Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 22:58:05
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Been researching this for a few days and have found two clashing opinions, so I figured I would come here for your opinions before calling my local GW guy.
The standard effects Boltguns.
Now is this specifically just the guns named Boltguns or the criteria of guns categorized as Boltguns.
I've browsed and talked with people and gotten mixed reviews about both, but there's no FAQ or anything official I can find short of asking a GW employee.
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 23:00:14
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
I would say that it affects the category of things called boltguns: bolters, bolt pistols, storm bolters, and hurricane bolters.
You might leave off storm bolters, I'm not sure. I have no idea about Heavy bolters.
Wasn't there a FAQ that answered this?
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 23:02:24
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Haven't seen an FAQ on it and I have the 6th/7th edition one, I can check again.
My thinking is the category of guns themselves, so Boltguns, that is any gun that uses Bolts, but I dunno for sure
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 23:02:56
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:I would say that it affects the category of things called boltguns: bolters, bolt pistols, storm bolters, and hurricane bolters.
You might leave off storm bolters, I'm not sure. I have no idea about Heavy bolters.
Wasn't there a FAQ that answered this?
Old FAQ from 6 said it only affect Boltgun and Bolt Pistol IIRC. They removed that question and answer from the new FAQ though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 23:04:37
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
lemme double check
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 23:06:33
Subject: Re:Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
FAQ Dark Angel Apr 2013 wrote:Q: The Standard of Devastation states that ‘all friendly Codex: Dark Angels units within 6” of the standard treat their boltguns as Salvo 2/4 weapons’. Which boltguns does this apply to? (p66)
A: This applies to the standard boltgun (24”range, S4, AP5, Rapid Fire), twin-linked boltguns on bikes, the bolter component of combi-weapons, and hurricane bolters.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/04 23:07:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 23:06:44
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
From the 6th ed FAQ:
Q: The Standard of Devastation states that ‘all friendly Codex:
Dark Angels units within 6” of the standard treat their boltguns as
Salvo 2/4 weapons’. Which boltguns does this apply to? (p66)
A: This applies to the standard boltgun (24” range, S4, AP5,
Rapid Fire), twin-linked boltguns on bikes, the bolter
component of combi-weapons, and hurricane bolters.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 23:06:55
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Yeah it isn't in the FAQ for DA's for 7th edition and I'm not seeing an FAQ for the general BRB for 7th on black library Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:From the 6th ed FAQ:
Q: The Standard of Devastation states that ‘all friendly Codex:
Dark Angels units within 6” of the standard treat their boltguns as
Salvo 2/4 weapons’. Which boltguns does this apply to? (p66)
A: This applies to the standard boltgun (24” range, S4, AP5,
Rapid Fire), twin-linked boltguns on bikes, the bolter
component of combi-weapons, and hurricane bolters.
This going to be reprinted in 7th or do we simply ignore it as the new rules phase out the old, or at least that's what I've been seeing on these forums. People claim that because an entry was in 6th FAQ but not in 7th it no longer applies
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/04 23:09:31
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 23:09:49
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Generally when something refers to the collective group of weapons, it will say something like "all flamer weapons as defined in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook".
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/04 23:11:30
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Happyjew wrote:Generally when something refers to the collective group of weapons, it will say something like "all flamer weapons as defined in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook".
Ahh, this helps a lot actually Automatically Appended Next Post: besbin wrote: Elric Greywolf wrote:I would say that it affects the category of things called boltguns: bolters, bolt pistols, storm bolters, and hurricane bolters.
You might leave off storm bolters, I'm not sure. I have no idea about Heavy bolters.
Wasn't there a FAQ that answered this?
Old FAQ from 6 said it only affect Boltgun and Bolt Pistol IIRC. They removed that question and answer from the new FAQ though.
Not in 7th FAQ, at least not under DA one, lookin at it right now
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/04 23:11:58
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/05 00:07:43
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
Boltgun and bolter are used interchangably in the rules.
Boltgun is also a class of weapon.
Standard of devestation applies only to bolters/boltguns and weapons composed of said guns.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/05 04:27:27
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Leth wrote:Boltgun and bolter are used interchangably in the rules.
Boltgun is also a class of weapon.
Standard of devestation applies only to bolters/boltguns and weapons composed of said guns.
