Switch Theme:

Psychic hoods and blocking blessings  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So I was playing my gray knights and my level 3 librarian was near a unit of daemons being blessed by invisibility from a lvl 2 slaanesh herald. I read the rule for psychic hoods on page 26 BRB and noticed that how it is worded I can deny the witch as if my librarian was part of the unit if an enemy casts a psychic power on a unit or model within 12" of my model with the hood. This allowed me to roll deny the witch on 4+ against his spell and reroll ones per aegis. Did I play this correctly?
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt




US

Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't it simply say the wearer of the psychic hood can make DtW rolls instead of the originally targeted unit? It doesn't functionally change the target of the ability, thus the wording in the BRB related to denying blessings takes precedence, preventing you from using the modifiers. Since the reroll of 1's granted by The Aegis is not a modifier, but rather a re-roll, I would play it as requiring 6's, but being able to re-roll 1's. This is a matter of some debate currently, with some people, notably grendel083, insisting that individual units can not make DtW rolls against enemy blessings. Personally, I find that notion silly, but your mileage may vary.

'Nids uber alles. And GK I guess . . . them too.

2k 'Nids
2k GK 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




icefire78 wrote:
So I was playing my gray knights and my level 3 librarian was near a unit of daemons being blessed by invisibility from a lvl 2 slaanesh herald. I read the rule for psychic hoods on page 26 BRB and noticed that how it is worded I can deny the witch as if my librarian was part of the unit if an enemy casts a psychic power on a unit or model within 12" of my model with the hood. This allowed me to roll deny the witch on 4+ against his spell and reroll ones per aegis. Did I play this correctly?


No see other thread

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/597372.page
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: