Reread my post, I never stated that I could.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/29 01:26:49
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/29 13:05:23
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Zodiark wrote:Reread my post, I never stated that I could. Zodiark wrote:So wait, I can declare charge, stop mid way by GtG, then I can get up and finish charging or charge with another squad?
So what did you mean by the underlined? Maybe you should reread your own post?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/05/29 13:05:41
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/29 15:49:40
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
He meant you can charge with a unit gtg then use ANOTHER unit to charge that unit that now can;t fire overwatch at you.
|
01001000 01101001 00100000 01110100 01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101 00101110 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/29 15:50:51
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Mythra wrote:He meant you can charge with a unit gtg then use ANOTHER unit to charge that unit that now can;t fire overwatch at you.
Then he needs to use different words - because he absolutely didn't write that.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/29 16:46:16
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
rigeld2 wrote: Mythra wrote:He meant you can charge with a unit gtg then use ANOTHER unit to charge that unit that now can;t fire overwatch at you.
Then he needs to use different words - because he absolutely didn't write that.
If you read the entire sentence rather than getting stuck on that one part as you did, you would notice that this is exactly what I said.
Thanks Mythra, this answers my question.
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/29 17:02:15
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Zodiark wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Mythra wrote:He meant you can charge with a unit gtg then use ANOTHER unit to charge that unit that now can;t fire overwatch at you.
Then he needs to use different words - because he absolutely didn't write that.
If you read the entire sentence rather than getting stuck on that one part as you did, you would notice that this is exactly what I said.
Thanks Mythra, this answers my question.
Zodiark wrote:So wait, I can declare charge, stop mid way by GtG, then I can get up and finish charging or charge with another squad?
No. You said or charge with another squad. That's not the same thing as and charge with another squad. Words mean things.
Normally I wouldn't care, but don't defend a poor choice of words by lying about it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/05/29 17:41:06
Subject: Go to Ground
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
Zodiark wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Mythra wrote:He meant you can charge with a unit gtg then use ANOTHER unit to charge that unit that now can;t fire overwatch at you.
Then he needs to use different words - because he absolutely didn't write that.
If you read the entire sentence rather than getting stuck on that one part as you did, you would notice that this is exactly what I said.
Thanks Mythra, this answers my question.
It's kind of nit-picking at this point, but what you said suggested you thought a unit could get up and finish the charge after it gtg during a charge. Now that we know that is not what you meant, we can move on.
So to recap, if you have 2 units capable of charging an enemy unit, you can declare a charge with one of them to try and get your opponent to fire overwatch. If they do, you can go to ground with that unit. Once Overwatch is resolved, the unit that went to ground can't finish it's charge. Then you can declare a charge with another unit on the same enemy unit. The enemy can't use overwatch because they already fired overwatch. It is a valid strategy.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|