Avenger Mega bolter!!! HOOOO. if only
|
A Dark Angel fell on a watcher in the Dark Shroud silently chanted Vengance on the Fallen Angels to never be Unforgiven |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/05 05:39:48
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Zodiark wrote:This going to be reprinted in 7th or do we simply ignore it as the new rules phase out the old, or at least that's what I've been seeing on these forums. People claim that because an entry was in 6th FAQ but not in 7th it no longer applies
The thing to keep in mind is that FAQs are (at least 'officially') just clarifications, not changes to the rule. So this entry from the 6th ed FAQ didn't change anything. It was just a clarification as to what the rule as written in the codex meant.
That rule hasn't changed, so there is no particular reason to expect that it works any differently now that the FAQ entry is gone than it did while that entry was there.
The Standard says it affects Boltguns. All the FAQ entry did was list the various types of weapons that either are, or incorporate, boltguns in a Dark Angels army.
So yes, it will still apply. Frankly, I don't think it was ever necessary in the first place, since the wording in the standard rule is quite clear.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/05 14:42:20
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
insaniak wrote:Zodiark wrote:This going to be reprinted in 7th or do we simply ignore it as the new rules phase out the old, or at least that's what I've been seeing on these forums. People claim that because an entry was in 6th FAQ but not in 7th it no longer applies
The thing to keep in mind is that FAQs are (at least 'officially') just clarifications, not changes to the rule. So this entry from the 6th ed FAQ didn't change anything. It was just a clarification as to what the rule as written in the codex meant.
That rule hasn't changed, so there is no particular reason to expect that it works any differently now that the FAQ entry is gone than it did while that entry was there.
The Standard says it affects Boltguns. All the FAQ entry did was list the various types of weapons that either are, or incorporate, boltguns in a Dark Angels army.
So yes, it will still apply. Frankly, I don't think it was ever necessary in the first place, since the wording in the standard rule is quite clear.
Yeah the wording is clear lol, otherwise there wouldn't be so much debate all over the net about it. But an earlier poster said something about them specifically mentioning a weapon type when considering things like this otherwise it would be just the gun.
But when you say Boltguns and you have a gun called a Boltgun and a category of guns that are Boltguns, you need to make it clear which you refer too as even in BRB it describes all Boltguns as any gun that uses bolts to shoot etc, which is all of them, including Storm and Heavy Bolter.
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/05 15:18:48
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Shropshire
|
brb pg 176 Boltguns
it has Bolt Pistols, Boltgun, Storm Bolter, Heavy Bolter, Vulcan Mega Bolter
so are all these boltguns now as they are under that sections if so ‘all friendly Codex: Dark Angels units within 6” of the standard treat their boltguns as Salvo 2/4 weapons’ it means all of them with the FAQ gone unfortuantly
|
"and with but a little push it all goes BANG!!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/05 15:31:40
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Sorry not really understanding what you're saying, but yes all those are listed as Boltguns and one interpretation of the rule for the Standar of Devastation is that ALL boltguns get this effect, whereas another interpretation states the gun Boltgun.
It's been clarified though, double checked with GW people who admit it is something that needed further clarification
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/05 15:35:54
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Shropshire
|
Zodiark wrote:Sorry not really understanding what you're saying, but yes all those are listed as Boltguns and one interpretation of the rule for the Standar of Devastation is that ALL boltguns get this effect, whereas another interpretation states the gun Boltgun.
It's been clarified though, double checked with GW people who admit it is something that needed further clarification
haha i know its silly why did they name a entire group of weapons the same name as one of the weapons.
ooh who did you get from gw to admit it was something that needed clarifying cus I always get "There is no ambiguity in the rules" or the standard FAQ response of you may see it in the next faqs
|
"and with but a little push it all goes BANG!!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/05 15:44:20
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Some generic guy working the counter that day all official like lol
|
Nothing more fun than tabling an opponent |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/05 15:46:39
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Shropshire
|
haha yeh I used to be that guy lol I hope no one ever quoted me on here cus I just used to make rules up as I went to stop them bothering me... usual response of gw staff member "yeh why not" haha
|
"and with but a little push it all goes BANG!!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 08:25:42
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer
|
insaniak wrote:Zodiark wrote:This going to be reprinted in 7th or do we simply ignore it as the new rules phase out the old, or at least that's what I've been seeing on these forums. People claim that because an entry was in 6th FAQ but not in 7th it no longer applies
The thing to keep in mind is that FAQs are (at least 'officially') just clarifications, not changes to the rule. So this entry from the 6th ed FAQ didn't change anything. It was just a clarification as to what the rule as written in the codex meant.
That rule hasn't changed, so there is no particular reason to expect that it works any differently now that the FAQ entry is gone than it did while that entry was there.
