Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/02 21:14:14
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Can Stomp templates be placed over a model or unit not "engaged" in the Combat ? There seems to be no restriction other than within 3" for placing the Blast markers. Wondering if you can actually clip other things not in combat with the stomp.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/02 21:15:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/02 21:20:06
Subject: Re:Stomp Question
|
 |
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners
|
I have more than once, quite fun from time to time. Still it almost always requires three stomps to get the desired effect.
|
3000+
6000+
2000+
2500+
2500+
:Orks 5000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/03 07:23:38
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, there is no requirement for these markers to be placed solely over models in close combat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/08 15:05:49
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
On the back of a hog.
|
Follow up question: Can I destroy a transport with my D weapon and then stomp the occupants when they fall out?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/08 15:12:02
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Stomp only works if you are in CC. So while it would be technically possible, it would be a pretty contrived and thus rare situation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 03:04:22
Subject: Re:Stomp Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
couple more questions regarding stomp:
1. can feel no pain be taken against the roll of a 6 on the stomp chart ?
2. Can you still stomp if all of the models in combat are killed ?
3. Can you "look out sir" stomps ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 03:58:08
Subject: Re:Stomp Question
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
zedsdead wrote:couple more questions regarding stomp:
1. can feel no pain be taken against the roll of a 6 on the stomp chart ?
2. Can you still stomp if all of the models in combat are killed ?
3. Can you "look out sir" stomps ?
1) No, as no wounds are caused.
2) No, as you would have consolidated before the I1 step.
3) Yes, as long as it's not a 6, because 6 doesn't cause any wounds.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 06:11:54
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
2) you still run throught he I steps down to I1, you do not consolidate before that step. So I would argue YES here.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 08:36:46
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Cant FNP since the model is just removed from play.
YOu cannot stomp if you are no longer in combat with any models since it happens at init. 1 and thus you must still be locked in combat to use it. You can still stomp even if no models are in B2B however, as long as the unit you charged is not completely wiped out.
You can look out sir any wounds allocated to characters so good until that 6 comes up.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 13:23:00
Subject: Re:Stomp Question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
YOu cannot stomp if you are no longer in combat with any models since it happens at init. 1 and thus you must still be locked in combat to use it. You can still stomp even if no models are in B2B however, as long as the unit you charged is not completely wiped out.
But arent you still considered locked in combat until you consolidate ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 17:51:04
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Eihnlazer wrote:
YOu cannot stomp if you are no longer in combat with any models since it happens at init. 1 and thus you must still be locked in combat to use it.
This seems to be correct, to use stomp, you need to be engaged in combat, which means that at least one model in your unit needs to be in base contact with the enemy unit.
You can still stomp even if no models are in B2B however, as long as the unit you charged is not completely wiped out.
This however, cannot happen. The Knight is an unit of one, and once that only member of the unit is no longer in base contact with the enemy the unit is no longer engaged.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 17:55:31
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
actually crimson you are still engaged until all the initiative steps have passed as long as there are still models remaining from at least 1 unit of both players armies that were involved in the assault.
If at the end of initiative step 1 there are no longer any models in b2b the combat is broken.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 18:05:12
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Eihnlazer wrote:actually crimson you are still engaged until all the initiative steps have passed as long as there are still models remaining from at least 1 unit of both players armies that were involved in the assault.
Could you explain your reasoning? My reading of 'Determine Who Can Fight' on p. 49 leads me to conclude differently. What am I missing?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 19:02:30
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
The Determine who can fight rules state that on a models initiative phase it piles in 3" (unless it has already piled in) and can make attacks unless it is not in b2b or within 2' of a friendly model in B2B.
This means you do have to go all the way down to initiative 1 before you can declare the combat over.
Stomp is a special rule that lets the Super Heavy make the stomp attacks at initiative 1 and does not care whether the model is in B2B with a unit or not. It just happens at init. 1, before you even determine whether the combat is over.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 19:09:21
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Correct me if I am wrong, but doesn't the Stomp Rule begin by stating a Super-Heavy Walkers engaged in combat may... and do we not have a means to determine if individual Models are themselves Engaged?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/11 19:11:42
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 19:12:17
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
The superheavy is still engaged in combat until either:
A. All models of the opposing players unit have been destroyed.
B. at the end of initiative step 1 no models are in B2B.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 19:17:50
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Curious: Are you stating we only determine the Engaged status during a single point in the Sequence, with the Model remaining Engaged regardless of what occurs afterwards?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/08/11 19:21:26
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 19:21:05
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
But the Knight needs to be engaged to use it (says so in the Stomp rules) and to be engaged it either needs to be in base contact with the enemy or within two inches of a friendly model which is in base contact with the enemy. Assuming there are no other friendly models in the combat and the Knight itself is not in base contact, it is not engaged and thus cannot stomp.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 20:41:18
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
It is still engaged, as i specified in my above post.
You do not loose the engaged status until you have wiped out the unit you are in combat with, or until the end of initiative step 1 (if no models are in B2B).
I did not see permission anywhere in the BRB to say an assault is over until one of those 2 conditions is met.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 21:18:04
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Can you please quote Rules to support that stance? Wondering if Engaged and Locked are being mixed up again....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/11 21:19:20
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 21:23:19
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
You want rules quote for what exactly? The relevant rules were already discussed. We know that we are engaged in combat at the start of the assault phase already correct? We also know that you remain engaged in combat until either there are no longer any models left on one side of the combat, or the "determine who can fight" rule completes its course. EDIT: I am acctually starting to doubt myself a bit however. After reviewing the rules a few times and noting the difference between engaged and locked. My main issue comes with whether the Determine who can fight checks off at the start of each initiative phase or at the same time the attacker is going to swing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/11 21:31:19
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/11 21:31:01
Subject: Stomp Question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The more you post, the more I think you are mistaking Locked in Combat for Engaged in Combat.... There is this thought that keeps going through my mind: One of my Models is currently 3 away from a Friendly Model which is in Base to Base contact with the Enemy It Piles in at it's Initiative Step and ends up in Base to Base contact itself Can it now Attack or is it still unable to do so on account that it was not engaged at the very start of the combat?
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/08/11 21:40:50
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
|