The Standard says it affects Boltguns. All the FAQ entry did was list the various types of weapons that either are, or incorporate, boltguns in a Dark Angels army.
So yes, it will still apply. Frankly, I don't think it was ever necessary in the first place, since the wording in the standard rule is quite clear.
How, then, do you reconcile everyone treating PFGs the same as before the 6th ed. FAQ that limited their effect to the passengers of the vehicle? The only change in that case was its removal from the 7th ed. FAQ.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/14 08:30:25
"If a man dedicates his life to good deeds and the welfare of others, he will die unthanked and unremembered. If he exercises his genius bringing misery and death to billions, his name will echo through the millenia for a hundered lifetimes. Infamy is always more preferable to ignominy."
-Fabius Bile at the Desecration of Kanzuz IX
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 12:06:09
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I just had this conversation with someone else yesterday. Quite simply, a boltgun is a boltgun and that's all there is to it.
The FAQ didn't change the rule, it just clarified. When something refers to a category of weapon, then it will specifically say "as defined in the BRB" or something to that effect.
The PFG did indeed get a rules change, however. The previous FAQ limited its range of influence, now it is not limited to the vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 12:40:19
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
ok easyway to sum this up...
from codex spacemarines bolter drill which imp[licity allows all bolter type weaponry, it says something like allows all bolt weaponary including boolterguns pistols heavy bolters and anyother classifictation to reroll 1's to hit. EXPLICIT
banner of devastation sa\ys bolt guns: what is a bolt gun, a combi bolter a bolt gun and a hurrican bolter
EVEN without the FAQ this is clearly obvious on their intent as well as RAW
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 15:30:03
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
You guys are severely mistaken on what is "obvious" and what isn't. To one side of the argument, it is obvious that it is Boltguns, Combi-Weapons and Hurricane bolters, but this did not become obvious until a FAQ came out to clarify, otherwise they would not have to clarify anything at all.
To the other side, it is obviously referring to the weapon type Boltguns.
The first side is right purely due to the FAQ, not because of any "obviousness" of the wording.
Therefore, it is by no means Rules as Written when you look to the FAQ which is in fact not a rule list but simple clarifications and adjustments to mistakes. One can play purely by Rules as Written and have the effect apply to the category of Boltguns and legitimately not be in the wrong as there is no implication of anything else.
|
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 16:19:37
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Lobomalo wrote:You guys are severely mistaken on what is "obvious" and what isn't. To one side of the argument, it is obvious that it is Boltguns, Combi-Weapons and Hurricane bolters, but this did not become obvious until a FAQ came out to clarify, otherwise they would not have to clarify anything at all.
To the other side, it is obviously referring to the weapon type Boltguns.
The first side is right purely due to the FAQ, not because of any "obviousness" of the wording.
Therefore, it is by no means Rules as Written when you look to the FAQ which is in fact not a rule list but simple clarifications and adjustments to mistakes. One can play purely by Rules as Written and have the effect apply to the category of Boltguns and legitimately not be in the wrong as there is no implication of anything else.
Its obvious because it says "boltguns" and not "boltgun weapons""
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 16:20:58
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
It says Boltguns. Turn to the heading in the rulebook and the heading says Boltguns, not Boltgun weapons.
I understand the FAQ, I am commenting on this perception of "obviousness" that others have. This comes from prior knowledge of the game and being around longer, new players reading this won't have the same "obvious" conclusion.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/14 16:21:58
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 16:22:44
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
Happyjew wrote:Generally when something refers to the collective group of weapons, it will say something like "all flamer weapons as defined in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 16:24:09
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
CrownAxe wrote: Happyjew wrote:Generally when something refers to the collective group of weapons, it will say something like "all flamer weapons as defined in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook".
Note the word "generally" then look it up in a dictionary. Generally does not mean always, it is merely an expression of something widely accepted as the norm.
|
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 16:29:15
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
boltgun is the name of a specific weapon. All it says is boltgun. If it wanted the group it would of needed to specify it
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 16:31:50
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
CrownAxe wrote:boltgun is the name of a specific weapon. All it says is boltgun. If it wanted the group it would of needed to specify it
And you realize this is unclear to new players correct?
You have prior knowledge because you were around when it was FAQ'd. To a new player, reading the rules as they are written, it read Boltguns. It makes no reference to the category or to specific weapons so they can land on whatever interpretation they get from reading this.
Thus is is not "obvious"
|
In the works
Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/06/14 16:42:48
Subject: Standard of Devastation
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
New players get basics wrong, why should they factor in?
|
|
 |
 |
|